We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a long drive to Morston”

Morston Hall Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $114
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
England
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“worth a long drive to Morston”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was so worth the long journey - was surprised Galton wasn't cooking but Richard Bainbridge head chef is equally talented and delighted us with surprise combinations. I am quiet particular about food as we travel quiet alot and I cook reasonably, so to say that all of the 8 courses of the taster menu were beautifully cooked and served to perfection justified why we drove so far. The smoked haddock and the guinea fowl were particularly delicious. and hubby totally agreed with the delightful evening' menu. The young staff gave a prompt efficient and friendly Service that was sharp but not stuffy. The portions were ample and interesting wine flights really good value.
Only negative point as a destination priced Country house hotel and gardens both need abit of TLC and attention to detail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cthecliffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    71
    31
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delighted”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Worth every penny, Scrumptious food, well prepared, local ingredients. Caters really well for vegetarians too. Fantastic surroundings, great for a special occasion.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gjbenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch Treat”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was staying local to the restaurant for a few days and had seen chef on TV so booked Sunday lunch as a treat for my husband. Was not disappointed. Although the portions were small as mentioned in other reviews they were all gorgeous. The wine was not overly priced for a starred restaurant. Very relaxed service and the serving staff very efficient. All in all a lovely treat for a Sunday lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Suffolk210101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“High expectations were exceeded!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked to eat here after seeing Galton cooking on the TV (and also his sous chef - Chris Bainbridge?).
It was an experience not to forget, from the welcome canapes in the conservatory to the coffee and petits fours by the inglenook fireplace. Needless to say that the food was superb with intense flavours combined sometimes in unusual ways. The service was friendly but efficient and formal. There was a comprehensive wine list including some affordable ones for a skinflint like me. And some great local beer.
I would go back again tomorrow if it wasn't a 6 hour drive away!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cordon Bleu?”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I agree with the local man' review.
We have eaten in many fine restaurant across continents; but this is not one of them.
When a chef produces only a single menu for all guests; whether seven courses or one; it should be excellent. All courses could only be classed as "tasters"- even the "main" fish fillet was about 2" sq.!
There was an attempt to make numerous "interesting" flavours; most of which my spice cupboard would have provided blind... too many tastes in each bit.
Initially it seemed a welcoming place, but when second waiter ( local student) failed to repeat his/her instructed pronunciation of dish/eggcup being served; I realised it was an exercise in training for which I was about pay £85 pp inc wine.
This was a pretentious, pricey, paltry portioned experience.
Artificial and cold dining experience. Company I was with saved the day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greeksail0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morston Hall Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Morston Hall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing