We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd visit - Fantastic”
Review of Morston Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“3rd visit - Fantastic”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our third visit to the Morston Hall restaurant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful (the Morston Quay is only 5 minutes walk from the restaurant and well worth a visit if you get time). The food is fantastic. For a set price you have around 7 courses (each absolutely excellent). The menu is set and presented to you pre dinner. It is worth getting to the hall around 7.15pm to enjoy the surroundings with a pre-dinner drink. Worth the visit and will book soon for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matts3872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    54
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
57
319
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Not what you're thinking if you're familiar with the famous Starland Vocal Band song, rather a very pleasant afternoon tea to celebrate my wife's birthday. The setting was lovely and the staff very attentive (moving us to a quieter corner as there was a large group also having tea at the same time, which was a little noisy). We've had afternoon tea at a few other places this year, all of which have been good, but this was better!...especially for just £16 per person! In addition to the usual crust less sandwiches, scones and cake, all of which were excellent, some recent additions (according to one of the waiting staff) made all the difference, a decent slice of a sublime passion fruit tart accompanied by a light and fluffy lemon cheesecake...wonderful. We left the table feeling comfortable rather than full and bloated, a testament to the excellent balance of components that make up this great taster for what Morston Hall is all about. We plan to return to take up the suggestion by one of the staff to enjoy Sunday lunch, which if it's anywhere near as good as the afternoon tea, will be a real highlight for us. If you're spending time in North Norfolk you really should try and fit in tea at Morston Hall!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Me and my wife have just returned from a two night break at Morston Hall. This was our second stay at this wonderful hotel and will definitely not be our last. Firstly, we would like to say that we have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world and in terms of quality, comfort and culinary standards, this is simply superb. We have attached some photos of the room we stayed in, which, incidentally, do not do it justice - the room is huge, the bed is 6ft wide, a delight to sleep in and you can easily be tempted to stay all day in the wonderful shower! Having stayed at Morston Hall a few years ago we had high expectations......we were not disappointed. The room we stayed in (Poppy) was in an annex (about 100 yards from the main hall via a garden footpath), new to us (we stayed in a wonderful room in the main hall last time) and a real pleasure to stay in - quiet, luxurious and very large. There is also a private outside seating area for each room within this annex accessed via a patio door. Although we were not the only people staying in this annex we could not hear any sounds from other occupants whilst we were there. There is a variety of different lighting options from ceiling down-lighters within the room which is very relaxing. Coffee and tea making facilities are in the room with a separate coffee machine. The accommodation staff are incredibly efficient, polite, friendly and nothing is too much effort. Now, to the reason everyone wants to go to Morston Hall....the food. Firstly, if you have a discerning palate, this place is a must and you will love the culinary skills of the chef here - even if you have special dietary requirements (I have been gluten and dairy intolerant for 14 years) you are catered for and, unlike some restaurants, you are given incredibly delicious alternatives. You would have to be an extremely difficult person to please to find fault at this establishment...even the staff throughout the hotel are extremely accommodating, polite and personable. A real delight!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Correlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

High end hotels are hard to find in this beautiful part of England.Moreston Hall is a great country house hotel and a short distance from the Coastal path with a pretty walk into nearby Blakeney.
The dinner,while worthy of its celebrity reputation,is a serious affair,and the servers perhaps try too hard to live up to the elegance of the meal,and I found the experience a little stiff and awkward.
Personally I would like to see an a la carte option,in which case I could easily stay here for a week or so.
I ordered scrambled eggs for breakfast one morning and I think it might more correctly have been described as a scrambled egg.
However a charming place in an unspoiled part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second stay at this beautiful country house hotel and once again we had a memorable experience. Stayed overnight in a spacious and luxurious garden room and enjoyed a delicious meal in the Michelin starred restaurant. Beautiful setting, excellent service and relaxed and unpretentious ambience. What more can I say!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the garden rooms which are large with stunning bathrooms and outdoor patio, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I booked Morston Hall for a special short break. We explicitly stated when we booked we would not accept the only ground floor room in the main house with a view of a fence panel and beyond that the car park. We were incredibly disappointed to find on arrival that was the room allocated to us and no others were available. The room is dingy, with green walls, a dirty yellow carpet and a curtain rather than a door to the bathroom. The proprietors would not accept any fault in the booking arrangements or offer any recompense. We left severely disappointed having spent many holidays there in the past. The growth in the celebrity status of the hotel and its chef has come at the price of abandoning good customer service and looking after established customers- avoid.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
23 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband surprised with a overnight stay as this truly fabulous hotel, we had a suite in the gardens, ad our own little outside seating area, I was very impressed, the bathroom was really good, big bath, with t.v. Excellent radio and tv in the bedroom. The best food we have had in a long time. Several courses of small portions, served by knowledgable staff who described each course, don't be in a hurry we sat down at 8pm finished at 10.30 pm. We would most definitely be back. We would rate this hotel as world class, and we have stayed in hotels around the world. Staff were so helpful and friendly, not cheap, but well worth it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morston
22.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
22.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
18.9 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morston Hall

Property: Morston Hall
Address: The Street, Morston NR25 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Morston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Hotel Class:4 star — Morston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Morston Hall Hotel Morston
Hall Hotel Morston
Morston Hall Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing