We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea was a delight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Morston Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea was a delight.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely little sandwiches and cakes. We had this bought for a present for us and we really enjoyed it. The little suprises they bring you make it even more special and the passion fruit tart was the most delicious I had ever tasted. My only critisisim was that there could have been a bit of background music in the conservatory as you just felt that the people next to you could listen in on your conversation. Other than that, I couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Afternoon tea was a delight!! Lovely little sandwiches and cakes. We had this bought for a present...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennisnuts1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    54
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
57
311
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We are in the middle of a week's family holiday in Norfolk and, as well as enjoying wonderful weather, English summer at its best, we have also been lucky enough to have an evening at Morston Hall where we enjoyed a fabulous meal (leaving the children in our rented cottage with grandparents... The joy of three generation holidays!)
Arriving at the hotel on a lovely summer's evening surely presents the hall at its best, in the middle of a lovely village and in beautiful gardens.
We were greeted and served throughout our evening by young staff, as noted in other reviews. We felt that the service was wonderful... The staff being friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic, we really couldn't fault anything in that respect.
After pre-dinner drinks in a lovely conservatory we were taken through to the dining room. As other reviews note dinner is a set menu served to all diners at once. We felt that this flowed very smoothly.
The food was of excellent quality and every course impressed. I am not a huge fan of lamb (although its my husbands favourite meat) but the lamb course was the best I've ever eaten. The cheese course (the only part of dinner which was a choice.... Cheese or pudding) also included fantastic cheese and great home made biscuits and bread.
As my husband was driving we were unable to take the wine flight as it was for the whole table only but we could hear the descriptions being given to other tables who had chosen this option and it sounded as though it would have complemented the menu well and offer good value for money.
Overall we feel that the price for this set dinner, although hardly cheap, represented good value for the quality and overall experience. A highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gjtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have dined at Morston Hall several times a year for the past 4 years and found this visit a little disappointing on two fronts.
Firstly the restaurant was clearly busy and our table was in the conservatory which does not have the same ambience as the dining room. This couple with the fact that the view was of half a room of empty tables and an excellent view of the kitchen swing door made the experience less than rewarding.
Tip ask for a table in the dining room.

Secondly, usually after visiting we spend some time discussing which course was the best. This time the discussion was more limited. There was an excellent strawberry gazpacho. The cheeses were very good. The cod was lack lustre and to be presented with a course consisting of a baked carrot with some carrot purée was strange.

In summary we have had some excellent dining experiences in the past this unfortunately was not one of them. We will come again but with some trepidation

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allendale36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a two night stay in one of the Garden Suites with Dinner included on the first night and a picnic provided for our second night, as we were off to see Jools Holland at Holkham Hall. The evening meal was exceptional, every course an explosion of flavours. Breakfast was equally delicious and with friendly and helpful staff a lovely start to the day. The picnic was just as good, which we enjoyed whilst watching Jools. We both agree that the whole experience at Morston Hall, accommodation, food, staff and the general relaxed feel is something very special and we will definatley be returning. Thank you to Tracy and Galton Blackiston and all their staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room 'blickling' in the main house which was very spacious with a luxurious bathroom.
We stayed for two nights & had dinner & breakfast. All of the food was superb & the young staff serving were very professional & friendly making the experience a very relaxed affair, rather than (as in some restaurants) a stuffy or awkward experience were you can be made to feel uncomfortable.
It was an excellent place to stay & we hope that we can return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triptopluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our third visit to the Morston Hall restaurant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful (the Morston Quay is only 5 minutes walk from the restaurant and well worth a visit if you get time). The food is fantastic. For a set price you have around 7 courses (each absolutely excellent). The menu is set and presented to you pre dinner. It is worth getting to the hall around 7.15pm to enjoy the surroundings with a pre-dinner drink. Worth the visit and will book soon for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matts3872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Not what you're thinking if you're familiar with the famous Starland Vocal Band song, rather a very pleasant afternoon tea to celebrate my wife's birthday. The setting was lovely and the staff very attentive (moving us to a quieter corner as there was a large group also having tea at the same time, which was a little noisy). We've had afternoon tea at a few other places this year, all of which have been good, but this was better!...especially for just £16 per person! In addition to the usual crust less sandwiches, scones and cake, all of which were excellent, some recent additions (according to one of the waiting staff) made all the difference, a decent slice of a sublime passion fruit tart accompanied by a light and fluffy lemon cheesecake...wonderful. We left the table feeling comfortable rather than full and bloated, a testament to the excellent balance of components that make up this great taster for what Morston Hall is all about. We plan to return to take up the suggestion by one of the staff to enjoy Sunday lunch, which if it's anywhere near as good as the afternoon tea, will be a real highlight for us. If you're spending time in North Norfolk you really should try and fit in tea at Morston Hall!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morston
22.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
839 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
545 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
774 reviews
15.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
749 reviews
18.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morston Hall

Property: Morston Hall
Address: The Street, Morston NR25 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Morston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Hotel Class:4 star — Morston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Morston Hall Hotel Morston
Hall Hotel Morston
Morston Hall Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing