We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place , good food and beer, but beds awfully uncomfortable, such a shame, please change the mattresses 😊”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Holt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have stayed several times always in december , to visit wonderful shops and Christmas show, the pub is great such a welcoming cosy place to be, only one gripe the beds are terribly uncomfortable, mattresses need updating urgently, would make such a difference to ones stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totterdell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrie M, Owner at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We strive towards perfection. Unfortunately in your case, improvements could be made. Rest assured the matter will be considered and a tigon will be taken where appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 332 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked for a 1 Night stay in the 4 poster suite whilst visiting Holt before moving on round the coast.
Room was great, staff great, breakfast great, Beer great
Think i will make a long weekend of it next time, Thanks to all staff for a hassle free stay

Room Tip: Book the same room as i did if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realaleconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrie M, Owner at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We look forward welcoming you back again to The Feathers Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just back from long weekend in holt, used the hotel for a drink on a couple occasions,what a nice place,staff were very nice especially behind the bar!when asking about the local guest beer was offered amount to taste!we returned the next night and also had a meal which was spot on,full marks all round, we will be back!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrie M, Owner at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward welcoming you back again to the Feathers Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

visited over the weekend with my husband and kids, the place had the decor, ambience and appearance of an old peoples home, and was largely attended by the 'older generation'.Some of the customers at the bar area gave the impression that they were not 'child friendly' producing 'glares' at our children. I observed that priority for service at the bar appeared given to those ordering food than those wanting a beer. Some of the female staff were more concerned with finishing their personal conversations than providing service. One was smoking in the alleyway out back during a 'busy period'. Farcicle faulty towers. Not recommended for young famalies. We decided not to eat.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrie M, Owner at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We do take all our customers views very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We dined last Sunday and must commend the carvery. The food was excellent, the servings were generous, the meal was quality in every regard. A good choice of meats, beef, turkey, pork and perfectly cooked parsnips, carrots and stuffing etc. The deserts were similarly generous portions of raspberry cheesecake. All of our group of 5 adults, thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the meal. The staff were attentive and personable, organisation and service could not be faulted. All tables in restaurant were taken up, but sittings were timed perfectly so no queuing. We will definitely revisit the Feathers carvery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrie M, Owner at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back again to The Feathers Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff great but run off their feet. Food good. Rooms clean but very hot and noisy. Overpriced but not much competition in local area. Great location for North Norfolk coastline. Old fashioned decor and layout, but then it must be a listed building so options to update and improve must be limited.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoOlduns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrie M, Owner at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Following its rebuilding in 1709 after the Great Fire of Holt, the Feathers Hotel, ocuppying a prime position in Market Place, has served a number of functions in addition to that of a hostelry. Perhaps these diverse activities go some way to explain the higgledy-piggledy lay-out of its ground floor rooms, but this 'period' charm is an attraction and modernisation has been kept minimal.
My party had booked for a Sunday carvery, something which I always try to avoid, having memories of queuing for cold and mushy vegetables, et al. We arrived at 12.30pm (booking is essential) and the car park at the rear of the hotel (formerly a cattle yard) was already full and the restaurant in full swing. We were impressed by the efficiency and courtesy of the waiting staff throughout our visit and although 'that queue' for the main course was fairly long, it moved quickly and there was a marked absence of those cold and soggy potatoes and vegetables. Full marks for an enjoyable Sunday lunch. The puddings were especially good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BillSummary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrie M, Owner at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward welcoming you again to the Feathers Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
0.1 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
229 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
654 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
761 reviews
4.5 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
417 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Address: 6 Market Place, Holt NR25 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Holt
Price Range: $126 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers Hotel Holt, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing