We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In some ways perfection.”
Review of Morston Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In some ways perfection.”
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We'd been meaning to go to Moreston Hall for some time- my wife surprised me this week with a night there for my birthday. In some ways it's like going to a friend's house and having everything done to (near) perfection! So..........the service/rooms are not over the top, but really friendly. They are not pushy- so they asked for dinner what kind of water we'd like- sparkling, still or tap-(we have always thought tap water should be offered automatically and this was the first time it's happened- well done) We had to pour our own wine during the meal, but we did'nt mind and at £25 a bottle for a delicious house white/red great value. The food was wonderful- no choice, 4 courses+ a couple of tasters, but I guess this meant we didn't have to deliberate over choice. Each dish was meticulously thought out- and generally worked. Local veg with hen's yolk and fresh truffles heavenly, tempura battered local caught plaice was just so wonderful it didn't need the onion and caper jam they served with it- just fresh lemon would have been enough, the roasted duck with girolles, thyme rosti,broad bean/white port jus was possibly my favourite course, the pudding, a sable of strawberries ( which had somehow had been intensified and scrummy) with ice cream was the only dish a bit forgettable, and the cheeses with home made bread/quince jelly really good. So at least 8/9 out of 10 and for quality similar to how I remember the Manoir aux 4 Saisons 20 years ago before it got ridiculously expensive. The young chef came round at the end of the meal - a wonderful touch- he wasn't the guy ( Galton) who appears on the website, but in any case was an amazing chef. Breakfast equally good. For both evening meal and braekfast- if there's anything you don't like/can't eat, tell them in advance and they'll happily create something else for you.
The rooms wre really homely, beds comfy- we had Felbrigg with a small balony which caught the evening sun. We were also able to take our dog as they have a couple of kennels . The Coastal Path was fantastic to walk along- miles both ways with a local shuttle bus to ferry you back to the hotel. Definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    54
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
58
325
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at Morston Hall for one night - and we were glad it was not more. Like a prevous reviewer, we felt that everything was done for the convenience of the kitchen and staff, and not the guests. We were particularly put off by the regime at dinner - everyone taking a drink in the lounge before being ushered all together into the dining room - then we had to queue!! to be seated. It felt like being in an institution. If you are offering a fixed menu, you have to be sure that everything is perfect - especially for a Michelin starred establishment.. On the night of our stay, beef was on the menu and no one asked how we wanted this cooked. It arrived very rare, and several people sent theirs back to the kitchen to be cooked more thoroughly. The staff are very young and no one seemed to be in charge. It was not very professional. The cheese was accompanied by a 'cheese menu' - a laminated page which suggests that the same cheeses are served all the time.

Our room was in the main building, and whilst large it was not especially stylish. The bathroom again was large, but had two of my pet hates - a whirlpool bath and a ridiculous tv, which was on a wall to the side of the bath so you would have trouble watching from the tub anyway. Also there was no surface round the basin to put things - even a toothbrush!

The conservatory is lovely - it was especially nice at breakfast, and this was the best part of our stay.

All I can say is that we did not enjoy our visit - even though most of the reviews are good, so they must be doing something right! We stayed at three hotels during our week away, this was the most expensive by far, and the one we least enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank polomint40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We had stayed at Morston Hall last year and were blown away with the quality of the service, food and accomodation. Because of this we decided to hold our wedding there in April this year, taking over the hotel for the best part of 2 days. It was the most perfect experience. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble, and we were able to relax from the moment we arrived and let the excellent staff take over. Our every need and those of our guests were met without question and the food was amongst the best we have had. (We had an overnight stay at the Waterside Inn at Bray and it didnt even match up remotely to the food, rooms and breakfast at Morston) Dinner on the 3 nights we were there was a culinary delight and we will need to head back very soon to satisfy our cravings for more of the same. We would especially recommend the breakfast, wonderful sausages and bacon but a brilliant choice of goodies that would satisfy anyone and leave you feeling slightly greedy if you even consider lunch after. The garden rooms in particular are stunningly appointed, and I know our guests loved the space, tv in the bathroom, and outdoor terrace.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed in one of the Pavillion Rooms which was breathtaking. The room was large, clean and the bed was the best we've ever come across. The staff were fantastic, and the food was amazing. There's not much we can say except that it is perfect and is number one on our list of top places to stay in England. Well done.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovefinedining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed for a couple of nights mid November. The room, in the garden wing, was spacious and nicely furnished - we even had " tile T.V. " at the foot of the large spa bath. As described previously the meal is a set affair with choice coming into play at dessert. By only having a small sample of dishes, the kitchen creates some truly superb food. Confit of duck, a warm partridge salad, rack of lamb and a divine fillet of beef were amongst the dishes that we were treated to along with a fine selection of cheeses. Accompanying the wonderful food was a very comprehensive wine list. Throught our stay the staff were excellent, always a smile... a true credit to the place. Oh almost forgot - the breakfasts were also extremely delicious!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouldilox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolkuk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We had a celebbratory dinner and, having eaten in most of the restaurants and pubs in the area, it was an experience to dine at Morston Hall. Thiey offer a no choice ( you can ask beforehand, if you can't eat something, for an alternative) 5 course nouvelle cuisine- or whatever is the current name for that.
Imaginative, delicious, memorable and perfectly cooked and served. We are so lucky to have such a gastonomic delight in North Norfolk. You know the bill is going to make you wince but as long as you are prepared it would be difficult to think of anywhere where you could have such an enjoyable dinner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANDANorfolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,UK
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Travelled for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, which coincided with my Wife's parents' 53rd. Two nights and two evening meals. The accommodation (in the new block) was first class. TV in the bathroom: I've been around a bit, but that was a first! The food was stunning, although perhaps a little confusing for some. The poor political commentator from ITV sitting near us was visibly perplexed by the number of small but exquisite courses that were laid before us! Poor fellow; he just couldn't grasp what it was all about. He'll be happier back at KFC Downing Street!!! The wine list was very nicely balanced with very good wines even at the "more reasonable end". Loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustrouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morston
5.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
22.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
798 reviews
18.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morston Hall

Property: Morston Hall
Address: The Street, Morston NR25 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Morston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Hotel Class:4 star — Morston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Morston Hall Hotel Morston
Hall Hotel Morston
Morston Hall Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing