We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”
Review of Caley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wanted somewhere relaxing in Norfolk to meet up with our friends and break up the winter. Accommodation was very good with everything we needed. The bar was a great place to sit and chat in the evening with a nice log fire [ even if it was gas !] Food was wonderful with loads of choice although the only negative was that we were charged supplements even though the waitress had said this time of year they didn't apply ! We had two great nights away though and if we were to need somewhere to stay in Hunstanton again we would return with staff who were fab and very friendly.

Room Tip: Speak to the people on reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186386Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you 186386Christine for taking the time to add a review for us, Tripadvisor is fast becoming an essential tool in building a reputation and we appreciate everyone who makes the effort.

I am unsure as to why a waitress would have told you the supplements weren't chargeable this time of year and I apologise for the misleading information, we will make sure everyone is on the same page with these kind of things for the future.

We hope your holidays lead you to Hunstanton again in the future and look forward to welcoming you if they do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    291
    86
    42
    8
See reviews for
210
469
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent hotel with friendly helpful staff who made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The food really was excellent, we had lunch, an evening meal and breakfast and all 3 were faultless. The room was clean and well presented and spacious. We will definitely be returning in the summer! Thank you everybody at Caley Hall Hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_loub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to you revisiting in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely hotel a couple of times now, and we are happy to say that it has always been a pleasurable stay.
Upon arriving, we were shown to our room which was upstairs in a separate part away from the main rooms ( have stayed in this room before and hope we can have this room again ). It is a very spacious room, clean and the bed very comfortable. We also had the bonus of the whirlpool bath which was great! Although the weather was cold the room was always warm and sometimes had to turn the heating down a bit! Tea and coffee plus biscuits are greatly appreciated when feeling peckish after being out all day.
The restaurant is a good size and the atmosphere very amenable. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and a "specials" menu was available every evening. The food portions were the right size for us and the food was always piping hot. Breakfast was waiter service as well, with a good choice. The only comment here was that there was no porridge on the menu which would have been great to set you up for the cold weather.
The bar area is a very welcoming experience with the lovely log fire. Also plenty of choice for drinks and the staff were always exceptionally friendly and attentive at all times.
The area around the hotel is great for both bird watchers and hikers alike.
We would definitely recommend this place to stay and we will always come back here when we have our short breaks in this area of Norfolk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 458FrancesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you 458FrancesB for your very kind review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit with us and have also taken steps regarding the porridge situation, it is actually available on the menu, however only at an additional cost but this is something we are currently reviewing, fingers crossed in time for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were very disappointed with our Sunday Lunch last week when we dined with friends. We usually meet up 2-3 times a year for the excellent Carvery. Upon booking we were informed that the Hotel has stopped serving the Sunday Carvery & we decided to try out the new Menu etc.
We waited 1 hour to be served & 3/4 hour for our dessert-Thank goodness we didn't bring our 2 year old Grandson with us.

The Staff were lovely, the Restaurant wasn't full & when the meal did arrive - it was enjoyable but not exceptionable. The Roast Beef portion was fine for me but rather small for my Husband. Our friends both ordered the Chicken Breast but felt that one vegetable was not enough. The Menu choice was very limited - only 1 choice for a Roast Sunday Lunch!

We will not be returning & will find another Carvery or a Restaurant with silver service & quicker service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. A couple of points I feel I should address regarding some of the issues raised.

1) With this being our first ever "plated" service as opposed to our long standing carvery we were always prepared for there to be a few teething problems as there is with any significant change however it is alarming to hear you waited such a long period of time between courses. It is also upsetting that I wasn't alerted to the problem at the time as I obviously would have acted to ensure whatever was causing this was solved immediately. I am aware that for the first period of the service we did have an issue with our computer system not sending dessert checks through but this was acted on quickly and resolved.

2) Regarding portion size, our menu has been designed as a 2/3 course menu so the main course size will be larger for some and smaller for others who are used to helping themselves from the carvery. There were starters and desserts available on the menu as well so we believe there was certainly enough choice for a filling meal.

3) The comment about the vegetable choices with the chicken was raised on a couple of occasions and something the chef has already changed after the first week to allow the same vegetable choice as there is with the roast of the day. This was a simple matter of trial and error and the conclusion was to change this accordingly.

4) We had the roast beef and a roast chicken on this particular day (this will be changed weekly) as well as a fish dish and vegetarian option which we felt was more than sufficient for most customers requirements.

We genuinely do appreciate all feedback, especially when it concerns new ventures such as this because it is only when offered constructive criticism that we are able to improve and offer the best possible products. As I alluded to at the beginning of this response, this was the very first week we offered our new style of service and have taken all comments very seriously and acted upon them to ultimately deliver a great service to all our customers. The overall feedback was actually very positive which we were delighted about however we have disappointed you and that is a great shame as it is always important to us to keep our returning customers happy. We hope that you will give us another opportunity one day to right these wrongs and win back your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needingworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What can I say, we booked the hotel last minute and got a great dinner/b&b deal. We arrived in the early evening and the receptionist/barman/waiter was very pleasant and efficient. The room was big, very clean and very nice.

That evening we went to the bar and enjoyed the open fire and a. Few drinks before dinner, we didn't have to budge as our starter order was taken from the bar. The food turned out to be incredible value and the menu together with the specials were more than adequate. There was fresh local fish and beef etc on for both nights.

The breakfast was freshly cooked and there was a massive selection of fruit, cereals etc.

The location and setting of the hotel is very nice. The rooms are nearly all in the converted out buildings of Caley Hall which is a very beautiful private house on the site of the hotel. 5minutes walk down a country lane and across the golf course is the biggest, typically beautiful, Norfolk beach packed with birds for the bird watchers among us.

There's wifi, plenty of parking, allowance for dogs etc

It's really a great hotel and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is always nice to receive such comments and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, lovely room, clean, comfortable. Bar meals excellent. Breakfast was mixed - juices, fruit and cereals very good, coffee good, but cooked breakfast could be improved in both quality and taste, specifically the beans, scrambled eggs and the bacon. I'm being picky of course, as it was perfectly edible, but a small improvement here would have gained 5 out of 5 for this review. A great hotel and a great find, I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you Richard6061 for your review. I'm sorry that our breakfast let us down on this occasion and i have passed on your comments to the chef to investigate.

I'm certain any changes necessary will be made to ensure we get the full 5 out of 5 next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. Very comfortable and warm. Heating seemed to be on for most of the day. Staff very efficient and pleasant. Enjoyed the food. A real find in Hunstanton. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seem to be on the ground floor, bungalow type, suitable for families with small ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you Eileen F for taking the time to review our hotel here, all comments are much appreciated and it is always particularly pleasing to receive comments as nice as yours. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
874 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hunstanton
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
812 reviews
12.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
815 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caley Hall Hotel

Property: Caley Hall Hotel
Address: Old Hunstanton Road | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caley Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set around a 17th-century manor house in North Norfolk. Peaceful hotel with 39 rooms, mainly on the ground floor, restaurant and bar. Suites and luxury rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Caley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caley Hall Hunstanton
Caley Hall Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing