We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff who salvaged our evening”
Review of Byfords

Byfords
Reserve with OpenTable
Byfords is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Holt
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great staff who salvaged our evening”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We are new residents of North Norfolk and had heard good things about Byfords from a local resident. This week we had some business in Holt and parked our car in the pay-and-display car park next to Bakers & Larners department store at 4:20 p.m. and paid for an hour of parking, although the ticket only printed out a time of 5 p.m. We didn't think anything of it. Upon returning, we saw our car was inaccessible behind a closed metal gate, which was chained and bolted for the evening. There was no telephone number to call to have the car released. Only after the car was locked in for the night did we notice a sign stating that the car park is locked at 5:15 p.m. and there was nothing we could do. What a great welcome to Holt! Thanks, Bakers and Larners! Oh, and our house keys were locked in the car too.

Our new home is more than 10 miles away from Holt, so we decided to consider our options while having a drink across the road at Byfords. We actually had a dinner reservation somewhere else but now didn't have any way to get there. We mentioned our inconvenient situation to Byfords' manager, whose name is Orest, and he was immediately welcoming and sympathetic and brought us a complimentary beverage. We had been really hacked off by Bakers & Larners' parking policy when we arrived and were souring on our otherwise pleasant visit to Holt, but Orest's kind gesture and warm welcome salvaged our evening in Holt.

I phoned to cancel our dinner reservation at the pub where we originally intended to dine and explained that our car was inadvertently impounded for the night in Holt. The man on the other end of the phone line immediately said, "Oh, is that at Bakers & Larners? That happens all the time." Well done, Bakers & Larners, you've earned yourselves a reputation.

We stayed for dinner at Byfords, and all the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The food was tasty too and the menu had a number of interesting options, some with a Moroccan twist, which we enjoyed. We ended up taking a taxi home (and, fortunately, finding a spare set of door keys) and another taxi back to Holt in the morning to collect our car after the gate opened.

Thanks, Orest and team, for your kindness, great food and service, which turned an annoying situation around for us. We had a great evening at Byfords and will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozina F, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your story. We're happy to hear we were able to turn your evening around after a bad start. You're always welcome and a little tip for next time, if you sign up to our free passport, you'll receive 10% off your bill each visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards.

The Front of House Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    410
    235
    147
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the pigs owned by same co and had a very poor experience. The difference here was enormous, food was great (even for a vegan), staff were fantastic and incredible value for money. Owners - how can they be so different?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris4232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozina F, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hi, thank you for your feedback! We have made The Pigs Management aware of your comments. We hope to see you back again soon!

The Front of House Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very average, questionable cleanliness”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

three of us ate here just last week and we weren't impressed. we ordered nibbles such as falafal, olives, humous and bread etc. £3.50 for TWO falafals and a little dip is a real joke - Waitrose sell about 8 of these for the same money and they're better.

Staff were very helpful though, very helpful indeed.

But the one thing I noticed was the grubbiness of the back of the small plates we were given to eat from. It looks to me like they don't have an automatic dishwasher but perhaps a teenager that hasn't been trained in washing up. the surface of the plates were covered in finger marks too & to be honest, as a bit of a clean freak, such poorly washed crockery is quite a turn off - not to mention a potential for harvesting germs.

Oh and the home made lemonade with a couple of chunks of cucumber? I wonder how home made it is, or can you class something as being home made by adding cucumber? or is it made by 'The Homemade Lemonade Company Ltd'??

I suspect they just trade on their name. I doubt I'll be going back again, as at these prices I expect perfection. Very disappointing

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A1anJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozina F, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback in writing. We're really happy to hear our staff were very helpful. After your comments, we have adjusted our falafel grazing dish.
We would also like to assure you of our process for cleanliness. All our crockery is stacked into trays and firstly hot sprayed then put through an industrial dishwasher at high temperatures. We'd like to Thank you for your comments as they have brought to our attention that further training is needed for those staff operating the machines. We will be closely observing that this is completed to our standards.
We can assure you that all ingredients of our homemade lemonade are made on premises. We would be very happy to show you the making process next time you pop in.
Kind Regards

The FOH Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We have used Byfords a few times for morning coffee (we have a holiday home nearby), be we recently tried the restaurant. We had originally booked to go to one of their restaurant jazz evenings (last Wednesday of every month), but had to cancel at the last minute. We went the following Monday and had an excellent meal. We were seated in the part that is fitted out like a library and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The menu offered a good selection of dishes and service was excellent. Just need to check the calendar now to find out when we can try the jazz evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozina F, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We’re pleased to hear you had a lovely experience with us! We can thoroughly recommend the jazz! The next two dates are 30/07 or 27/08. We look forward to your next visit!

The Front of House Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely building.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stopped here for a spot of late lunch on the Saturday of our anniversary weekend. The food was spot on, the 'restaurant' itself was wonderfully appointed, with a 'vintage' feel to it. The shop at the front has an excellent selection of foods to take away with you after your meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank doe4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozina F, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We’re so pleased to hear we were part of your special weekend! We look forward to seeing you again!

The Front of House Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byfords also viewed

 
 

Been to Byfords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing