We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going...”
Review of Happisburgh Beach

Happisburgh Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going...”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pay and display car park seemed a little unwelcoming but good facilities and ramped slope to beach had clearly cost the providers. It was fascinating to look at the cliff stratigraphy and try to see prehistoric flints - we didn't. Much evidence of ongoing erosion, interesting but concerning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank archangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful & sad”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Have visited many times over the years. Each time a little bit more of peoples lives have sunk into the sand. It is still a vibrant village with a cloud forever hanging over it. As a beach it is wonderful, you can walk to cart gap, sea palling, etc. or just watch the waves break over the old groynes & rock barricade. Lovely café around the corner & toilets in the fee payable car park if in car.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sandy and quiet. Great for dogs & children.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A no nonsense simple beach with old sea defences in places. Mostly sandy. Good for walking or for the family. Car park nearby. Tea room in Happisburgh and camp site. Visit the beach before all of the cliffs fall into the sea. No lifeguards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I visited here as I have not been to this each for many years. I was thoroughly surprised at the change. My childhood memories of the beach were completely different to my visit . The large well kept car park was close to the beach, with new toilets for public use. The beach had a large slope to get to it, but my 80 year old mother managed it. The beach was sandy, with big boulders close to the cliffs to prevent erosion. I thoroughly enjoyed re exploring this beach, and having rejected it because of childhood memories, it will be in my top 5 best beaches.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Interesting beach”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped for a brief walk along the beach. It was interesting, and quite sad, to learn about the problems associated with coastal erosion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shani33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happisburgh Beach also viewed

 

Been to Happisburgh Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing