We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A suberb hotel, ideal location for touring north Norfolk, the Broads and Norwich.”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A suberb hotel, ideal location for touring north Norfolk, the Broads and Norwich.”
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed at the Beechwood for four nights during July to visit the area for the first time. Found the hotel on Tripadviser and chose it because of the excellent reviews, ignore the one dated 21 June by the way, does not reflect the place at all!
North Walsham itself is by no means stunning, but it is an ideal location to visit the Norfolk coast, the Broads and of course Norwich, which boasts a beautiful Cathedral and some excellent shops. Wroxham is only about five miles south, and a boat trip on the Broads is a must.
We booked a half-tester room which was spacious, as was the immaculate bathroom with slipper bath and power shower, not to mention Molton Brown toiletries. Although only a double, the bed was superbly comfortable, and confirmed to be Vi-spring, top of the range when it comes to beds, so no expense spared. Although on the old Cromer Road, a quiet location, even on the front of the hotel.
The entire hotel is immaculate, with Don and Lindsay running the place with a hands on approach, all staff being most pleasant and professional, nothing is too much trouble. The food, quite superb as well, Cromer crab was top of my list for starters almost every night, with choices of fillet steak, pork, lamb, fish, and if you don`t fancy the exact menu description, the chef will cook to your requirements. Food is ordered in the bar with nuts, olives and canopies being served while you wait, and home made chocolates served with coffee after dinner. All lovely touches.
So there we have it, only a repeat of other reviews, but I would certainly recommend the hotel to most people, especially if you want somewhere really nice, tasteful and no children!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    77
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
70
564
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My partner and I and our dog, have just returned from a 2 day stay at the Beechwood. From the moment we walked in the door we were made very welcome and told that when we were ready fresh scones and tea would be served for us. Our room was immaculate with lovely decor and a really comfy bed. We sat on the terrace with our dog and enjoyed tea and delicious fresh scones and had a wander around the spacious gardens which are abundant with shrubs and flowers and very well kept. We were asked what time we would like dinner so decided on 7ish and on arriving in the bar for a pre-dinner drink were also given nuts and canapes. Our order for dinner was taken almost immediately and ready to eat within a few minutes. The meals were absolutely delicious. The hotel was central to the shops and a stone's throw from Mundesley which was ideal for walking the dog plus numerous country walks and woods around. There was nothing we disliked about this hotel - we will be recommending it to our friends for its friendliness, helpfulness, cleanliness, ..the list goes on. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBFCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidea Park, Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We always refer to TripAdvisor before travelling anywhere and we certainly read the reviews on the Beechwood prior to our trip to Norfolk. We were actually in North Walsham for a party and a friend recommended the hotel. The Beechwood is most certainly the best hotel in North Walsham, let alone the surrounding area. OK, yes, you need a car, but you would need a car anywhere if you wanted to explore any county!

The hotel is very well run indeed - very impressive! When we arrived, the chef was picking herbs from the garden. Unfortunately, we never got to enjoy the garden as we were out and about the whole time, but it's a really pretty garden, very well kept and manicured.

On arrival, we were offered complimentary tea and scones, which was a nice touch - home made, warm scones - delicious! I work in London and we eat in a lot of well-known restaurants, so I was delighted that the food lived up to expectations - really could not be faulted. And, the suggested wine list is very reasonably and not ridiculously priced like a lot of hotels!

As with everything, you get what you pay for. We booked a half-tester room, which was great. I read an earlier report whereby the rooms were quoted as being dark and dingy! It makes me wonder whether the guest was staying at the Beechwood?! The decor in our room was rich greens and reds, which would make any room a little darker than normal, but that's what is so nice about the hotel - the 'old charm'! Everything looks new, so it's certainly not worn in any way. The bed linen is beautiful and the added touch of a cd player in the room was very pleasant, so be sure to take a couple of your own cds, if you like your music!

I did view a couple of the other rooms and if it's a bigger room you want, upgrade and go for a four poster or garden room. They are a lot more spacious, with a bigger bathroom - very nice indeed!

As previously written, North Walsham isn't a place where you would go for a holiday - there's not really too much within walking distance of the hotel, BUT, location wise, the Beechwood is great. We travelled up along the North Coast, stopping at all the local villages - what a pretty drive along the coast!

My one concern about the Beechwood was the fact that they allowed dogs. I suffer badly with allergies but, you wouldn't have known that dogs were welcome - I never saw a dog, nor did I see the owner's dogs and the hotel is spotless, so you'd never know in a million years!

For the quality of the hotel, it is very well priced, especially in view of the fact that the evening meal would cost a hell of a lot of money, if eating in a 5* restaurant.

We will definitely pay a future visit to the Beechwood. The owners know what they want from their hotel and they know how to run it and how to keep their guests happy! The staff are delightful and most certainly knew their stuff. We wanted to visit Holkham to view the famous beach, but as we were running out of time one of the receptionists suggested we take a short ride to Waxham. It's a little off the beaten track, but what a hidden gem! We saw a few seals bobbing up and down and together with the unspoilt beach, that appears to go on for miles, we were absolutely delighted to have been told about Waxham. It's definitely worth a visit, although I would imagine the locals would rather they kept their 'secret' beach to themselves!

Overall, our stay at the Beechwood was superb and we would highly recommend this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and all the little extras make it a winner! Thanks to Don and Lindsay and all the staff for a very enjoyable stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Me, my husband and our dog Amber have been going to the Beechwood Hotel for years now and always look forward to returning! Don, Lindsay, Steve (the Chef) and all the staff cannot do enough for you during your stay, the food is brilliant, we both enjoy good food and drink and am never disappointed - my favourite dessert was enjoyed at the Beechwood a couple of years ago (White Chocolate Crème Brulee) and I have never tasted another Crème Brulee as good as that!!!! We have stayed during the Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter and although North Walsham is not renowned for its tourist attractions the surrounding Norfolk coast and villages have a great deal to offer. We generally have breakfast in the morning (again what a way to start the day with a full English brekky inside you) and take our dog out with us for the whole day walking, returning to the hotel in the late afternoon for a quick nap, shower and change for dinner and then come down to the bar and relax and enjoy the evening! I have never found the rooms to be poorly lit, on the contrary with the large sash windows I have found all the rooms we have stayed in (from the four poster to the small doubles) to be light and airy. The added touch of Molton Brown products is the icing on the cake (my husband favourite toiletries). We cannot wait to return and was just looking at booking to go again in September/October this year. If I could give the Beechwood 10 out of 10 I would, but as the maximum is 5 out of 5 that is what it will have to be. Sharon, Nigel and Amber (the dog)

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeSilvaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I have just returned from a three night stay at Beechwood. The food was excellent - imaginative and well prepared. The wine list whilst short, was sufficient and reasonably priced.
The staff were all very good.
But, and it is a big BUT, I was not prepared for the rather dim bedrooms, with their dark brown furniture and heavy and somber curtains, counterpanes and bed head hangings - they were rather gloomy. In fact they whole hotel, including the bar and public rooms were on the dark side with lots of dark brown leather and wood - all lit by 15 watt bulbs! The bar was empty by 10 p.m.
The dining room was a little better, once you got used to the many large photos of Agatha Christie peering down at you from the walls.
Whilst the hotel obviously appeals to older clientele - 60/70/80, even a 90 year old - the bathrooms do not reflect this, Very Victorian, with nice showers and free standing bathes, but not a hand hold in sight - all style, no practicality.
The location is regrettable. Walk a couple of hundred yards one way along an uninspiring local road, to the town centre. North Walsham was looking rather tired and neglected before the credit crunch. There was some activity round the fish and chip shop. From the litter round the town Cross - a sort of bandstand - the chippie obviously does good business. It is not a tourist centre.
Walk half a mile along the same road in the opposite direction and you come to a sort of by-pass - and that's it! You do need a car to escape North Walsham.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarrieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We have stayed here on several occasions over the past 5 years, choosing it entirely based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. We have had a wonderful experience, everything living up to expectation, so it was about time we wrote a review. Don and Lindsay, the owners, couldn't do more to make you feel at home, they are charming hosts and if you return. The hotel and rooms are immaculate, decorated tastefully to fit in with the period of the building. We have stayed in both the half-tester and garden / four-poster rooms and they have all been excellent: large, extremely comfortable with gorgeous little extras. The Garden Rooms are wonderful, huge rooms more akin to a suite, very comfortable large four-poster beds, massive bathrooms with a gorgeous free-standing "slipper" baths and separate showers, Molton Brown toiletries naturally too! (For balance the half-tester was a lovely room too, huge roll top bath and separate shower.) Nothing is too much trouble for the staff: tea and cakes in the afternoon when you arrive in the cosy bar, and evening meals are wonderful, high quality ingredients, perfectly cooked and presented, definitely fine dining, many courses culminating in coffee and freshly prepared chocolates (the St. Valentine's Day dinners are historic). Breakfast is the icing on the cake, masses of fresh fruit and locally sourced produce, superb continental and cooked options. This hotel truly gives 5 star service for a truly relaxing break and we will definitely return again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The Beechwood has to be one of my favourite small hotels ever!

The staff are wonderful, friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are tasteful, comfortable, clean and a lot of thought has gone into the detail - something that the big chains very often overlook. The beds are superbly huge and have the most amazing pillows. The bathrooms are spacious with roll top baths, great showers and supplied with a full range of Molton Brown products.

Rooms on the ground floor have access to a private patio leading onto the gardens.

Would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Norfolk.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
18.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
17.9 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Property: Beechwood Hotel
Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing