We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Albion Cottage

Albion Cottage living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Albion Cottage living room
Albion Cottage is on the left Albion Cottage front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Albion Cottage living room
Albion Cottage is on the left
Albion Cottage front door
Albion Cottage stairs
Albion Cottage Living Room with the bed settee
Albion Cottage dining room
Albion Cottage dining room
Albion Cottage kitchen
Albion Cottage kitchen
Albion Cottage conservatory
Albion Cottage conservatory
Albion Cottage double bedroom
Albion Cottage double bedroom
View of landing from the single bedroom
Albion Cottage single bedroom with extra roll out child's bed if needed
Albion Cottage bathroom from the landing
Albion Cottage bathroom
Albion Cottage bathroom
Albion Cottage bathroom
Albion Cottage courtyard
Albion Cottage courtyard
Albion Cottage gate and arch
Happisburgh village sign and a glimpse of Albion cottage
Happisburgh Church and lighthouse
Full? Try The Gig House  next door: https://www.holidaylettings.co.uk/rentals/happisburgh/1332317
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Happisburgh, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve P
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a lovely place this is! In appearance, it's like something from several decades ago, with pictures and ornaments and mad old-style wallpaper. But it is fitted with all mod-cons. Wifi which works! Couple of TVs. Modern kitchen appliances which all work. It was hot when we stayed, but I have no doubt the heating would work fine as well!

Really beautiful setting on a quiet road next to the church. Parking no problem. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach rampway. Hill House pub is very close (there's a short alleyway to the right as you look at the church - it is maybe 50 yards along there). Nice pub, good beer, decent pub grub. Not a tourist pub - and that's meant in the best possible way. Tourists are very welcome, but it is a proper pub for the locals. This is a good thing!

If you do come, there is just one little shop in the village and no cashpoint machine, so be a little bit prepared. There is a Tesco at Stalham, and that's where we stocked up on essentials. The local shop does have some stuff in emergencies.

The cottage itself is great, would fully recommend it (might want to think twice if with small kids, though, because there's a heck of a lot of potentially breakable stuff in there!). It felt like home for the weekend we were there, and that's a real compliment!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
Thank you for the helpful review and glad you liked it. The local shop is also a Post Office so most British banks allow you to get cash there but only during opening hours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billme2u
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“chocolate box lid cottage”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

You will not be dissapointed with this gem, you can see the church from the front bedroom window,it's only 20 yards away, the local pub is 2 minutes round the corner (great food)
Liz has made the cottage a Victorian delight but with all mod cons wood burning stoves are available with lots of fuel in the storage bin
You can climb the church steeple on certain Sundays check when you arrive, papers from the little village shop but only if you pre order
Great cottage Thank you Liz

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
So glad you had a good time. The views from the church tower are well worth the clime and you might find us on duty as we volunteer there. Visit the village website or Albion Cottage Facebook page for opening times
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim8967
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Victorian Cottage feel with all mod cons”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A lovely cottage decorated in a Victorian style but with all the amenities needed to make a very pleasant and comfortable holiday. Nice touch was scones with jam and clotted cream waiting for us on our arrival.

Great location right in the middle of the village next to the church and a few steps from the pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. We can recommend the pub for breakfast - they have the Happisburgh Halt Cafe in a separate building to the left of their entrance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollybell...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for our week getaway to Norfolk and cannot recommend it enough. Wonderfully decorated in a Victorian style, with some lovely pieces of furniture. Spotlessly clean and every thing you could possible need - home from home really. Liz the owner is a lovely lady, who leaves scones and clotted cream on your arrival; a special treat. We have stayed in her other rental property, The Gig House, which is also lovely, but this one is bigger, with a conservatory too. The cottage garden has table and chairs, which we were able to use in the warm sunshine and because it is enclosed, it was great for our dog to have the space to explore in safety. And of course the big attraction is being a few yards from the lovely church and the sea. Would definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoviD
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“WOW!! Can't wait to be back”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Arrived here 2nd May for 1 week with my husband and our 3 Labradors, the cottage can only be described as a dolls house, it is beautiful, it felt so much like a home the minute you walked in. We were made to feel so welcome and the village itself is idyllic, so close to the beach and everything is within a short drive away. Have booked for Christmas, but will definitely be back before even if just for a long weekend.
Thanks Liz, for letting us share such a magical place, see you soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn d
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5+ star”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband had a 3 night stay at Albion Cottage in January and were allowed to bring my dog.
The cottage was great all mod cons , central heating , lovely decor and really comfortable beds. I think the duvets and pillows were feather and down and so comfortable , must buy some , best nights sleep for ages. .
The cottage had everything , all you needed was to bring your clothing.
On arrival there was tea, coffee , cocoa , milk . a lovely suprise was the clotted cream , jam and scones which went down well and much appreciated.
Happisburgh is a charming village and the beach is close by.
We visited the Lighthouse Inn in Walcott and the Walcott cafe next door to the fish and chip shop which cooked great food and we were allowed to take the dog in both. The staff in both places were very friendly and welcoming, so nice to feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: Nothing could be faulted
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Sheen...
2 reviews
“Lovely winter break”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Cosy and comfortable cottage. Cottage is very pretty and had all we needed for an enjoyable winter break. Lots of lovely wintry walks on several of the nearby beaches. Our second visit to Happisburgh and our first to Albion Cottage - we will certainly be back and will recommend to our friends.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing