We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
149
18
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
18
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin startasting menuhomemade biscuitsfabulous foodnespresso coffee machinelamb sweetbreadsbetween courseslocal produceenglish breakfastsunday lunchattention to detailbirthday treatlook forward to our next visithuge bedfollowing morningan overnight stayrooms are lovely
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 175 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Norfolk and we lucky enough to spend one of our nights at the Neptune, we booked to stay overnight, the reason for our visit to Old Hunstanton was Dinner at the Neptune! We were welcomed by Kevin. We had a wonderful opportunity at dinner to try the tasting menu, this was perfect for us as it meant we could try a number of dishes! The food was faultless! I would happily eat it again tonight... sadly we are at home and will have to suffer our own cooking! Kevin and Jacki were on hand to answer any questions we had during the evening.... like how the tomato water was made! Each course of our meal last night was delightful, full of flavour and inspiring! The wine list was extensive and also very reasonable, the bar and dining room felt full of atmosphere. Breakfast this morning was the best English breakfast I have had, the sausages were full of flavour and the mince was very finely ground, excellent eggs, I have not tasted a mushroom with so much flavour in a long time! The homemade bread and pastries were just fabulous! We are already planning when to make our next trip back, I would thoroughly recommend the Neptune to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catsaffron79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for a number of nights on two seperate occasions back in July 2011. The food really is outstanding - the great passion with which it is prepared really comes through. The service is faultless and friendly, the restaurant intimate and charming.
The rooms are clean and cosy, and nothing is too much trouble for the amazing, hard working couple who own and run The Neptune. They made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. This is definately the best place in Norfolk!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musntgrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Neptune is just what a restaurant with rooms should be.The food was outstanding-Really need to stay more than 1 night to appreciate.The hosts were delightful and the bedroom very comfortable.Only regret is Hunstanton is so far from Southampton where we live.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iangordon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed over on the 4th November on the strength of the previous TA reviews. And are thoroughly glad we did!!! What a lovely place. The food was superb ( partridge-breast with a brioche sandwich of fois gras & confit leg, and lamb - loin, tongue & slow cooked shoulder amongst the dishes ). The hosts are truly hospitable, lovely people. The price was extremely good value. Rooms, though small, are clean, attractively furnished and have very good facilities. All in all a place to be thoroughly reccomended:)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouldilox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Decided to stay here after a brilliant review in the Sunday Times some months ago - the food was just amazing, great hotel just minutes from the beach and the owners were so lovely - all in all a great treat!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews