We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”
Review of Caley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel and found it very welcoming. The room was large, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. And it was so quiet.
Staff were friendly and wanted to please and the public areas were also clean and very homely. I had haddock and chips in the more relaxed setting of the bar. Service was prompt and the fish and chips excellent. Nice crispy batter and chunky golden chips.
As a lone traveller I never felt awkward. In short a very pleasant stay that represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you Susan W for your kind words.

We hope that this stay may become a platform for more visits in 2014 and beyond. We hope you have had a wonderful christmas and look forward to prosperous new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 955 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Caley hall is a wonderful hotel, with very friendly staff, Spotlessly clean rooms being very comfortable and with all the little luxuries included. The dining room was spacious again spotless and serving delightful meals. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and this is the perfect hotell to stay while visiting the Thursford Christmas Spectacular. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and no doubt not the last. Cannot praise this enough

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor for us.

We are extremely pleased that your visit was so enjoyable and when the Thursford spectacular starts again we hope to welcome you back for a 4th year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have stayed at Caley Hall a few times now. Our recollection of the food was that it was good; it is now even better. Decent choice of interesting and well cooked dishes all beautifully presented. Lovely accommodation, excellent service. We will be back

Room Tip: Don't worry. We have stayed in 4 different ones now and have been happy with them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you Antoni G for your kind review, it always means a lot to us when guests take the time to leave us comments on here or anywhere else.

Hope to see you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were staying for only a couple of nights and were very impressed by the care of the staff. Considering we were part of a bus trip (a relatively new experience for us) it was a delightful stay. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the food was very good and efficiently served. Would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorlan146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back for a third visit in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This wad a second visit for us and the rooms look like they have been decorated and improved on. My partner and I had the junior suite which was absolutely brilliant. My sister and her partner had a room downstairs which was just as nice and was decorated to a nautical theme. Food was brilliant - all hot and cooked perfectly. Staff helpful and polite. Located not far from the beach and a local pub. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for leaving us a review here on tripadvisor and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A last minute booking meant we could have got the short straw but this was not the case. The welcome was very warm and accommodating. Room was great and the food was first class. The staff were excellent discharging their duties very professionally and remaining close at hand at all times.

We wouldn't hesitate to go back when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: B Block was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hasty1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for a glowing review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Quite a promising building but not cared for - grubby front door, builders' adhesive (tiling grout? Mortar?) traces in the shower-tray, blown light-bulb in bathroom, splintering of veneer on bathroom door-face....all adding up to a sense that 'it'll do' rather than seeking to impress and please. As we entered our room on a cold evening, even though we were expected, the heating was off.
The bar had only one plastic draught beer so we declined the chalkboard offer of 'local Cumberland sausage' (Cumberland - local to Norfolk?) and went out to eat/drink. Breakfast confirmed the wisdom of that decision. Whilst it was plentiful and varied, the sense that 'it'll do' pervaded the offerings. The bacon was cheap'n'nasty and had been cooked to a state of flabbiness by some process that had probably avoided the pan or the grill, the scrambled eggs had a strange consistency that I'd last seen in a Trust House in Cardiff 30 years ago (on that occasion they had been made from a powder) - I didn't ask how they had been made, preferring to avoid them altogether, and the fried eggs were solidifying under the heater. Coffee was said by the one person in our party to drink it to be 'indescribablly awful'.
A coach-party of Scots was filling up for the day with every appearance of pleasure, so my concerns must be those of an effete southerner who believes that there ought to be more to food than bulk refuelling.
Our bed was excellent, however: large and firm - I wish all hotels offered the same. Oh, and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you RetiredBrit for your review.

I have alluded in previous responses to the fact that we aware of some of the scuff marks etc in rooms due to suitcases and general wear and tear however your comments do appear to be detailed and mention a few clearly avoidable issues which I whole-heartedly apologise for. I have already passed these comment onto our housekeeping department to ensure such simple things are not overlooked in the future.

We do only sell "plastic draught beer" however this is due to the layout of the bar area and not having the space to offer fully functional real ales, this is something we have looked at but at this moment in time we do not have any plans to carry out such a large job. I should mention that the Cumberland sausages are made by our local butcher and the term "Cumberland" relates to a style of sausage which can still be made anywhere under the same banner, much like French toast, it can still be French toast when served in Liverpool.

I can assure you that we do not use powdered eggs however nothing should be under the hot lights long enough to start looking or tasting anything less than top notch, again I have passed this on to the appropriate person to ensure we are not letting our high standards slip, this is being treated very seriously.

Again we thank you for your comments and emphasise just how seriously we do take them, we strive to deliver the very best across the board and can only do so when we concentrate just as much on the small things as the large.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.3 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
857 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
923 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel and Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
586 reviews
4.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
896 reviews
12.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caley Hall Hotel

Address: Old Hunstanton Road | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range: $110 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caley Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set around a 17th-century manor house in North Norfolk. Peaceful hotel with 39 rooms, mainly on the ground floor, restaurant and bar. Suites and luxury rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Caley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caley Hall Hunstanton
Caley Hall Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing