We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely meal”
Review of Back to the Garden

Back to the Garden
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant You can eat under the ceiling of the massive eighteenth-century oak barn or, if it's warm, amongst the flowers in our garden, a place of serenity and calm that's good for the soul. The Butchery All of the Angus-sired beef, lamb, chicken, geese and turkeys on the butcher's counter have been raised organically at our farm. The rare breed, outdoor reared pork is sourced locally. The Deli You will find many of the best British artisan cheeses, organic salami and a choice of food from our kitchen. The Shop We have a zest for sourcing producers who reflect our own ideals, for whom quality and provenance count. The wine is selected in conjunction with Fields, Morris and Verdin, the wholesale distributors for Berry Bros and Rudd.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On a snowy and freezing evening we received a really warm welcome from the staff at the door. The food was good, the wine competitively priced and the staff super. Not fine dining. A little expensive overall but apart from that, just what we wanted. Would recommend and we keep returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    129
    37
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast !”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Called in today for breakfast,every ingredient was perfect and full of taste,fantastic sausage and bacon,had to bring some home. Not cheap but worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing with very good food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We love the North Norfolk coast and living about 60 miles away visit as often as possible. In the past we would head for Holt, a gem of this lovely region. Problem is many other people think so too and parking is often a problem and getting lunch has demanded a lot of patience. We've passed "Back to the Garden" before and then pulled in one time to see what it was like.
What a revelation! Easy parking and what a beautiful barn to enjoy a meal in. The young ladies waiting table were polite, friendly and quietly attentive. The food is excellent. Very tasty, exceedingly well presented and balanced with good value. The Barn is now our first call of choice on each journey. We cannot fault any visit, nor recommend more highly. A well stocked grocery and deli complete a delightful visit. On our most recent visit (March 2013) we were even entertained by a pair of Hares boxing in the field opposite. (We still visit Holt of course!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An oasis in a culinary desert”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We take our dogs to be trimmed every 3 months to NW Norfolk near East Dereham and have always struggled to find somewhere to have lunch while they are being pampered. There are several good places actually on the coast but we did not not want to drive that far.

This is a miniature version Daylesford Organic. Lovely shop with very good loacl produce. Excellent cafe with a good choice of snacks and proper food at lunch time.

Scallops as a starter and excellent paperdelle are recommended as is the chicken pie. There is a good range of well chosen and reasonably priced wines by the glass interestingly available in 125, 175 and 250ml sizes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orfordness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rezare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well chosen venue for 80th birthday”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A great place to have a low key meal to celebrate an 80th. Cannot fault anything!
The staff were attentive food choices suitably varied & excellent value. I'd highly recommend coming here for a memorable event

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinR_MikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back to the Garden also viewed

 

Been to Back to the Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing