We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 28

Number 28
Ranked #18 of 52 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Breakfast, lunch, afternoon teas. Now open for Sunday lunch!!
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our local cafe we come here regularly. Staff always remember what we have and they are always very friendly and are always happy to help. A lot better than byfords and cheaper also, the millionaires is to die for and the scones are the best around! would recommend to anyone and definitely wouldn't go to any of cafe over this one. Well Done

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    36
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming people overpriced ordinary food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

we had rather unpleasant sausage rolls and very nice cofee here. A slice of cake was really dry. Not as good as Byfords and more expensive. Lovely people though. We are unlikely to go gain.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Day Trip to Holt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We visit Holt quite regularly - perhaps 3 or 4 times a year. We nearly always end up visiting this cafe/restaurant. They are open for coffee, light lunches and afternoon teas. Should you want a more substantial hot lunch they do local pies which are served with new potatoes, beans and gravy. They are excellent. On this visit they were very busy, but always advise you of the waiting time. The atmosphere is very pleasant with polite, friendly and efficient staff.
There is extra seating upstairs which is the best location for larger groups.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff3881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We visited Number 28 for the second time on 4th October with our young daughter. We ordered a panini each and a sandwich for our daughter. As with our last visit, the food and service was first class. The lady who took our order kindly asked if we would like our daughter's sandwich first as ours would take longer - excellent for us as she takes a lot longer than us to finish her meal! It came in less than 5 minutes which was great as she was quite hungry.

We ordered a mozarella and basil and sun dried tomato and brie paninis; we both tried each others and they were absolutely delicious. We also had a piece of carrot cake for dessert - again it was superb. However, both my partner and I said the same thing; what really sets this place apart from the others we have eaten in is the customer service. Quite a few places could take a leaf out of Number 28's book.

Unfortunately we were on holiday so we can't visit regularly - what a shame as it would definitely be a place we would keep going back to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wingnutmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Prompt service of good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been visiting Holt for years - how come we missed No.28? Called in for lunch today because another well-rated place nearby was closed on Mondays. We were warmly greeted, the place was full downstairs so we headed up to the additonal seating areas. Racks of magazines were on display to while away a few minutes until our order was taken. Our order (soup and jacket potato) arrived quicker than we expected, the place being so busy. Lots of notices around saying "as food is freshly prepared, please allow time in busy periods, etc, etc,".
We will certainly return another time to try the coffee and cakes. A bit of background music would have been good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pollylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 28 also viewed

 

Been to Number 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing