We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you read the Daily Mail ?”
Review of Morston Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Good:

1. It is located in Norfolk as described
2. If you read the Daily Mail
3. If you have never eaten at Joel Robuchon or similar

Bad:

1. Hot water was not working when I arrived, due to change of clocks / problems with the timer, which took over an hour to resolve
2. Unremarkable set menu
3. Having been told I was allergic to nuts, they slipped in some walnut bread at the end of the meal

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank AdmiralJellicoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 515 of 515 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2006

Booked a two night stay (Wed and Thur night) in the Beeston room. The room was very comfortable with its own small lounge. The bed was king sized and a delight to sleep on. The bathroom had an enormous victorian style free standing bath in which you could have floated a battle ship plus a large shower cubicle in the corner.
The main event is the evening meal which has just one sitting. The food was delicious and the staff very professional and attentive .
Our only disappointment was that the two nights we had booked coincided with the chef Galton Blackiston days off but his assistant is just as good.
This is not a cheap break but for a special occasion well worth the money

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mutley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2006

We stayed one night in February (booking late so had the smallest of the rooms). We'd eaten at the restaurant on a previous occasion and were keen to return. On arrival we were told the bed linen delivery was late back from the laundry so rooms were not available for check-in. Rather than wait in the hotel we went off to explore Burnham Market nearby (pretty village arranged along a main street with stream running through the centre now increasingly geared to visitors). Alternatively the hotel is just a couple of minutes from Morston Quay where you can take a boat trip to sea seals basking on the sands - timings of the sailings depend on the tides.

When we did manage to check in, our room was on the small side but very luxuriously and recently decorated. Both the bathroom and bedroom had flat screen TV screens. Our room looked out over the roof but if you book late, you don't get the best choices !! The bed was very comfortable and we both slept very well. Prices are high but the hotel is regularly fully booked - this is a hotel and restaurant very well worth pushing the boat out for.

Dinner is the highlight - excellent - chef Galton Blakiston is very talented and cooks with wonderful Norfolk ingredients from both sea and land. Guests all sit down to eat at the same time (but at your own table). At the time of booking guests are asked about food allergies / preferences and clearly these are taken into account with slight adaptations to the menu. The staff seem to work as a real team and take a pride in their jobs; they exude good humour and warmth.

A tip for breakfast - do try the porridge - ordered the night before as it's soaked overnight. It was amazing and breakfast was generous. The walled garden is a sun trap in spring and summer and aperitifs before dinner are served in the conservatory or garden depending on the weather.

The location is delightful - close to excellent coastal walks and places of interest.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank AnnieHinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Malamok8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morston
18.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
943 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
672 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
864 reviews
15.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
897 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morston Hall

Address: The Street, Morston NR25 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Morston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Hotel Class:4 star — Morston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Morston Hall Hotel Morston
Hall Hotel Morston
Morston Hall Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing