We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lawns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lawns Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Welcoming staff, quality accommodation, excellent breakfast. What more can I say. This place ticks all the boxes and offers accommodation unrivalled in Holt. It's a shame that hotels some distance from Holt still feature in the Tripadvisor list for Holt as this place should be number one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    71
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
134
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed with a smile and our bags were taken to our room which was room number nine, our room was large with their ensuite bathroom two chairs and table tv and drinks making facilities everything was clean in both our room and all the bar/restaurant areas and they had lovely gardens. If I can remember breakfast is served between eight and 10 o'clock which was fantastic as we were not particularly early risers on the first day. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody going to holt as it is superb value for money.


Lucy & Nick Hadleigh Essex

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in room 7. Room was perfect, very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent, huge choice. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Overall we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambrosio93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend for my partners birthday. The room was lovely and well done out. They put a lot of effort into the extra things live a DVD player and selection of DVDs in the communal area, there is also the use of a sewing kit, shoe polish, iron and ironing board, those little extra things that you always need! There was a good selection for breakfast and the bar area was so lovely and cosy. Would highly recommend a visit

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearce87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 8 (top floor). Room very nice, comfortable bed and huge bathroom. Both mornings we had an intermittent water supply which we reported to reception and were informed it was an Anglian water problem, not the hotels. We found this a disappointing response. Breakfast was OK, we had dinner one night, good portions and nicely cooked. Overall the hotel is clean if a little dated in places. Would stay again if in area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

My partner and I, having read the TripAdvisor reviews of the Lawns were looking forward to our overnight stay. The Lawns is a quaint little hotel in a superb location. The staff are friendly, the breakfast menu selection and standard of food are excellent. Our room, however, was disappointing. I made one request at the time of booking - a shower rather than a bath. We were given a tired-looking room, up two flights of narrow stairs on the top floor..... with a bath. The room was small but clean and reasonably comfortable. It also had lovely views and as my partner and I are sprightly 40+s the stairs, whilst a work-out, were not a problem to us. Compared with other hotels where we have stayed, however, I can only rate the Lawns as average. We paid £90 for a room and breakfast and did not receive the standard of luxury we would expect for that price. Whilst the breakfast was very good, the room was basic, at best.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2104ami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked a room at The Lawns on the spur of the moment based on reviews on this site and what a fabulous find! Ample parking, 2 minutes from the centre of Holt and a really good price for the area. We had a room on the first floor in the main building and it was lovely. We were told it was one of the smaller rooms but we thought it was more than adequate. It was very nicely decorated including top quality bed linen but more importantly full size bath towels - a pet hate of mine! so many hotels have towels that are not much bigger than a hand towel! Excellent tea making facilities in the room and they had supplied a fresh jug of milk so we could have a lovely cup of tea with real mug not UHT rubbish! Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice using local produce. The only downside for us was that the bar had been closed when we returned from dinner in town but when we raised this with the owners at breakfast they apologised as a new member of staff had not realised that as residents we could be served until 11pm. A minor issue as we would certainly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#5 of 30 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns Hotel

Property: The Lawns Hotel
Address: 26 Station Road, Holt NR25 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawns Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lawns Hotel and Wine Bar is a privately owned hotel that offers a high standard of hospitality and service. An ideal place to relax and stay while discovering the joys of the surrounding countryside and coastline.All the 10 bedrooms are en-suite, with freeview televisions and DVD players and tea making facilities.Enjoy the AA rosette restaurant and bar, offering a menu that reflects locally sourced seasonal ingredients in a range of delicious dishes. Relax in the Lawns fully licensed informal bar, with local beers and a wide range of wines and spirits. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes are available all day and can be enjoyed in the conservatory or our large south facing garden – ideal for relaxing in when the sun shines.There is a car park at the rear of the hotel and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lawns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawns Hotel Holt
The Lawns Hotel Holt, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing