We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Welcome Watering Hole” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smallsticks Cafe

Smallsticks Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We're a friendly, family-run cafe offering a great choice of home-baked cakes and home-cooked breakfasts and lunches, as well as fish and chips. We're ideally positioned next to Cart Gap beach, with views open farmland and Happisburgh lighthouse. Dogs are welcome in our enclosed rear garden.
Happisburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Welcome Watering Hole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This little cafe is a converted farm building quite off the beaten track. A short distance away is a car park which is adjacent to the lovely unspoilt beach. The cafe does have a small car park of its own and some overflow parking on the field opposite. If you are looking for a Sunday lunch or afternoon tea finished off with a stroll along the beach this is a lovely location and the Smallsticks Barn Cafe is the place for you.

The service is good and the staff are friendly. There are lots of home made cakes to choose from, hot and cold snacks and even Sunday Roast.

We have visited in the busy summer months and sometimes have had to wait a little while even for coffee so be warned if you pick a hot summers day you may be in for a wait.

The cafe has very good toilets and the rear garden is completely fenced so nice and safe for children.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Val E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    56
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I visited Smallsticks cafe a couple of weeks ago, it was her first time although I'd previously visited a few times before whilst working. Aside from being close to the beach and a few good walks close by we found the cafe clean, with pleasant staff and a reasonable choice for lunch. The location is off the normal tourist beaten track, and it's the sort of cafe you feel quite pleased about discovering, I've recommended it before to several friends. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gringo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

stopped here to warm up after walking on the beach. Coffee, tea and homemade scones were excellent. We will come again as meals and cakes all looked great. Outdoor space available for sitting in the sun or eating with dogs in tow

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P-Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Really lovely little cafe in a barn on the way in to the town. Great atmosphere and layout. Friendly and efficient service. We both had the full breakfast and both thoroughly enjoyed the local bacon and sausages.

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've been here a few times for a coffee/cake after walking on the beach so thought we'd give it a try for Sunday Lunch. Choice was Roast Beef, Roast Lamb or vegetarian, or a choice from the normal menu of gammon, burgers etc. I had the beef which was excellent, my wife had the lamb which she enjoyed. The kids went for beef and a burger.
Portions were large, with the veg served on a side plate. Horseradish and apple sauce also appeared. Despite being busy, we had only a short wait. The waitresses were young and very friendly.
For desert I had some home-made crumble (Blackberry season - make the most of it..) while the kids had some of the cakes they make.
We had a great meal, finished with a latte for each of the grown-ups. Its a nice atmosphere, cobbled walls with beams and a glass wall looking over a garden.
Highly recommended, and perfect for a walk on the beach to burn a few calories afterwards.
I would recommend booking. Its fairly small and the table by the door looked chilly...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkUK086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smallsticks Cafe also viewed

Happisburgh, Norfolk
 

Been to Smallsticks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing