We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - but one night was the night from hell!”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marine Hotel
Ranked #19 of 22 Hunstanton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Comfy warm room, clean - great shower. Good food, reasonably priced.

BUT: not their fault in that a group of young, male contractor workers created mayhem on our first night there - fun and games (theirs) from 12.30 - 3am!! However - although we received apologies the offer of a free breakfast or some other sweetener would have helped and created some goodwill - which was lacking the next morning on our part!! I would say they have to work a bit on customer relations! One young member of staff was excellent but it wasn't his place to offer such compensation.

Room Tip: The front for seaviews but the back/side for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franadfam51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 134 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Been comming to the Marine Hotel and bar for years now, always been great.Nice big, clean rooms with sea views. Very central, free on site car parking but most of all it's dog friendly. The staff are very helpful. Wide selection of food in the bar and beer kept well it's also where you have breakfast if you want it and many people come in just for the breakfast. I often go on my own with my dog and always feel welcomed and chat with the locals.

Room Tip: I like room 3. It's big with 2 huge windows, I like to sit by them people watching. The sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 321gkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

In Hunstanton and wanting somewhere to eat, we had parked behind the Princess Theatre and this bar is opposite. You walk down a few steps in to the bar area, we had 1/2 pints of Adnams Ale which was very nice and ordered a BLT sandwich each at £4.00, as we were eating in the evening we didn't want a big meal, oh dear how wrong, but pleasantly wrong, not your normal slice of bread, more 'doorstep, and that is not being nasty, most places would serve normal sliced bread as a sandwich but here I gather it was cut off the loaf, inside the sandwich was the bacon, tomato and some lettuce, more lettuce and crisps (chips if you are from USA) and a sachet of salad cream and tomato sauce., yes not so much a sandwich but a feast. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
I cannot comment on the hotel as we only called in the bar for the sandwich and the Adnams, the Real Ale swung it for me, but looking at the menu/advertising leaflet on the table we might be staying there for a couple of nights soon, because of the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, short midweek break doing a bit of bird watching at rspb Snettisham and Titchwell. We got two nights on special offer for £70 great value, no breakfast but you can get breakfast in the bar up to 12pm for £3.95. This great as you can choose , rather than paying for something you do not fancy. Staff are great,Alex was brill.
The rooms are lovely and warm,we had sea view. Fantastic power shower, tea making,hair dryer.
The marine hotel bar is like a little cosy pub with real fire and real ale. The menu is varied and food good wholesome fayre.
Car parking is a bit limited but we had no problems. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, top floor,few stairs but no problem, sea view, power shower to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights would have really loved to have stayed longer
had to get back to work or most certainly would have
even though it was end of season we were met and shown to our room
the room was large clean and well stocked with tea and coffee which really suprised us
every member of staff did ther upmost to make is feel welcome and nothing was to much trouble
the meals were execellent

Room Tip: lavender suite first floor with good seaveiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank premierebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for one night (room 3 - very nice). The welcome was great. I had to go a local function but my wife hand dinner in the attached restaurant - first class. Then the odd bit. Breakfast in a downstairs bar. - nice and clean - no "bar" smell - nice fire. Had to order and pay up front at the bar. Only server did not seem too keen on service, perhaps the early morning was the problem. I ordered toast a cook breakfast (very good) and toast and marmalade. When the marmalade was missing was told "sorry we have run out, it was all eaten in the summer"

Room Tip: Front rooms seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited the bar / restaurant midweek, early evening. A good, friendly pub atmosphere, with excellent choice of meals and snacks. Eclectic decor creates relaxing ambiance, with warm fire and good background music. We sat and ate in the bar area. Had two main courses, which included fish and chips and macaroni cheese, with salad and garlic bread included. Food was wholesome, nicely presented and cooked well. The price of food and drinks good value for money. The bar soon filled up, with a mixture of locals and visitors, in goups and solitary diners. Will be tempted to say in one of the rooms next time, as this is a good quality, easy-going pub, located in the centre of Hunstanton. From the outside, one wouldn't be sure if the pub existed, as it's dwarfed by the frontage of the hotel itself and by an adjoining restaurant. In truth, Hunstanton is poorly served by the lack of local pubs, with most bars located in hotels. The Marine Hotel bar goes someway to redress that imbalance. Well worth a visit for the good range of drinks and foodstuffs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dillonalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.1 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel and Bar
1.2 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Wash & Tope Hotel
The Wash & Tope Hotel
#21 of 22 in Hunstanton
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 10 St. Edmunds Terrace, Hunstanton PE36 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hunstanton
Price Range: $78 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing