We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, pleasant staff, small room, a bit pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, pleasant staff, small room, a bit pricey.”
Reviewed June 20, 2010

My spouse and I spent a weekend in Hunstanton at the reccommendation of coworkers. We chose Best Western Le Strange because of its beachfront location. Our reservations and check-in were handled beautifully.

Since we would be there such a short time, we opted for the "standard" room which turned out to be quite small. It was a bit of a challenge to maneuver with just two small bags. However, the room size was the only negative. The ocean view was lovely. The room was spotless. The bath had clean and well-supplied.

Breakfast was served in a tastefully appointed dining room with efficient, courteous staff. The only disappointment was the breakfast potatoes, which were fried, processed "patties" without flavour. I would have expected something a bit better in such a nice establishment.

The cost for 2 people, with breakfast, for the ocean view room was 130 per night - a bit on the pricey side considering the cramped room. .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aBirdTooFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    269
    79
    20
    7
See reviews for
131
482
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

stayed three nights ,all the staff we met were very good always helpful.stayed on 2nd floor lift only to 1st floor,but help was available.breakfast were lovely food in restaurant over priced and the food in pub was OK chips with everything .Everyone we met were very friendly,free WIFI .Lots of nice rooms to sit and watch the wind surfers and wild life.The hotel has some history and it shows.Good position to explore North Norfolk from.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hantshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepng St James
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

From booking our break with Fred on reception to arriving with an upgrade ( my wifes birthday ) on our room, the staff are so friendly, the rooms so clean, the views from our room were briliant, the food was very good even the entertainment from the "stroppy" chef at our evening meal made our stay even more enjoyable. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RailwayChildren5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Very clean & comfortable rooms, helpful staff and a great location by the sea.Breakfast freshly made and quick service.Pub next door handy for cheaper meals but disorganised and does make the outside of the hotel busy & noisy,creating problems with parking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shireschilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Thank you to the Le Srange Arms for makeing my son and daughter in laws wedding day such a wonderful day.From the moment we arrived everything went according to plan.I would like to thank all the staff for all their hard work ,especialy Carl for his expertise and the professional manor in which he executed his duties. We would like to make a special mention to the kitchen staff for thier faultles service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazalfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I first happened upon Le Strange Arms over 10 years ago and thought then this would be a good place for a weekend away. Well, over a decade later, I took my wife their for a winter break.

This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin. It is friendly, it is comfortable, it is (literally) a stones throw from the beach, it is in a quiet location. It is not luxurious, neither would it win michellin stars - but then we paid £130 for one night dinner bed and breakfast for a sea view, comfortable double bedroom and loved every minute of it. There were plenty of comfortable lounges dotted around to relax, which made for a very relaxed feel.

The table d'hote menu was very pleasant, with plenty of fresh local fish on the menu. Breakfast was almost certainly pre-cooked and so suffered with the perrenial hard bacon and greasy sausage problem - shame that as it would have made a difference to have a good breakfast.

But it is the location that makes this hotel so special. Walk out the door, over 30 metre of lawn and you are at the back of the beach - literally takes 1 minute. There are no roads to cross, no cliffs to worry about, just a gentle one minute walk. North Hunstanton is not a busy place (I like that) but a mile down the road (or the beach if you prefer) Hunstanton itself has all the usual seaside amenities. For the best Fish and Chips I have had in ages, drive to Cley Next The Sea, spot the place with the long queue and join it - iit is worth it!

So, in conclusiomn not perfect, but a really relaxed, friendly seaside hotel for a reasonable price - who could ask for more?

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltytowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

This hotel has a great location on the sandy shore of the Wash, where it is possible to be on the East coast of England and yet see the sun set in the sea.

The weather was glorious and it felt as if we could have been abroad. The sea was shallow and warm enough to swim in at 5pm after a day of hot sunshine had warmed the sand for the incoming tide. Don't know how often this is the case on the East coast but they seemed to have had a drier summer than many parts of Britain. We loved the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel, where retired people and young families and several happy dogs all amicably made the most of the lawns, terrace and beach. Will definitely have to go back another time and take our dog to this doggie haven.

Our 'superior' room was rather small but comfortable and had a view out to sea over the free car park - we didn't spend much time indoors as the weather was so good, but we very much enjoyed the reading room with its large windows and magnificent views (and free internet access).

Breakfast was quite good, with tasty bread and cooked-to-order full English plus a buffet selection which included strawberries among the fresh fruits.

We walked into the livelier part of Hunstanton (about 25 minutes by the sea front) and found the fish-and-chips places all closed at 8pm, so we returned to the hotel and had a reasonable bar meal in their adjoining pub.

We hope to stay again and might try a winter break when they offer bird-watching specialswith visits to nearby reserves.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.3 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hunstanton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel

Property: Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Address: Golf Course Road, Hunstanton PE36 6JJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hunstanton
Hunstanton Best Western
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing