We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideally situated, lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Secluded Traditional Brick + Flint North Norfolk Cottage, Pretty Courtyard Gdn, Wi-Fi, Parking,Piano
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded Traditional Brick + Flint North Norfolk Cottage, Pretty Courtyard Gdn, Wi-Fi, Parking,Piano
Bright Sitting Room with Piano looking out over Private Courtyard Garden Lovely bright bedrooom: Oak Bed, Harrison Handmade Mattress, Wool Carpet, Bedside Digital Radio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
Secluded Traditional Brick + Flint North Norfolk Cottage, Pretty Courtyard Gdn, Wi-Fi, Parking,Piano
Bright Sitting Room with Piano looking out over Private Courtyard Garden
Lovely bright bedrooom: Oak Bed, Harrison Handmade Mattress, Wool Carpet, Bedside Digital Radio
Pretty Courtyard Garden in flower!  Butterflies Galore and Birdsong.
Landing with Colefax and Fowler Beautiful Lined Curtains and Wool Carpets.
Open Plan Sitting Room & Kitchen Exposed Oak Beams and Worktops
Sitting Room showing Oak Floor and Beams with wide easy access staircase
Large Walk in Shower Upstairs Next to the Bedroom
Bathroom which is Next to Bedroom Upstairs
Kitchen - Handmade Oak worktops, Neff Cooker, Wine Cooler
8 Carpenters Cottages Outside Secluded Courtyard and Hidden Gate Entrance
8 Carpenters Cottages, Garden
Daffs in the Front Window! Secluded, Quiet and Pretty Courtyard - great to sit out on the oak b
Landing leading off the Double Bedroom and to Large Walk in Shower
Wide Easy Staircase
Holt Methodist Church and Memorial
Holt Poppy Line Steam Train Station (15 min walk from Cottage).  Go to Sheringham by Steam Train!
Appleyard - great kitchen shop, silk dress shop and coffee shops!
Traditional Carpenters Cottages Sign
Holt White Christmas Lights all over town from end November to early January each year!
Nearby Blakeney Looking out over the Quay.  Visit the Seal Colony August, September, October
Cley Next the Sea  Windmill
Cromer Sea View on Coastal Path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
russwoott...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideally situated, lovely cottage”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A really cosy, warm (we stayed in February), very well equipped and welcoming cottage. We live in the country so it was a great treat to have Holt on the doorstep for shops and to pop out for an early(ish) coffee and decide what to do for the day.
For us It is in an ideal spot for birdwatching, walking and cycling and making the most of North Norfolk. We definitely would like to go again (just hope that all these good reviews leave some weeks free!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you found 8 Carpenters Cottages warm and welcoming. The location is perfect I agree and happy it was ideal for your holiday. I look forward to your next visit! I am sure I will be able to squeeze you in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubys41
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

In an ideal location for all the amenities of the town, the cottage was extremely warm and cosy. All the facilities in the cottage were excellent, especially the roomy walk-in shower and the lovely comfortable bed. We look forward to a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed 8 Carpenters Cottages and found yourselves warm and cosy. Yes, the bed is comfy - it has a handmade mattress which I love as well! I hope you can stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingerfur...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This the ideal place to stay for visiting the North Norfolk coast. It is in the centre of Holt but in a very private location.
The cottage is tastefully furnished, with everything you could need to make it a home from home.
It also has a super comfy bed with electric blanket for any chilly nights.
Would love to stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2017
Thank you for your fabulous review. I am pleased everything was perfect. It is home from home and I look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consumerm...
Belper
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Excellent little cottage, excellent location to all local amenities, we have stayed here on numerous occasions and enjoyed every single visit would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet time away it's great for recharging your batteries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your super review. You are so welcome every time you book. Perfect guests, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miketonks...
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy, Well-equipped Cottage”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Very convenient for Holt shops and supermarket. The town is full of character.
Excellent base for Cley, Wells and Sheringham.
Good WiFi connection although the login/password needs to be updated in the joining instructions.
The bed was very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Piano seemed out of place!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you liked the location and the comfy bed!
I am sorry if you had a problem regarding the Wi-Fi login/password.
It is as stated in the email/letter that is sent out on full payment.
"Wi-Fi password is slotted in the back of the hub on the window sill."
You should have contacted me immediately if you had a problem.
I hope that you can stay again at 8 Carpenters Cottages. Kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken4bes
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Secluded yet Central”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Carpenters Cottages is a peaceful oasis in the middle of quite a bustling little town. You can sit in its secluded private courtyard, away from the hurly-burly of the town, and still be within a minute's walk of the local supermarket. The cottage itself is a characterful old building, fully equipped with everything you are likely to need for a comfortable stay - including wi-fi.
An added bonus for me was the piano (with a small library of sheet music), so I was able to brush up my Chopin! Holt is a nice little market town, with plenty of visitor attractions in the vicinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Ken, Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at no. 8 Carpenters Cottages and especially the piano! I look forward to hearing from you when you need another week of relaxation in this 'peaceful oasis' called 8 Carpenters Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyfrank...
Elsenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage for touring North Norfolk”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Perfectly situated in the heart of Holt but incredibly secluded if that makes sense! Everything you would need for a stay is included in the cottage and the linen and towels were 1st class. Perhaps the only moan would be a larger TV is needed but that's being petty really, as we spent most of the day touring the coast and on long walks. All shops, pubs and restaurants are within a very short walk and all seemed to be of a very high quality. Worth a visit is Holkham Hall and the beach walks there are superb, also a throw back in time is Wells-next-the-Sea, never seems to have aged.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of booking
Liked least: All good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased you loved the location, were comfy and had all you needed for your stay in the cottage. I have made a note of your comment about having a larger TV and will be looking at doing this shortly. Visiting Holkham Hall and Wells-next-to-the-Sea are very much a favourite with my guests. I do hope that you can stay again at 8 Carpenters Cottages. Have a lovely Summer. Kind regards Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing