We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-end in North Norfolk”
Review of Morston Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights to celebrate a significant birthday, following a recommendation. Booking was easy, hotel sent written confirmation. We were asked if we had any special dietary requirements, and whether we had any allergies. The receptionist offered us "the only remaining room, which is on the ground floor with it's own patio. Is this all right?" We accepted this,
On arrival we were greeted and shown to our room, which was large, well appointed and had it's own patio consisting of a small area enclose by a wooden fence. Not ideal, but who wants to sit outside in the October rain?
The staff were very helpful, obviously very well trained, especially the dining room people, who carefully explained each of the 7 courses served every evening. The food was delicious. Naturally the size of each course is minute, it seemed strange a course could consist of a single small carrot, however imaginatively presented. And it takes hours to eat 7 courses.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Le_petit_herisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Morston Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 490 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lovely place. We had a modern, very well-equipped room. Everything in beautiful condition. And our puppy was made very welcome. Terrific dinner - 7 courses but served at decent intervals so we did not feel rushed or over-fed. Good wine list. Great service - no one could have been more helpful - but also unobtrusive. Will visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is beautifully decorated with a delightful open fire as you walk in, much appreciated as the weekend we stayed was horrible weather. I took my elderly mother and she had an excellent room on the ground floor well fitted out for someone with limited mobility. We could only book for a 2 night stay which was a little annoying. 2 of us do not eat meat and I had conveyed that in advance. There is no choice at dinner and it is a multi course dinner. Non meat eaters simply have the meat removed for some of the courses which was disappointing as was turnip cooked 4 ways! We had almost identical fish courses each night and a truly awful yogurt with salt as a inter course palate cleanser. Over all I felt it was a little like the emperors new clothes. Not great but because of the reputation everyone pretending it was sublime.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is great for someone with limited mobility and has a great bathroom well fitted...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a 3 night break with dinner [restaurant reviewed separately].
No 'offers' to be had at this time of year so the value was not above average.
We had the same room as on our last visit in 2011 - Mannington - and found it still very comfortably furnished. Perhaps the bed has gone a little softer with age - but it feels worth commenting on as I don't remember it last time - and so it was less comfortable for 'lying in'.
The room is very quiet and has views in 2 directions over a wide range of country.
The bathroom is excellent [but mind your head on the beams if tall!] with both bath and shower. Lots of hot water almost instantly and a full range of the usual toiletries.
Everything was spotlessly clean.
Tea/coffee making in the room with fresh milk provided overnight. Everything was cleaned up and put away while we had dinner.

Breakfast was the least satisfactory part of the visit.
The range of produce is excellent BUT who can be bothered to order their porridge or smoked fish the night before as requested in the information pack?
The quality of the presentation of the cooked breakfast is in marked contrast to the quality of the presentation of food in the evening. It is all well cooked but comes on plates so hot that scrambled egg kept cooking; individual items are poorly drained off so fat on bacon and watery poached eggs each time. It eats well but......

All the young staff were really friendly and offers of help with bags quick to be made.
Reception is effective but can need you to 'ding' the bell to get their attention.

We are very likely to return as the overall experience and the location is really good for us at this time of year.

Room Tip: We had Mannington in the top of the house. All round views and really quiet BUT you need to be able...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went for a family weekend (nobody under the age of 50) and had a wonderful time. The staff were wonderfully attentive without being unnecessarily fussy, leading to a very relaxed atmosphere.

The food was delicious - whether it was breakfast, lunch, tea or dinner (or even biscuits with coffee) - and the choice of wines to match the dishes was the perfect solution with such a varied menu. We all were delighted with our rooms (in the main house), and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were always willing and able to help (including showing us the hosepipe after we returned with our dog covered in mud from a romp across the salt marshes).

We all left feeling much refreshed and very grateful to everybody for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: If you take a dog, you may want to ask for a room in the separate building where you can open the Fr...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonyHurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We wanted somewhere special as our wedding anniversary venue and this was it.
The fact they could accommodate our dog in one of their excellent garden rooms was a bonus.
The room was modern clean and extremely comfortable, the TV at the foot of the bath was an extravagance though.
Dinner was superb starting with Canape's served with pre dinner drinks. I have to say having seen the previous review on portion sizes that by the eighth course I was full. Perfectly proportion therefore. Each course tickled my taste buds and I found only one element of one dish leaving me underwhelmed.
Not being a wine expert I took the option of the 'Wine Flight'. The enthusiasm and expertise of the sommelier impressed. I felt the choice of the five different wines complemented the dishes very well. My various glasses were topped up as required.
I am thankful my empty plates were removed after each course!
Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We returned here after a gap of 14 years for a special birthday and had mixed feelings afterwards. It is still a lovely venue and we had a lovely room overlooking the garden, with an outstanding bathroom.
However the dinner was rather disappointing as the food portions were very small and hence the taste/ flavouring and general hunger satisfaction were limited. Previously - visiting the first year of the Michelin star - the quality and quantity were outstanding, but the tables far fewer. The service was attentive and enthusiastic especially from the young sommelier, but was rather regimented in terms of timings between courses and felt a bit impersonal. No sign of Gavin Blackiston coming out after the meal to have a drink and enquire about our experience, as previously. We felt unfulfilled in hunger and taste terms after the dinner, although the artistic presentation of the set meal was impressive.
Breakfast was excellent and we ate more then than during the whole dinner service. Overall the visit was good but sadly not great this time

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden and be in the main house
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank npgsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morston
5.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
633 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
914 reviews
18.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,341 reviews
15.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
842 reviews
22.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morston Hall

Address: The Street, Morston NR25 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Morston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Hotel Class:4 star — Morston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Morston Hall Hotel Morston
Hall Hotel Morston
Morston Hall Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing