We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Happisburgh, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandybake...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The garden room lived up to and exceeded our expectations! A really lovely holiday cottage with everything you want for a relaxing holiday. The bed is so comfortable you will not want to get up. The rectory garden is beautiful and you can relax watching the guinea fowl and chickens pottering around. Fiona delivers homemade fresh bread too your door and is very helpful with lots of suggestions for where to visit. The local pubs Butchers Arms, The Star and The Lighthouse all serve good food and local ales, try the steak pie at the lighthouse amazing! Great location for visiting the broads, the wonderful empty beaches and coastal walks. We hope to return again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed warm bathroom and garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
Dear Sandy, Thank you so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay in The Garden Room. Best wishes Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharontan...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic setting and peaceful location”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just spent four days in The Garden Room and had a wonderful time. It is a tranquil setting and we were able to relax and unwind. Everything we needed was provided, including fresh bread delivered to our door each morning. All of Fiona's tips for trips out were perfect. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Dear Sharon, Thank you so much for your review. So gland you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Bestvwishes Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith N
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A wonderful week spent here in a very tastefully decorated interior with the most important aspects fully catered for. i.e. very comfortable large bed, great kitchen with everything you need. It is very well planned for visitors with plenty of hot water plus a very economical wood burner (wood provided). Beautiful location and very quiet and delicious fresh bread baked by Fiona delivered free to the door when and as needed. Fresh eggs awaited our arrival and Fiona and Peter made us feel so welcome and were extremely helpful. We will definately be going back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything especially the location and views
Liked least: Very intermittent mobile phone coverage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
Dear Judith, thank you so much for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope your husband has recovered! Best wishes Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth W
Presteigne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, spacious, well equipped and individual.”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for a week in the Winter during a particularly cold snap and found the Garden Room to be very cosy and warm..the log burner is extremely efficient and the storage heaters added plenty of background heat for the mornings. Fiona the owner, although away during our stay made every effort to ensure that we were comfortable and had left lots of homemade goodies, maps, ideas for walks and books. We managed to visit almost all of the pubs suggested locally! The room is spacious with high ceilings and the bed very comfortable. It must be lovely in the summer with the terrace and beautiful garden...and Guinea fowl and hens about. It is very conveniently situated for visiting the North and East coast and Broads. An ideal secluded grown-up holiday cottage. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burner and bed
Liked least: The sofa is not the most comfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne P
1 review
“A beautiful country retreat”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Garden Room is a perfect base for exploring North Norfolk. It is a very comfortable, well appointed apartment set in the stunning surroundings of the Old Rectory gardens. Our two dogs loved playing in the adjacent paddock. The owners were very welcoming - supplying great home made bread and advising on local amenities. We sailed the local rivers and broads and were given a wealth of information by Peter and Fiona about the region and they were accommodating about our boat and trailer.
Highly recommended !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful gardens and surroundings
Liked least: There were no low points
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay in The Garden Room
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nealehews...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FABULOUS PEACEFUL RURAL RETREAT”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary in this beautiful peaceful garden room. It is superbly equipped, clean and spacious with everything we needed to make our stay so memorable. It is in a beautiful quiet location with a gorgeous garden to enjoy the evenings also within easy reach of beaches and major roads.
Fiona and Peter were fantastic and were so helpful, fresh bread every day was greatly appreciated.
Overall The garden room is the perfect holiday retreat to explore the beauty Norfolk, and would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and accomodation
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed your holiday! Best wishes Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely retreat in the heart of rural Norfolk but only five minutes from beaches”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a real find. A beautifully presented holiday cottage set in the grounds of a lovely old rectory. The owner was really helpful delivering home made bread to us most mornings along with milk and eggs from her hens which wander freely around the gardens. A fantastic place to stay with both guests and dogs being made to feel really welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location in heart of countryside
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2018
Thanks for your review so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing