We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
Review of Back to the Garden

Back to the Garden
Ranked #9 of 51 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant You can eat under the ceiling of the massive eighteenth-century oak barn or, if it's warm, amongst the flowers in our garden, a place of serenity and calm that's good for the soul. The Butchery All of the Angus-sired beef, lamb, chicken, geese and turkeys on the butcher's counter have been raised organically at our farm. The rare breed, outdoor reared pork is sourced locally. The Deli You will find many of the best British artisan cheeses, organic salami and a choice of food from our kitchen. The Shop We have a zest for sourcing producers who reflect our own ideals, for whom quality and provenance count. The wine is selected in conjunction with Fields, Morris and Verdin, the wholesale distributors for Berry Bros and Rudd.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and excellent service but the food did not live up to the high recommendations. We had the liver which was mostly OK but there were a few bits which were definitely undercooked. Veg was OK but nothing special. Deserts were better. All in all, an okay meal but nothing to rave about. We're on holiday here so will be trying other places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kara18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    124
    37
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were recommended by locals to go to this restaurant and it proved to be an excellent recommendation. Front of house were two quite young ladies but they were quite delightful.The food was magnificent and the food could not be faulted. The ambiance was charming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good dinner serviced with friendly professional approach”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Came here in the evening. The menu is short but with a good choice. Caters well for carnivores and vegetarians. Starters were a little small on the portion control but the mains were adequate. Good quality and freshly prepared. The pasta, the sea bass and the stuffed tomatoes were good. The desserts were generous. Wine by the glass good value and good selection. Would come again. It was not very busy and the service was good.the barn is well worth looking at as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allendale36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, España
Level Contributor
216 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Exquisite, but expensive”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Based on our visit today, it would be impossible to fault this restaurant in terms of either the quality of the food or the friendly, professional service.
The setting is very attractive, in a renovated barn.
I would have given it a five however I felt that my portion of my haddock was rather small and the price of the meals was somewhat expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As others have mentioned, maybe a little overpriced in the restaurant, but the quality of the food was excellent. We had lunch there on one day, and tea on another, whilst staying in the area. I can strongly recommend the scones with jam and cream! Absolutely delicious and the best cream tea I've had - ever! Lovely veg in the shop and I thought very reasonably priced. I noticed a connection with a Camphill Village (Thornage?), wonderful, caring homes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenys U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back to the Garden also viewed

 
 

Been to Back to the Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing