We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel badly needs updating it's a lovely building in spacious grounds, but the inside is very shabby. the bed could do with a new mattress you could feel the springs the bedroom was like walking into the past. The food was ok we had the carvery the first night and the breakfast was good. We heard alot of banging noises in the night which we were told were the water pipes. The best thing about the hotel was the staff This would be a lovely hotel if it was updated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Scarborough Hill Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 234 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights bed and breakfast and had a really enjoyable stay. The staff are excellent, breakfast was very good and it's in an ideal location, not far from the North Norfolk coast and Norwich. The Inn has lots of character and charm with just the right amount of quirkyness. Although it could be improved with a lick of paint especially in the en suite, we thought it was superb value and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinC662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had our wedding here in June 2011 and everything was perfect. Ian was fantastic in the planning of the wedding and all our needs were met. On the day, everything went so smoothly and so many of our guests commented on how amazing the marquee looked and how wonderful the food was. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff. We had the honeymoon suit and this was just excellent and felt really special. Some of our guests also stayed overnight and were really impressed too. We have returned to the hotel on many occasions since for lunch and have enjoyed that too. Thank you to Ian and all of the staff for making our wedding an unforgettable experience, Nicola and Keith xx

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic72011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night in room 3 . The hotel and room do need a refurb but this is down to the company, not the staff. The windows and bathrooms especially need replacing. The gentleman on reception was very polite and welcoming. The evening bar staff too were friendly and helpful and the food was superb and great value. The room itself was warm and the bed comfortable but above all it was peaceful but for a while the musuc from the bar meant we had to turn tv up. Next morning we were served breakfast by the helpful gentleman who was on the previous evening, there was a good choice and plenty of it, due to business we stay in many hotels and can safely say that the breakfast here is among the best. The staff too could teach some others up and down the country about customer service and guest interaction. If money was spent on the place it could be a little gold mine. Overall great value for money. SP from Somerset.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillon2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We got a free upgrade on arrival to what was already a bargain rate. Food at dinner was a mixed bag (lovely ham hock, but incredibly dry chicken), and we had to explain how to mix our drinks to the staff, but they were very polite and willing so can't really complain!

It's at least a 20 minute walk into town, so plan on driving/cab if you want to eat out. Good coffee in the morning and nice breakfast though.

Room Tip: Apartments great if there's 2-3 couples who can share.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit_Friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we stayed here for one night for £42.50 special late price on late rooms.com it looked quite impressive till you got up close the room was pretty dirty with cobwebbs and the bathroom was like something from 40 years ago and the shower over the bath was just a dribble coming out the whole place was very tired and was in need of a major re-furb. on the plus side for the price we paid for 2 people b and b it was very good value and the evening meal for £5.95 a carvery i had beef the wife had turkey was very very good as was the full english breakfast.
the staff were all freindly and helpfull so on the whole it is very tired round the edges but was great value and the food was exellent.the bed in the room was very comfertable and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrispaulboyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights our first impression was Oh no because there was a peculiar smell. The receptionist was friendy and gave us the key to our room. The smell was in there too and the room was dismal.The window frame was filthy and one had a cracked pane of glass. I put the light on in the bathroom(which you needed) and you could not tell it was on, the bedroom was drab you needed all the lights on but it still was drab. We decided to eat out becase we wondered what the kitchen was like. Breakfast was ok but we were a bit reluctant to eat it. Checking out was friendly. This hotel could perhaps do with the the TVs hotel inspector in to turn it round. pity because it has potential..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
1.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
914 reviews
8.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
506 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
216 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Marsham
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Address: Scarborough Hill House Hotel Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range: $101 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Hill Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Hill Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hill Country Inn North Walsham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing