We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Day Break”
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
Reserve with OpenTable
Kings Head is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 51 Restaurants in Holt
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“2 Day Break”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to find no car park at Kings head,so had to find a place on side of road or pay on car park..Greeted by very helpful young man who helped carry bags to our room..Room no. 3,Huge bed,loads of space to put our clothes etc in built in cupboards,decor very nice,Bathroom lovely nice soft towels,small but nice toiletries,and the bath and shower were lovely.+++
No bar noise but because it was exceptionally hot while we were there and had to have our window open the Street noise was LOUD....but am sure on a NORMAL English weather night with window shut this wouldn't be an issue. All bar staff and restaurant staff very attentive and polite.. We had a meal in restaurant first night,food was very good..Fish pie delicious ..Husband enjoyed his steak..First morning we went to make a cup of tea but no milk,left a note for the cleaner but she gave no reply and no milk..asked the girl downstairs later,they should have told us there is a fridge through 3 sets of doors with milk in.Breakfast over at Byfords..a lovely place loads of choice,but full English was not as hot as it should be,the next morning I had poached egg on toast which was lovely,the orange juice cereal etc A ++++. We then went back to Kings head to pay our bill and were told we had to pay at Byfords,if only the communication was better would have made the stay so much nicer...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 17meeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    150
    70
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hollywood uk
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch time food”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Popped in for lunch as it had been recommended to us, so ordered ham, egg & chips + veggie fahitas (with sweet chilli sauce) and both dishes were good. Real sun trap around the back of the pub. Downside was £3.95 for a pint of San Miguel... I only had the one!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnboyHollywoodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprised in a good way”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped by here on a family day out and to be honest, we weren’t expecting much.

We were however very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and the dining area (like a large conservatory) was inviting. The tables were a good distance from each other which gave a good feeling of privacy which was perfect for us as we were travelling with young children and didn’t want them to disturb anyone else.

The menu was very good and reasonably priced and our order was taken promptly. Now when eating out with young children, a long wait between arriving and having food in front of them can lead to disaster with tantrums and the like. Some restaurants offer pens and paper to keep children busy. Here they gave our children a whole toy box. Happy children = happy parents.

The food arrived in good time and was very good and well cooked. Much better quality than we had been expecting.

We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InTheSea1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Good Choice in Holt”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A great pub with rooms and attached restaurant called "Steak". We spent a week's holiday in North Norfolk and ate here twice. On both occasions the staff were polite and obliging and the food was good. However their chips are really wedges - a bit of a shame with the fish & chips that my partner had but nice with the 8oz sirloin that I enjoyed on our 2nd visit! Not too expensive and the real ales are great too

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best steak resturants we have visited”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have visited this pub/restaurant on many occasions in the past and always come away saying how good it is. This visit was no exception. It specialises in steak meals cooked on a charcoal ‘Argentinean’ style grill in full view of the diners. The steaks and other offerings are sourced locally and are of the highest quality. We had our ‘usual’ steak meal and were not disappointed. It was cooked perfectly and to our requested specification. The accompanying chips are fresh, crisp and of excellent flavour, as were the other accompaniments. The Stilton sauce is well worth having as an ‘extra’ and is again one of the best we have tasted, apparently it’s the chef’s special recipe. The sweets are also always interesting, varied and delicious. The meal can be washed down with ‘real ale’ chosen from a fine selection of local brews, which change each time we go. The service is efficient but friendly and the servers always makes you feel important. As an added bonus they have a ‘suggestion scheme’ on every table and, when we used it to request the return of a particular sweet we had liked from a previous visit, we received an email offering us a ‘two for one’ deal next time we visit. Needless to say, we’ll definitely return when go back to the area later this year!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wings_of_the_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head also viewed

 

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing