We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Enjoyed a two night break with my husband to celebrate my birthday.Staff made us very welcome upon arrival and throughout were very friendly and helpful. The room with the four poster , bath and shower was comfortable and clean. Both breakfast and dinner menus had excellent choice and the food was well prepared and presented. Overall could not fault the hotel but just seemed to lack "the wow" factor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorrainePer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    77
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
577
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a three night stay here and had a wonderful time. Don and Lindsay are the perfect hosts and all the staff are excellent. The room (no.5) was spacious and had everything we needed, the bed especially is worth a mention with one of the most comfortable hotel mattresses we have slept on. The food was well prepared and presented and Lindsay's chit-chat was a wee bonus. All in all highly recommended and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlloaWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here while my partner, Jeff, was on business and could not recommend it highly enough. The service was consistently excellent and professional without being stuffy.Food in the restaurant first class.
Although it was low season, Don and Lindsey found just the right places for me to visit and I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the area (even though the weather was something to be desired!)
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: 4 poster bedroom is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripofalifetime16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at The Beechwood for two nights, meeting up with some friends who are regulars at this lovely, welcoming hotel. We found the staff friendly and polite and the owners, Don and Lindsay were also very approachable and chatty. Our room was very nice, with a spacious bathroom with both bath and separate shower. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks, nibbles and canapes in the sitting room/bar area before dinner whilst we selected our dinner choices from the menu. Dinner was then served in the dining room and each course was beautifully presented, and very tasty, my one issue being that the vegetable portions were on the small size, which is a plus if you don't like your veg, but I do!. Breakfasts were also very good with plenty of choice. In summary, we had a thoroughly lovely two nights stay and hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefelixstowetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here after our wedding it was wonderful. Beautiful rooms excellent food and service with attention to detail we wanted for nothing. Very friendly staff will be staying there again even although we only live 1 mile away, it's the place to go to be pampered.

Room Tip: No comment on pool and fitness as there are none. This is a relaxing tranquil hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just returned from our fifth stay at the Beechwood Hotel. This speaks for itself. As usual, we received a very warm welcome and, within minutes, felt at home. All residents can expect rooms that are tastefully decorated, fine dining and a caring and attentive staff. You need to look no further than the Beechwood Hotel if you require a relaxing break in a friendly, relaxing environment. Don and Lindsay will ensure that your break is one to remember and you will soon be planning your return. One must not forget that the delights of Norfolk are on your doorstep with the unspoilt coastline, the beautiful country houses, the nature reserves, the interesting towns like Holt and, of course, the fine city of Norwich.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suffolkgolfer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at the Beechwood. From start to finish our stay there was truly memorable, for all the right reasons! I can only agree wholeheartedly with other reviewers' comments regarding the very high standard of service, the cleanliness and the excellent restaurant. Don and Lindsay have rightly been praised for their superb management and their staff are a credit to them.
The Hotel is ideally located for visiting anywhere in North Norfolk. We chose to go to look at seals one morning and walked around a Nature Reserve the next day.
We would certainly go back, as was the case with most of our fellow residents who had stayed there before.
Only one small gripe. We found the room too warm and the pillows too soft so did not sleep as well as we might have hoped. Next time we'll ask for firmer pillows, or bring our own!

Room Tip: We had Room 14, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneandsteve80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Walsham
6.8 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
18.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,102 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Property: Beechwood Hotel
Address: 20 Cromer Road, North Walsham NR28 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel North Walsham, Norfolk
Beechwood North Walsham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing