We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here half board for 4 days on a special offer, It was great value for money. The food was adequate, nothing special, but a good variety. ALL the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
It is situated in the centre of Hunstanton, on the village green, which was spotlessly clean. We had a sea view from the top floor. But beware if you are elderly or infirmed, there was 5 flights of stairs to the top! We were offered assistance with the luggage though. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: first or second floor for the frail !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanNot2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you felt we offered value for money & that you would recommend the Hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    127
    58
    42
    37
See reviews for
38
222
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just returned from a three-night break over Easter (Friday- Monday) in Hunstanton, Norfolk at the Golden Lion hotel. Hotel is owned/run by Coast and Country Hotels. It is in a fantastic spot right in the Centre of Hunstanton overlooking the Wash. On many levels would recommend this hotel and indeed I think we fell in love with Hunstanton and we will be back. Staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. Nice bar area and great outside setting if that is what you want. Hotel has car parking (charged) but out front of the hotel is free if you can claim a slot! Room, on second floor, had a nice sea view and was clean and was serviced daily. Bathroom also was clean and toiletries provided were nice. Rooms have tea and coffee facilities and TVs. There is WIFI but it is a bit hit-and-miss on the 2nd floor. You may find the hotel difficult if you have mobility issues as there is no lift to upper floors but think there are some ground floor rooms. Dining room is nice and light but can be a bit crammed. Some really nice touches this weekend including a cream egg for everyone on Sunday and daily information about local stuff (note: tide times are an hour out, not adjusted for BST)
As I have said we really liked being in Hunstanton and at this hotel and will come back but feel there are number of constructive things we would like to say. On my part these are based on a professional point of view of nearly 20 years in the industry...
Breakfast is what sets your guests up for the day and I also know that it is the most difficult service of the day (everyone always wants something different!). What we found were staff who were struggling and who lacked enough equipment to keep everyone happy. The cooked breakfast was very good it was always hot and whilst not vast was a nice adequate breakfast with what seemed to be good ingredients. Downside was the breakfast buffet, where were the fruit and yogurts and indeed major holes in the availability of cereal. I think we guessed you have to ask for these which is fine if someone had said this or it was plain on the menu but isn’t. Indeed, this would put increased pressure on the staff who are struggling to cope as it is... Toast the cheapest commodity on the breakfast menu, so what do you do give ONE slice to each customer! Sorry this is penny pinching! Today we asked for two each and got one and a half each, disgusting! This took time as the staff have to go the long walk to the kitchen again delaying other stuff. Tea: ok there were two of us and we both want tea first two mornings we are given one pot which does not contain two cups! Dared to refill at the machine to be told ‘oh no elf and safety you can’t do that!’ Why? I have been making tea for over fifty years! The machine is a self-help type machine – surely this would save us all having to bother staff who then stop doing something else! Ok if you are less able bodied you may need some help but come on..... Do you need more tea pots or more two cup pots? If the issue is the dining room layout that is a management issue because yes it is cramped and getting round tables even for staff can be difficult – sort it out... everyone has breakfast so you may have to use the lounge area too if you get down early you get a window seat if not... At least it would open up the floor space... Maybe a restaurant manager in the room would be a good plan if they could keep everyone organised and focussed (because it is a long walk to kitchen and trips need to be maximised!) but needs to be proactive.
Dinner was ok and you could use credit to buy from the main menu if you wanted too. But again some very poor menu planning and penny pinching portion control! Have any of you tried the bread rolls – what do you do to them? Microwave them? Fish and chips on Friday night ok first it was hot, fresh, nicely cooked and a nice piece of fish but half a dozen frozen chips and a desert spoonful of pea puree (which was nice). Additional vegetables – carrots and Swede! If one of my chefs had created a menu like this... Last night’s fish vol-au-vents (without the vol-au-vents) sorry but surly a little more creativity or an off-the-menu would have been better than the mess that was presented will not say what it looked like here... I totally understand that the bread and butter (LOL if you can get any) of the hotel is the coach parties and I am sure that if you have paid £99ish for a four day tour with BB&EM you think that what you get is fine. But all the guests this weekend were paying the going rate (more than the coach parties pay!) and should expect a little more or are we being used to subsidise your coach parties? You have a really nice hotel (except the pigeons nesting in the roof (room 205) are noisy in the night and are not doing the fabric of the building any favours) in a fantastic location that we want to come back too... Please take the comments in the constructive way they are meant.... Thank you for a nice weekend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookieCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel in such depth. We are always looking at ways to improve the product that we offer & I have passed all your comments onto the relevant departments. I am pleased to hear that you had a nice break with us & that you will be returning. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is in a good location and could potentially represent good value for money, but several things spoiled the stay. First impression there was only enough milk and coffee for one each in the rooms. I did leave a note asking for more and did get it but you shouldn't have to ask. The room was quite nice but the bed was far too hard. The choice of food at breakfast was good but getting things on time and cooked properly was a different matter. 10 minutes after ordering breakfast was told that the ham I ordered was off. I said I would have bacon instead with poached eggs but when they came they were like hard boiled eggs, completely over done. My coffee by this time had gone cold so had to change that. You are given one cup of coffee instead of a small pot, one small round of toast each, and small portions of bacon and eggs. The coffee was so strong that everyone was asking for hot water to weaken it. It seemed impossible to get them to bring the coffee with the cooked breakfast. After mentioning the problems to the person on reception who said that the restaurant manager wasn't in yet but that she was the hotel manager, it was even worse the next day. The coffee didn't come until breakfast was finished. Obviously talking to her about the problems made no difference whatsoever. Evening meals were OK but there wasn't very much choice and it was hit and miss whether it was hot or not. For some strange reason they didn't put menus on the tables so you had to wait to be given one before you could order. I think the reduction offered if you wanted things from the a la carte menu wasn't enough and the wine prices were too high. The last morning at breakfast was just as bad. If they just left out things like sauces and butter at breakfast people could get them themselves. I wouldn't visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HermajestyStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt that we didn’t offer value for money on your visit with us. I have spoken with the Restaurant team & the Kitchen team concerning the problems that you encountered during your stay with us. Both departments have taken on board all of the comments raised. Once again I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our room was 201.Very quiet but for the Pigeons cooing from 6am. Good sea views. Long delays in Bathroom for light to come on which did cause problems in the night. Food good and Staff good although a bit thin on the ground. Never saw any Management.
Adequate room for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us. There is always a duty manager on the premise. I am sorry that you felt you didn't see any management. Thank you for your review. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my elderly mother in 2008,when we both very much enjoyed the experience.
I have some good friends who enjoy bird watching, 2 who live in Lancashire and my partner who lives in Chichester so we booked this hotel for 5 days and 4 nights half board from my previous holidays' experience. We arrived on Monday 17th March and left yesterday. We all really enjoyed our break and the weather was great. The food was good value, however I did feel the dinner plates should have been much hotter due to the distance the waiters had to walk from the kitchens to the dinning room. We booked on line and all 4 of us were given a £25 voucher to spend either on food or drink. This was very generous and we did use our £100 up during our stay! If you need a base for bird watching this is a great base to go from each day to bird reserves locally. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 203 (my friends room) faced the sea at an angle. It was smaller than ours but they didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night, a Sunday, in this old fashioned hotel with a view over the green and the sea. The first room we were given was very spacious, but there was a loud humming coming up the wall. Reception was very helpful, indicating it was a known issue with equipment in the kitchens below, and changed our room for a smaller one on top floor at front.
Hunstanton is west facing, despite being in Norfolk, so we enjoyed a wonderful sunset from the room.
The need for two handsets to get the TV to work was a bit fiddly.
The food in the bar area was good and gave a wider choice than the dining room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DSUK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Hotel. I am pleased to hear that Reception was helpful in moving your room. We are so very lucky to have such wonderful sunsets. We hope to see you in the future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

A newspaper offer of "third night for £20" made this a £35 pppn break for half-board. Last room on the first floor, so no-one stumbling past at 1 a.m. Comfortable, large, and warm, but no light at the writing desk :-(.
Food very good (scrambled egg excepted), portions modest, but very adequate. Expected litle variety at dinner for the price, but the table-de-hote menu changed every night, and there was something attractive on all three nights. I only wish I'd had fish on Friday!
Almost everyone was on the right side of 60, and of a quiet disposition, so very peaceful mealtimes. We avoided the "sea" end of the dining room, which was served by the wind/kite surfing enthusiast who was always ready to discuss the day's surfing.
We were able to park free on the road in front of the hotel, which might have been a little fortunate. We only realised the advantages of the Coast Hopper too late to use it.
Main outing was to Titchwell Marsh RSPB, which was as good as ever. If you aren't in the RSPB, use the bus - entry to the reserve is free, and the cafe is good value.
Of the avaialble churches we went to the Union Church, which can be seen from the hotel doors (look just to the left of the theatre, beyond the bus station). Congregation mainly older, but with families as well, and a young minister who seems to have the gift of reaching all ages. Skilful use of the "children's talk" to get a message to the adults!
Would we go again? For sure, yes.

Room Tip: I suspect that rooms on the first floor at the front (i.e., over the public bar) could be disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-the-Baptist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us and that you feel we offer such great value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shellbrooke
The Shellbrooke
#9 of 23 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burleigh
The Burleigh
#1 of 23 in Hunstanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Property: The Golden Lion Hotel
Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing