We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base to see Norfolk”
other travelers have booked this property
Courtyard with plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy meals and drinks on long summer evenings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard with plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy meals and drinks on long summer evenings.
Cosy interior with free WiFi, flat screen Smart TV, XBOX 360, blu ray player, DAB/CD with aux in. A shared heated indoor pool available for use every day from 7am to 10pm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Courtyard with plenty of outdoor seating to enjoy meals and drinks on long summer evenings.
Cosy interior with free WiFi, flat screen Smart TV, XBOX 360, blu ray player, DAB/CD with aux in.
A shared heated indoor pool available for use every day from 7am to 10pm.
The pool is very shallow at one end making it perfect for very young children.
The cottage is a converted Dairy Barn and retains many of the original structural features.
Dairy Barn is one of seven holiday cottages set in the beautiful North Norfolk countryside.
You also have access to a well stocked games room inc. snooker, pool,table tennis and table football
Washing machines and dryers are also all available for your use in the games room.
Accomodation is arranged over two Bedrooms both containing beautiful vintage wooden furniture.
Bedroom 2 with views over the courtyard and the countryside beyond.
Bedroom 2
Comprehensive and well stocked kitchen with little luxuries like a Nescafe Dolce Gusto
High ceilings give both bedrooms a light and airy feel.
Dairy Barn viewed from the courtyard entrance, the indoor swimming pool is on the left.
View from the Dairy Barn to the courtyard, swimming pool and games room to the right of this shot.
A traditional stable door allows for a cool breeze.
Views from the living room onto the courtyard (the indoor pool and games room to the right)
XBOX 360 is supplied with 2x controllers and a collection of family friendly games.
A collection of Blu Ray Disks and DVDs is also supplied.
The cottage is available year round and is especially cosy in the heart of winter and Christmas.
A winter view taken from the kitchen window.
Winter view of the paddock, taken from the courtyard entrance.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fakenham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon F
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Norfolk bolt hole”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a Norfolk cottage and came across the Diary Barn, it looked ideal, a dog friendly cottage with a games room and pool facilities included. The owners communications and access to the keys/cottage couldn't of been better, great start. Our problems started when we opened the kitchen cupboards, the previous occupants had put dirty crockery and cutlery away... Lovely, didn't plan on washing up as soon as we got there! The owners should look for another cleaner IMO, it wasn't terrible but could of and should of been a lot better, looks like they'd only changed the bedding and towels but hadn't bothered cleaning or checking anything. The glorious weather during our stay did make for a great break though, we were able to have a relaxing break once we'd washed up!.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neville H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Location good
Very disappointed with the cottage, quite a few things needed attention.
General décor very shabby, dark and gloomy, lighting inadequate. Far too much clutter in rooms. 2nd bedroom so cramped almost impossible to walk round twin beds.
Fridge/freezer absolutely minute -too small to take average size bottles or cartons .
Fridge handle repeatedly dropped off.
TV reception not always good –aerials need attention.
The car park is too far for elderly pensioners to walk carrying heavy luggage to cottage- some sort of trolley would be a great help!
Most disappointing was the Pool. It was more like a very large paddling pool. Depths were: Shallow end 2ft 2” to Deep-end 3ft 5”! Impossible to swim more than about 5 strokes, knees knocking on the bottom, I am quite small - no way could a large man swim in it! There is no shower (poor hygiene) no changing room and what looked like a dirty mark all round the rim. We were not aware of any cleaning or maintenance around the pool area.
Considering that properties with pools usually charge quite a bit more, we think this cottage was overpriced.

WE WOULD NOT RETURN!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol ann...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dairy Barn”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the lovely Dairy Barn last week with family. The cottage had all home comforts and we really loved the pool and play room. Our granddaughter loved watching out for the rabbits and ponies that lived in the fields surrounding us.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
1 review
“A lovely holiday cotttage”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage, we were glad we booked. Children loved the pool. We didn't need a dishwasher (slept 4) but would hope the bigger lets have one. Children must have been worn out as they both slept till 6am. A luxury for us!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galvin201...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"FANTASTIC" The owners went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful.”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We will definitely be going back again! and have already been telling our family and friends about it !

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrstrett
Wighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Excellent stay held a small party in the games room everyone enjoyed them self.will be staying there again

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing