We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff”
Review of The Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Happisburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Happisburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stopped off for a meal. Lovely food, fresh and plenty for your money. Landlord gave 4 adults and 2 dogs a lift home when taxi wouldn't come to pick us up. He refused any money for this, but I hope he found the tenner I stuffed down the passenger seat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank bonzobeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for The Hill House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I dropped in with my better half after a day out an was pleasantly surprised with this lovely bar. Superb food and superb prices. I'm going back. Warm welcome friendly locals even though I look like a tattooed yob I often get looked down on but was pleased to be treated well

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4130phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped by for a drink after walk on coast with family. Met with a very grumpy barman who couldn't be bothered to make us a hot drink despite the list in the bar of teas and coffees available. Served flat coke and lemonades instead. Grotty and dingy inside the bar, so had to escape to outside table. Won't be going back. If you're not local stay away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgieB250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Refered to the Hill House B&B by a local resident for supper at their new Carvery Dining Room.

Enjoyable meal with friendly hosts, follow by lovely dessert choices with great coffee! Evening was relaxing with the friendly atomsphere at the Pub. Stayed in the Carriage House room for the night - warm, cozy and invitng with it's history and rustic atomsphere. Began the day with a nice pub breakfast by the frieplace in the morning. All in all a nice stop and provided a good start to the day!

Room Tip: Carriage house room ground level with large wet room, plenty of space to move about and easy walking...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I took elderly relatives to the The Hill House for an early Christmas dinner and we weren't disappointed. The landlady Sue ensured we had the best seat in the pub (just across from blazing woodburner) and provided wonderful hospitality.
The food was plentiful, homemade and delicious. A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Although not everyone may agree with either my rating, or the ratings of others, it is the overall abience of the place that hits the mark. In the Norfolk country side (and especially on the coast) this sort of a pub is a rare beast. Hill house feels like an honest boozer and at the risk of sounding like an inverted snob that's a good thing.
We stayed in The Signal Box. It wasn't the greatest or the cheapest room we have stayed in but the fantastic Beer we drank after and during our average Pub dinner ensured a good nights sleep.
They lit the fire in the morning so we could enjoy it's warmth whilst we ate breakfast-nice touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Signal Box and lets say it may not be to everybodys' taste.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheppoNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went to this pub on holiday, it's clearly popular with the locals but they all gave us and our dog a very warm welcome. (You can eat in the bar and have your dog with you). There is also a restaurant at the back. We had a good roast (£7.50) and perfect crumble (£3.50) for afters. Will be going back before we go home!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank SarahG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Happisburgh
2.1 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
284 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
509 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
2.4 mi away
May Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill House

Address: The Hill, Happisburgh NR12 0PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Happisburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Happisburgh
Price Range: $30 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hill House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill House Inn has a past steeped in history. The building originally comprised three Tudor cottages circa 1540. At some time in the early 1600's, the building was knocked into one and became an ale-house. Remnants of the brewery still exist under the back yard! In or around 1710 The Hill House Inn, then known as The Windmill Inn, became a Coaching Inn on the coast route between two big ports - Kings Lynn and Great Yarmouth. The Windmill gained a certain notoriety around this time, being frequented by beach-men and smugglers, possibly as a result of which it was renamed and became The Hill House Inn. During Victorian times it acquired a more desirable and notable reputation and attracted many distinguished visitors such as Sir Arthur Conan-Doyle, who stayed here and wrote the Sherlock Holmes story, 'The Dancing Men' which is now the name of our own Micro Brewery. More recent visitors include Henry Moore, the sculptor, and such friends as Barbara Hepworth. Most recently, during the days of television production at Anglia TV in Norwich, many well known actors and casts regularly visited The Hill House Inn. The Hill House Inn is a grade II listed building and will be preserved for as long as the sea does not engulf Happisburgh. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hill House Happisburgh, Norfolk, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing