We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in this B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hempstead Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hempstead Hall
Ranked #18 of 30 Holt B&B and Inns
Halesworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay in this B&B!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This B&B is in a very lovely Victorian farmhouse which has retained a lot of period features and has furniture and décor in keeping with the age of the house. It is immaculately clean and tidy. Lynda was very welcoming and friendly.
Very quiet as the farmhouse is down a long private road.
We had the room with adjoining bathroom but this was absolutely no problem as the adjoining corridor was very quiet.
Excellent breakfast.
would definitely book again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wl60mac, Owner at Hempstead Hall, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you liked the house and surroundings and enjoyed the peaceful location. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We both had a wonderful stay at Hempstead Hall situated in a lovely quiet country location.The house has a lot of character and is situated in a well kept garden that we were able to walk in.We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived and the room was very neat and tidy.
We enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast each morning which certainly filled us for the day.
A thoroughly recommended B&B.
Both of us are looking forward to staying again when we are next in Norfolk.
Thank you.
Barrie & Linda Green

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wl60mac, Owner at Hempstead Hall, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed staying with us at Hempstead Hall and walking in the gardens. It was a pleasure meeting you both and I look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a weekend break away whilst Granny watched the children and this was an ideal location - not too far away, but remote enough to feel like a proper break. The Hall is impressive looking and decorated appropriately for its setting. We loved our room, a very comfortable bed (which seems a rare thing!) and a place to sit and read and relax. The building was solid enough that we didn't feel the need to whisper and tiptoe around! Lynda made us feel very welcome on arrival, the breakfast was homely and delicious. Just minutes from Holt of Sheringham we were able to attend the Holt festival and stroll by the beach. It is a shame we didn't have more time as we hardly began to explore the area locally. We would definitely recommend this.

Room Tip: The room with chairs is very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wl60mac, Owner at Hempstead Hall, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and would recommend us. We do feel lucky that we are so quietly placed, yet close to many places of interest including Holt and the North Norfolk coast. Many thanks again.
Best wishes Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a lovely weekend in Hempstead Hall courtesy of Lynda, who is very easy to get along with and was extremely helpful throughout our short stay. The location is idyllic; the farmhouse itself is wonderfully quaint, with furniture & fittings totally in keeping with the age & history of the building itself. The gardens were beautiful, in particular the wildlife friendly flower garden, complete with very unusual wooden barbecue building (too nice to be called a shed!) which looked like something out of a Hans Christian Anderson fairy tale! What made our stay complete, however, was the wildlife and the domestic animals that wandered about the grounds. We were welcomed on arrival by Chloe the dog, who looked a bit like a red fox. We enjoyed feeding the very tame donkeys, Heidi & Jack, along with Smokey the white pony. They loved the carrots & apples we bought for them & were very gentle in their eating habits - ideal for young children. There was a duck pond, complete with mallards and geese. There were also moorhens with some adorable gangly legged chicks. A couple of French Partidges strolled about the garden and although we didn't see them, Lynda showed us photos she had taken of visiting Muntjac deer and ghostly barn owls. Our particular favourite was the large white cockeral, who strutted about cock-a-doodling loudly, as though he owned the place! Hempstead Hall is perfectly located for exploring the Norfolk Coast and we really enjoyed strolling along the beautiful beaches, along with visiting the various Nature Reserves. Nearby Holt has plenty of places for an evening meal, but we would highly recommend the Kings Head, where we enjoyed excellent meals and a superb range of cask ales. All in all, a wonderful weekend break and we would love to have stayed longer. Rest assured we will be staying at Hempstead Hall again and are already planning to book a night in October this year, en-route back home after a short break at Dunwich.

Room Tip: Our room was en-suite and located at the front of the house. It had a lovely view and was oh so peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wl60mac, Owner at Hempstead Hall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hempstead Hall and giving us such a wonderful review. I'm glad that you enjoyed a stroll around the kitchen garden, it's a lovely place to sit on a warm summers evening. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I shall look forward to seeing you again. Smokey, Jake and Heidi are already missing the carrots!!

With best wishes Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The route to Hemstead Hall was down a remote single track, but the Hall from the outside was quite impressive. Internally the hall / stairwell had many stuffed animals, including deer mounted heads, birds and ferrets with a mouse in its mouth set within a glass cabinet. The room was fairly basic with 1920,s furniture, free standing electric heater and en-suite with no shower, only shower fitting over the bath for washing hair, not fully tiled to stand up. Breakfast was a full English Breakfast, but did not include baked beans, fried bead, or hash browns. Linda was very welcoming and helpful with respect to local facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wl60mac, Owner at Hempstead Hall, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry that you were not happy with your stay and sad that you did not mention this whilst you were here.
We are peacefully set on a 300 acre arable farm, thus the ½ mile drive down our well made up private drive from the public road.
I have period furniture as Hempstead Hall is a 19th century house, I feel that modern furniture would not look appropriate in the rooms.
I’m sorry that you were disappointed not to have a shower, I advertise bathrooms, no mention of a shower, so do not understand why you expected one. The addition of hand showers last year have been a great success for guests to wash their hair.
I feel that free standing heaters are ideal, guests have the opportunity to warm their room to the temperature they require during the summer months when central heating is not required.
I have tried hash browns, fried bread and baked beans in the past and they were not very popular, however if anyone should request them when I take the breakfast order it is not a problem as I often have them for vegetarians.
Kind regards Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our second stay at Hempstead Hall Farm. We love the beautiful, peaceful location and the close proximity to Holt and Cley. This time our spacious, comfortable room overlooked the garden as did the dining room where Lynda served delicious breakfasts. We feel that this is like a home from home and will most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wl60mac, Owner at Hempstead Hall, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to see you again, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you both again. Kind regards Lynda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to relax and totally de-stress in an idyllic location, very close to beautiful Holt, Hempstead Hall is the place to stay .As you approach the house the scene is 'picture postcard' perfect. A very warm welcome from Lynda and William (and the dogs!) is always guaranteed .We have stayed in two of the rooms and these were both beautifully clean and very comfortable. The dining room is gorgeous and Lynda's breakfasts are the best. We will definitely be back again next year. Jane & Barry

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wl60mac, Owner at Hempstead Hall, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you Jane and Barry for your kind words. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us and will be back again next year. I'm glad you liked Holt, we are so lucky to have such a lovely town close by. We look forward to seeing you again. Warm regards Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holt hotels
3.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Holt
210 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#5 of 30 in Holt
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Byfords
Byfords
#2 of 30 in Holt
420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mount Farm
Mount Farm
#1 of 2 in Edgefield
69 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pigs
The Pigs
#4 of 30 in Holt
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hempstead Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hempstead Hall

Property: Hempstead Hall
Address: Hempstead Hall, Holt NR25 6TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Holt
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hempstead Hall Holt, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing