We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Sunday lunches ever”
Review of Morston Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best Sunday lunches ever”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We where given vouchers for a Sunday lunch for a Christmas present. Our party of 4 were warmly welcomed and taken through to one of the lounges where we had a nice drink and some lovely appetizers.
Then taken through to the dining room, where the food was amazing. The beef main was brilliant. The where nice and answered any questions we had as this was our first time eating at a Michelin starred restaurant. Also really great value, would recommend to everyone to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    55
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
330
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Morston Hall for one night with a cookery demo the following day.

We were served personally by both Galton and Tracy. Couldnt have asked for a better few days. The cookery demo was extra and took us over a year to get in but absolutely worth it.

We felt the price was reasonable, we paid £360 for dinner, bed and breakfast (bearing in mind dinner is 1 Michelin Star very good price).

We would love to stay again and do another demo

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtotravelnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I took my wife and sister for one night at Morston Hall for dinner, bed and breakfast. Check in was painless and we were shown to our rooms and helped with our luggage. The rooms were well appointed and spotless. My sisters room was immense with a separate lounge and TV and desk/chair and sofa. The bedroom was very large and also contained TV and fridge. The bathroom had a roll top bath, separate shower cubicle. Our room was smaller but well appointed. Our bathroom had a spa bath and TILEVISION TV. Dinner was, as expected, first class Michelin starred 6 course meal preceded by canapés in the lounge. Breakfast was also superb and the staff were attentive, pleasant and knowledgeable without being invasive. It was nice to see Galton Blackiston walk through during breakfast and he took the time to talk to us.

Room Tip: Large rooms include Beeston and Sandringham and there are also lodges in the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandslamzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We read Trip Advisor beforehand where rooms in the original building were recommended. Totally understandable that the dining area had to be extended - just a pity that the roof extends from just under the upstairs bedroom windows, somewhat spoiling the view of the gardens. More than made up for by the excellent food and fascinating choice of wines for our Wine Flight (including a couple of real gems). The meal was wonderfully theatrical, but possibly just a little rushed. Flavours bliss (except for a slightly over salted first and second dish) with a divine piece of Aberdeen Angus done perfectly, and the freshest of fish (undoubtedly landed that very day). Breakfast muesli almost as good as at home! Cheese board the next night was disappointingly exactly the same as the previous one. Will return, but probably for one night at a time only.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have stayed at MH on several occasions over the last 4 years and it never fails to deliver. An amazing food experience: as a non meat eater I have to disagree with other reviews - the dishes are all thought through not simply the meat dishes without the meat. The fixed menu concept ensures that every night is different and exciting. A young team of staff who are friendly and attentive but not in your face are always willing to help and the sommelier ensures that the wine is as excellent as and compliments the food. Hotel rooms are fabulous both in the house and the pavillion, and the overall level of service remains outstanding. Tracey and Galton care about their guests, and Liz on reception is a gem. Worth every hard earnt penny and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The menu at Morston Hall changes everyday, and diners do not know what they will get until they arrive... Which could cause a level of nervousness. But the chef and the sommelier are so good that there is no need to worry. Celeriac has taken on a new meaning to me after tasting the wood fire roasted version. It was served with local truffles and matched with a fabulous Tuscan white.
The lamb was also fab, but the other star turn was the parsnip and nutmeg velouté which had little jewels of apple jelly hidden in it. This was not just fine dining, it was an incredible, edible experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank juggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have just spent one night at Morston Hall and enjoyed a wonderful evening meal there. Having eaten at some of the best restaurants in the country, I can honestly say that I have not experienced any better food anywhere. The service was reasonable, but the sommelier was thrown in at the deep end on his second day as a stand in so was out of his depth. However, I admired his honesty and friendly nature so enjoyed the entire experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys fine food with fabulous surroundings. Thank you for making our wedding anniversary such a wonderful occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morston
5.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
591 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
803 reviews
15.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
792 reviews
18.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morston Hall

Property: Morston Hall
Address: The Street, Morston NR25 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Morston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Hotel Class:4 star — Morston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Morston Hall Hotel Morston
Hall Hotel Morston
Morston Hall Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing