We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!”
Review of Smallsticks Cafe

Smallsticks Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We're a friendly, family-run cafe offering a great choice of home-baked cakes and home-cooked breakfasts and lunches, as well as fish and chips. We're ideally positioned next to Cart Gap beach, with views open farmland and Happisburgh lighthouse. Dogs are welcome in our enclosed rear garden.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Visited Smallsticks today for the first time with some friends.
Super little cafe, with lovely interior and outside seating area, which was a sun trap today!
The waitress was very friendly and patient as we took our time choosing from the excellent menu! We all had different things, crab fish cakes, Cajun chicken wraps and there was fresh lobster on the menu as well, everything very reasonably priced.
Defiantly worth a visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    58
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I came to Smallsticks cafe a week ago now with my family after driving home from Cromer for a day at the seaside. We decided to stop for something to eat as we had an hours drive ahead of us and didn't fancy some processed food from a garage, and we weren't disappointed! A great location just off the beach, with a good sized car park and quaint atmosphere, where the dogs were allowed into the enclosed garden by a gate at the back. They served really different cakes, such as apple pie cake which I can highly recommend! It's nice to see that the staff are all trained in using the coffee machine properly, I can't stand getting a latte or cappuccino which is not a tight foam, but bubbly! I can safely say that's not a problem here. The service was good, the staff friendly and the food fantastic! We highly recommend Smallsticks, next time we are up in Norfolk we will be going back to stop for a proper lunch, which looked fantastic. It was nice to find somewhere with a non commercialised feel that was obviously a hit with the locals, as we left the local cycling club arrived and couldn't get through the doors fast enough!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Under new management we visited the cafe once again.
It must be a difficult act to follow from the previous proprietors who offered an almost perfect service and quality of food. I would add that we have no connection to them other than being regulars.
We were disappointed. I was not going to review our visit but having spoken to others who had revisited we all had the same thoughts and all agreed we would not use it again until we heard things had improved.

So here we go.There were nice touches such as fresh flowers on the tables and daily newspapers . There was a strong smell of fried food outside the premises and inside it was impregnating. It is now a table service with printed A4 sheets handed to you dependent on the time of your visit. The cakes all seemed to be bought in and some were tightly wrapped in cling film on the display. ( please no cling film). No fruit scones available despite having only been open an hour. Cheese scones were available! Prices had increased. The lady who took our small order had to ask for it again, didn't seem to be concentrating. The coffee was not hot and had to be drunk immediately. The new Smallsticks logo and price list on the cafe wall was difficult to read because of the poor colours chosen.
I know it must be difficult to take over a business but surely they visited the premises before taking it over and noted how this successful business was run. Perhaps they thought it wasn't successful and could do better.However we have never spoken to a local who had anything bad to say about the previous business. I just hope they can improve with constructive comment. They will have a guaranteed holiday clientele in season but need the locals out of season.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buggsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes & cream teas!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Quirky, cute spot to have afternoon tea ~ the weather was very cold but sunny while we were there, and the cafe is flooded with natural light and warmth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happisburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Welcome Watering Hole”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This little cafe is a converted farm building quite off the beaten track. A short distance away is a car park which is adjacent to the lovely unspoilt beach. The cafe does have a small car park of its own and some overflow parking on the field opposite. If you are looking for a Sunday lunch or afternoon tea finished off with a stroll along the beach this is a lovely location and the Smallsticks Barn Cafe is the place for you.

The service is good and the staff are friendly. There are lots of home made cakes to choose from, hot and cold snacks and even Sunday Roast.

We have visited in the busy summer months and sometimes have had to wait a little while even for coffee so be warned if you pick a hot summers day you may be in for a wait.

The cafe has very good toilets and the rear garden is completely fenced so nice and safe for children.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smallsticks Cafe also viewed

Happisburgh, Norfolk
 

Been to Smallsticks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing