We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage - particularly if you have...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Parterre Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hindringham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage - particularly if you have small children”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, one year old daughter and I stayed in this cottage last week. As soon as we arrived, I knew it would be the perfect base for my family. The house is down a quiet road and is within walking distance of a very large park with a small playground for children.

It is a very attractive house and the front garden is beautifully maintained. The scent of the lavender if really lovely, especially when relaxing in the evening.

We settled in quickly and I was pleasantly surprised with how spacious it was inside. The kitchen is beautiful and well equipped with a dishwasher included.

A highchair, stair gates and travel cot were provided which made our car load a bit lighter! My daughter absolutely loved wandering in the gardens and I was happy to let her explore as you could shut the gate at the end of the drive.

Hindringham itself is ideally located if you want to explore the local beaches and woodland walks. Lidl and Morrisons are a five minute drive away which is great when you need to stock up. There is also a petrol station less than 5 minutes away.

I would highly recommend this lovely little cottage and I am sure that we will be returning again at some point.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a good review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Mark H
1 review
“Lovely cottage, wonderful location and amenities very good”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great for beaches, National Trust properties on the door step, lovely Norfolk villages ! The cottage was in a perfect spot with good amenities and a lovely garden (enclosed). Would recommend !

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful homely cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Such a beautiful cottage in a quiet little picturesque village. Lovely little garden that is very well maintained. Kitchen has absolutely everything you may need and the owner had thought of everything from leaving bin bags, kitchen roll, tin foil, washing liquid even a first aid kit. Was lovely to have a bottle of wine, fresh flowers and local strawberry's on arrival. There is a huge green and play park a few yards up the road which was fab for the children. Lots of wildlife around which we enjoyed. The cottage is extremely homely and people in the village were very friendly. The only suggestion i had that i forgot to write in the comments book was to leave the welcome pack in the kitchen, so visitors can see it on arrival. I unfortunately didn't notice it until day 3, after messaging the owner about a few things, which had i have seen the book, would have answered my questions :(. We will definitely book up to go again. Bedrooms were a brilliant size and 2 bathrooms is always useful. PLEASE NOTE the stairs in the property are quite steep, but there is a good handrail. There are no amenities in the village whatsoever and this property in right next door to the village primary school, cannot comment on the noise as we went during half term.
The owners left lots of leaflets and booklets on things to do out and about and the nearest beaches were amazing. I would recommend going to Holkham beach, you will not be dissappointed

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for your positive feedback - much appreciated. The cottage is in a peaceful location except for the sounds of children at play at break times during school time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Dirty barbecue
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paulh7420...
Ampthill
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Time”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As we drove up to Parterre Cottage our first thought was what a pretty little place. Not a bit of it! Inside is a spacious well laid and comfortable home.

Entrance to the cottage is via a stable door at the side of the property into a well designed kitchen. And everything works!!! To the left just inside the back door is a small lobby with plenty of useful brochures on a sideboard. Go through to a very spacious combined dining and living room. The dining table seats 6 comfortably and the living area is very welcoming with an open fireplace, comfy sofa, chairs and a large television.

From the lobby area the quirky staircase leads up to two double bedrooms and one single. Good magnifying mirror in main bedroom (essential for ladies to put on their make up). Should you need it there is a put up cot. There is an attractive bathroom on the first floor and a good shower room on the ground floor beyond the kitchen.

Outside to the rear is a pretty patio garden, a lawn at the front. The long drive takes at least three cars. The road is very quiet and a few minutes’ walk away is a large playing field for doggy walks and for teenagers to kick a football around.

Hindringham is well placed for trips to nearby Holt, many excellent pubs, restaurants, art galleries, lovely walks and, slightly further afield, stately homes.

We had a brilliant time and cannot wait for a return visit.

Date of stay: September 2014
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limehouse...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Norfolk cottage”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at the cottage with 3 adults and our dog last week. Great amenities at the cottage, making it a real home from home. Hindringham itself is a quiet village, but a 10-20 minute drive to all the nicest parts of the north norfolk coast, so great place to explore from. Coley a lovely little spot, and the larger Wells, that in comparison we found a touch busy! Great beaches at Brancaster, Wells and Holkham for the dog to race around, and the mudflats at Blakney and Stiffkey were really unique. The cottage provides a guide of the local are with some great and useful suggestions (bring lots of coins for parking). Secure garden was great for the dog in the morning and evening, and the spot really is very quiet. Overall a very peaceful and enjoyable stay. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emily467
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway *****”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A great location - away from the busy towns and very peaceful and rural. It was particularly lovely to sit out in the evening and watch the stars come out with a glass of wine or two. The accommodation is perfect for couples or a small family and very clean and well thought out. We were a short drive away from the beach with good restaurants and pubs close by.
There were useful tips on good places to eat nearby provided inside the accommodation also. The cottage itself is cosy, newly decorated and fitted out to a very high standard making it perfect for a relaxing holiday or weekend away. Through the door is a bright refreshing kitchen with plenty of natural light which then leads to a large and open dining and living area. There is a dining table making it perfect for enjoying meals whilst the living area holds a sofa and armchair, TV and a wood burning stove (which received plenty of use). The downstairs shower room is new and includes a WC and a washing machine! 3 bedrooms are found at the property, 2 double bedrooms and a single bedroom. The main double bedroom has plenty of space along with built in wardrobes and a chest of drawers. Now for my favourite part of the holiday... The upstairs bathroom complete with roll top bath. This was a real treat... I LOVE relaxing and what way is better, after a day of walking and sight seeing, to relax than a glass of bubbly in bubbles - heaven! My husband, being a plumber, was impressed with the powerful shower downstairs. All bedrooms hold plenty of storage and hold views of the back garden making it ideal for children. The cottage has a beautiful well kept garden with a picnic bench and a BBQ is available, making it ideal for meals or drinks in the summer or early autumn evenings. The parking outside cottage is not an issue at all.There was also wi-fi, which for us was an added bonus! The owners are very friendly and open to suggestions, as we noticed a recommendation book, it was clear they had acted on on them immediately. All in all, a brilliant place and we will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing