We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Base for Touring around West Norfolk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shellbrooke Guest House
Ranked #9 of 22 Hunstanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A very Clean Hotel with very friendly Hosts, Nothing was to much trouble. Could not ask for more. The quality and choice of evening meal was excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel. If you are touring West Norfolk this is the place to say for a great base with excellent accommodation,close to the seafront.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 235 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights while exploring the coastal walks and bird reserves of West Norfolk. We had a really nice room, with a good bathroom. Breakfast was very good, with an excellent choice of mains, cereals & fruit. We ate in the Resturant both nights and were very impressed. Vert friendly Hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sea View Suite. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had booked tickets to visit the Houghton Revisited exhibition and, since North Norfolk is one of our favourite places, decided to spend a couple of days there. The Shellbrooke was a really good base, with a comfortable, recently re-decorated room. A very friendly welcome and a good breakfast. The only disappointment was the rather inadequate water pressure in the shower, which made showering an effort rather than a pleasure. If I'm being really picky, I would also mention the fact that the room door didn't shut tight, so rattled in the breeze. We had to wedge it. I would, however, recommend the hotel to friends since the overall experience is good and I'm sure they can sort out my two gripes. We would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maldontraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A lovely hotel in a great location just up from the seafront. My room was perfectly presented as is the whole of the hotel. Breakfast was a nice choice of cereals, fruit and cooked if you wanted. I didn't try the restaurant but there seemed to be a good range of food on the menu. There is a small car park across the road for residents otherwise its parking on the street. There seemed to be plenty of space outside the hotel so no issues here.
All in all a great hotel and it was good value for money too :) I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timcr005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was looking for a hotel with a sea view. As it was a very late booking - there were no rooms anywhere on the east cost with sea view rooms. While checking, this hotel kept showing up but as it was not on the sea front I ignored it. Eventually I checked the site, looked on Google maps and found that although not on the sea front, some rooms would have a sea view. In fact we had breakfast on the front terrace looking at the sea. Though our room had no scenic view at all - we looked onto the roof of another part of the hotel, the room was spotlessly clean. Almost immaculate. The toilet and shower room were equally as good. It would be almost impossible to fault the cleanliness of this hotel. The room was small but certainly sufficient for our needs. We were visiting other towns and villages in the area so the hotel was not the main source of entertainment or occupation. The managers Mark and Jaqui were absolutely wonderful. Polite, friendly, helpful. Always on hand and quite happy to spend time for a chat. (you don't get that in many hotels!) Although not on the sea front it is only a couple of minutes walk to the beach. It is also only a couple of minutes walk to the town centre. Very nicely located to be close to the beach, town centre and yet still be in a peaceful street. The breakfasts were good clean honest affairs, - fruit, cereal, full English with any variation, the staff were always pleased help and provide as much as possible. Over the three nights we stayed I could not find anything to complain about. I still cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel.
If you are looking for a hotel that is reasonably priced, good food, very high standard of cleanliness, fabulous staff, fairly central for most of what you want in a seaside town, I couldn't recommend this highly enough. I would and will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: it is always worth asking (in any hotel) if you can have a sea view. We asked but were unlucky - wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just arrived home from a 2 night stay at the ShellBrooke Hotel stayed in the Sunset Suite I think. The Room at the very top of the house with my husband Ray. We were greeted by Karen and Jim. Very clean in fact spotless, the décor is to very high spec. The Shellbrooke is situated very close to all amenities. Not much in the way of shopping you have to take a 30minsdrive into Kings Lynn but its really nice in Hunstanton for views and relaxation.

The breakfast is superb full English, and healthy not greasy at all with a choice eggs the way you like them fried, scambled or poached! plenty of toast, fresh orange juice tea coffee, and cereals. the service was also very good and nothing was too much trouble.

Would we stay again a big fat YES if ever we are in the area again!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view well worth the sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fezile l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our one night stay was pleasant and relaxed and good value for money. The room was clean and very pleasant and spacious with a good bathroom. There was little to fault and the proximity to the sea and free parking is a bonus. Friendly owners and a decent breakfast. Food in the restaurant was a bit Retro, but it's nice to see people making a real go of a business and catering for everyone's needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hunstanton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel and Bar
1.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
962 reviews
1 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glenberis
Glenberis
#2 of 22 in Hunstanton
240 reviews
0 mi away
The Burleigh
The Burleigh
#1 of 22 in Hunstanton
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 22 in Hunstanton
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shellbrooke Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shellbrooke Guest House

Address: 9 Cliff Terrace, Hunstanton PE36 6DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hunstanton
Price Range: $83 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shellbrooke Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in traditional Norfolk carrstone as a family home in the 1870's, we have 13 rooms available over three floors (no lift) for guests visiting for a family break, bird watching, walking, playing golf, cycling or more energetically, kite and windsurfing, or maybe just chilling out and romantic sunsets over the sea. We hope to provide you with clean, modern and comfortable accommodation, locally sourced food cooked allowing you to relax and unwind. Conveniently located just minutes from Hunstanton's sandy beaches and myriad seaside attractions , including recently refurbished SeaLife Centre and Sanctuary and a small selection of shops and cafes. We have a fully licensed restaurant ( booking needed) offering table d'hote. There is limited off road parking available on a first come first served basis. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shellbrooke Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shellbrooke Guest House Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing