We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and service”
Review of Smallsticks Cafe

Smallsticks Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We're a friendly, family-run cafe offering a great choice of home-baked cakes and home-cooked breakfasts and lunches, as well as fish and chips. We're ideally positioned next to Cart Gap beach, with views open farmland and Happisburgh lighthouse. Dogs are welcome in our enclosed rear garden.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Smallsticks 30mins before they opened and decided to wait in car. Owner came over and said we should come inside. We would have been happy just to wait inside till they opened but not a bit of it. Within a couple of minutes we had our drinks and fantastic breakfast followed soon after. Pity we have so far to travel to go back or I would be there every Sunday

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    58
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice little surprise”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We walked along the beach from Walcott and came across this little cafe by accident I had the all day breakfast and my wife had a sandwich. Nice enclosed area out the back where our dog was very welcome. Everything was very clean and tidy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NathanNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed !!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went to Smallsticks after seeing their sign advertising fresh fish and chips on Thursday and Fridays. We naturally assumed that as they only do it on those days that the fish would be good and fresh. Wrong.!
It did not have any flavour and to be honest it appeared as though it had previously been frozen as it was quite dry and not flakey. At £4.50p per portion of fish ( which was small ) and £1.50p for the chips( home made) you would expect it to be of excellent quality sadly not, and we were so disappointed and left quite hungry. If we had eaten it in the cafe I would have complained but we had it as a take away
On a plus note , it was clean , the young lady pleasant , and the cakes looked nice.
We shall be going back to Woolcott for our fish and chips as it is always good and not over priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“70th Birthday Party”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We celebrated my husband's birthday with an evening party and hog roast at Smallsticks. The thank you letters say it all 'wonderful evening, delicious food, what lovely helpful staff'. The evening ended with the sun setting and views of the lighthouse.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Friendly place”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Food selection was decent and service was very good. We had a nice meal after a long walk and would recommend to others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Djwolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smallsticks Cafe also viewed

Happisburgh, Norfolk
 

Been to Smallsticks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing