We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Muckleburgh Military Collection
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My son enjoyed the visit and the variety of military vehicles. He really enjoyed the ride too which they charge extra for. I thought the museum entrance fee was expensive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    87
    23
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worthy visit with no preconceptions”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Been meaning to visit the collection for some time and as i was owed some holiday, what better time especially as the weather was holding up to its end of the deal. Muckleburgh is in an out of the way location but the road from sheringham is a good run. Smaller than I expected but good things come in small packages apparently. Nicely laid out with models, uniforms and badge collections mixed with small arms displays and a history of the site made for an informative start. Further in, the bigger toys on display with light armour, trucks and jeeps with the bigger tanks further round inside. Good mixture of vehicles on display, mainly post war and cold war era but the odd rarity thrown in for good measure, like an amphibious jeep and a tracked rapier systems to keep the interest flowing. Cafe on site offers drinks, sandwiches and cooked meals and though not the cheapest around wasnt extortionate and food was good. Excellent facilities for the disabled and even had kennels for the kids to be kept in while yku enjoy the museum. Just been informed the kennels where in fact for dogs but thats your choice. Entrance fee was £10 per adult which i thought was a little expensive but these toys are expensive to maintain. Overall, worth the visit BUT not a day event, but worthy if your in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RSVmillemanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A place for a rainy day”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Although not large, the museum contains some interesting artifacts. Unfortunately the grandchildren were more interesred in the cafe and playground! There is a lot to look at, from medals to tanks and missiles. The children did like the gas masks and Anderson shelter. The ride in the military vehicle wad exceleent if a little bumpy

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarionAve66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
202 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This is a military museum”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you do not go away from here with a sense of pride for the men and women who served, You missed out, those whom are dedicated to preserving these articles of war have done themselves and England proud. Thank you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My son is tank mad so had a father/son day out here. Lots to see but its not an all day venue. We stayed about 4 hours. We went in Winter so none of the outdoor stuff was running but the inside was warm. Good value and the ghost stories (TVs Most Haunted visited a few years back) make it slightly eerie..especially the haunted ambulance. As I say, worth a visit but not all day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muckleburgh Military Collection also viewed

 

Been to Muckleburgh Military Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing