We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxed hotel”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #15 of 22 Hunstanton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here in June 2012, sorry for late review. Relaxed atmosphere, yummy breakfast, lovely hosts. Hoping to return sometime this year with our granddaughter.
Very close to town centre and sea front.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joma68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are always grateful for any comments and we are delighted you were happy with your stay with us! Would be lovely to see you for a return visit.
Regards, Linda and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    30
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
79
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a lovely hotel. We only stayed one night and wished that we could have stayed longer. We booked a superior room with a lovely sea view. The 2 flights of stairs were well worth the hike. The room was spotlessly clean, warm and well proportioned with some lovely thoughtful touches that made us feel very welcome. On our arrival, Linda made us feel very welcome and Richard provided an excellent service at breakfast. Hoping to visit again in the summer and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The superior room with sea view was well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed in the garage room which was ideal for my 80 year old mother. the room was very clean and comfortable the bath was nice and deep and the shower was a double one everything you needed was thought of .the breakfast was one of the best ive had .the owners were very pleasant . the walk to the town was flat and near and it was easy to get to the sea,also the bus service was exellent.

Room Tip: the garage room has no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review for our ground floor garage conversion room, it is great to have positive feed back for this room which we introduced recently especially for the elderly and partially disabled who do not want stairs to climb. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back whenever you visit Hunstanton again.
Regards, Linda and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a well run hotel near the centre of Hunstanton with some rooms having sea views. The owners are friendly and are keen to ensure that guests are comfortable and well looked after. Breakfast was excellent though ordering the day before was quirky! We stayed three nights and felt relaxed when we left - if we go back to Hunstanton we will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Do aske for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tozilch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and how lovely to hear that all our efforts are appreciated. We would certainly welcome you again if you visit Hunstanton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Room five was excellent with king size bed and television which you could view from any part of the room.The views from the room were stunning.The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Bathroom was clean.The food was also excellent and plentiful.

We would recommend to anyone and would use the b&b again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_vrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in our king size sea view room, it was lovely meeting you both and we would welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After struggling to find a reasonably priced place to stay after a charity cycle from Leicester to Hunstanton, I was fortunate enough to stumble across The Gables bed n breakfast.
Linda the hostess was a delight, warm inviting and very helpful both before and throughout my stay. The room I stayed in was perfect, clean and spacious with a TV and hair dryer. There were fresh towels, a large clean comfy bed and free tea/coffee. Shower and bath were both very clean also.
Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 9:30 and was well cooked.
All round a great place to stay, not far from the sea front but out of the main areas where it is busier.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth-Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sui2838, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your review Beth, it was a pleasure having you. Hope to see you again if you are in the area, good luck with the cycling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Made to feel very welcome on our two night stay at the Gables. The room was fantastic with a balcony where we sat in the warm sun in the morning reading the paper and drinking filter coffee, and sat drinking a glass of wine watching the sun set over the sea in the evening. Comfortable bed, nice en-suite. Good TV, fast free WIFI and tea/coffee/hot-chocolate making facilities.

Regarding breakfast - before arriving I had let Richard know that I am a coeliac. He and his wife went to the trouble of buying gluten free sausages and gluten free bread so that I could have a delicious cooked breakfast. The filter coffee was also excellent.

Happy to recommend to others.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_in_Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sui2838, Joint owner at The Gables, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it was very nice getting to you know you both! Linda doe's try to accommodate all dietary requirements as no one should have to miss out on one of her excellent full montys, it's nice to know that all our efforts are appreciated. If you are ever in the area again please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
854 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hunstanton
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shellbrooke
The Shellbrooke
#9 of 22 in Hunstanton
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burleigh
The Burleigh
#1 of 22 in Hunstanton
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: 28 Austin Street, Hunstanton PE36 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is a Family run guest house and we welcome children over the age of 7. We are not able to accommodate pets, however we have our owns pets and also have a guest house cat called Oliver Boots who will welcome you on your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hunstanton, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing