We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Large kitchen
Open Fire
Comfy Double Bedroom
Modern kitchen with eye-level oven, fridge-freezer and washing machine
Snug sittingroom with TV and DVD
Shower room
Shared garden
Local walk, beautiful any time of year
Holkham beach, just a 20 minute drive away
Fakenham Market and Auction every Thursday, 10 minutes drive away
Beach Huts at Wells-Next-The-Sea, just 20 minutes drive away
A walker's paradise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fakenham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Delightful”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

set in beautiful countryside within easy reach of wonderful coastal areas,
Lavender Cottage, comfortable, neat, clean and well equipped provided a perfect base from which to enjoy a varied dog ( and people! ) friendly walking break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A well equiped 1 bedroom cottage, set in lovely countryside.”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had an enjoyable 5 day stay at Lavender Cottage, which has all you need for a good stay. Chris and Pat are excellent hosts making sure that we had all we needed. The immediate countryside was beautiful and we were only a 20 minute drive to the lovely beaches on the Norfolk North Coast. So the cottage was well placed for some great walks with our Spinone.
Our only minor criticisms are:
1. That the cottage felt a bit damp after a couple of wet days. In particular the bathroom would benefit from some constant background heating e.g an electric towel rail. There are sufficient electric radiators in the rest of the cottage.
2. We could access the wifi provided but it was so faint/slow that we could not download e-mails or access the TripAdvisor website (we are also Holiday Lets owners).
Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would stay again if we are coming to this part of Norfolk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was excellent for dog walking.
Liked least: Slight damp feel after wet days, and wifi unable to allow us to download e-mails and access the TripAdvisor website.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2018
Thank you for your useful feedback. A towel rail has been installed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10pippa
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all rounder”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage with everything you need. Very friendly warm hosts and lovely welcome with biscuits and breakfast bits really nice touch.
We stayed for a long weekend along with our dog who settled really well there and although the weather was a bit rubbish we enjoyed the local surroundings & walks.
Would highly recommend & hope to stay again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2015
We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully with better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyCar...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We recently stayed in this cottage for a long weekend with our dogs. Everything about our stay was fantastic including the location. If you enjoy walks in the countryside and along the beach this cottage is in the ideal location. Thank you Pat for making us feel so welcome. I would defiantly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally L
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lavender cottage provided a perfect haven for a few days escape. The owners were so welcoming and knowledgeable about walking in the local area, including the North Norfolk Coast path and fantastic beaches at Wells and Holkham. The cottage itself was spotlessly clean and well-equipped with everything we needed. We really enjoyed unwinding at the end of the day with a cuppa in front of the open fire in the kitchen. We will definitely return, hopefully next time for longer!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing