We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sculthorpe Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fakenham
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here one night prior to visiting the Houghton Revisited exhibition, only 5/6 miles away and well worth going to. The mill is located a few hundred yards off the main A148 at the end of a quiet lane by the gently flowing River Wensum - a really attractive position. We were warmly greeted on arrival which extended to all the staff we met. We had a large twin room (No. 1) overlooking the mill race. Recently refurbished the room was very comfortable and had a good sized bathroom and all the usual kit that you would expect. We had a good dinner in the restaurant in the evening - good selection of pub grub, well presented and nicely cooked. Breakfast too was more than adequate. I had a lovely scrambled egg on toast, freshly made and very tasty. The outside paintwork on the windows could do with a bit of attention.
Overall we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iveltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    45
    6
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
52
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a quaint olde worlde hotel in a beautiful setting. There are only 6 rooms. Ours was very comfortable and we loved waking-up to the sounds of the country.
The staff could not have been friendlier nor more attentive.
Breakfasts are individually cooked to order and very nice.
The restaurant however is the one weak spot. On our first night they were not too busy and we had a lovely meal. We were so impressed we decided to eat there the next night and the experience was quite different. We waited the best part of an hour for our starter. When the main courses arrived they fell far short of the first nights quality.
We would certainly stay here again, but would be more careful about using the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
461 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stopped by on the off chance with friends early evening, we were greeted with a friendly smile from a member of the staff, the food is of good quality at reasonable prices, there are small rooms where you can eat in the bar area, all very quaint.
Sculthorpe Mill is in a lovely location beside the river, well away from the main road, would love to return for another meal some time.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent two very pleasant nights at Sculthorpe Mill. We had a room overlooking the stream , where we watched swans and a heron . The rooms looking in land had beautiful views of the countryside , with cows and horses grazing happily. After eating delicious meals in the evening , we walked along lovely country lanes and were lucky enough to watch Barn Owls flying around! The staff were all pleasant and helpful. A lovely experience!

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the stream , but my brother looked in land where we watched cows and hors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

just spent a pleasent night at the Mill (a birthday present from our daughter) we were very happy with everything ,staff, meals, room with four poster bed and location all great and all at a reasonable price . would love to visit again sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A renovated old mill building in the backwaters of Norfolk. Overlooking mill pond
Large free car park
With a nice restaurant and quaint rooms with en suite facilities
Pleasant staff, full breakfast
Good beer as well !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We've stayed here about once a year for several years and have never been disappointed. It's an old mill and in a lovely quiet location by the river with just a few cottages nearby. I can't understand reviews that have described Sculthorpe Mill as unfriendly, because we've always found all of the staff very friendly and welcoming. The rooms have recently been renovated and our room (room 1) was light and roomy (it used to be a bit dull at times but it's much better now). All of the rooms have relaxing countryside views but be aware that they are on the second floor and there is no lift (it is an old mill!), but the staff will offer to help you with your luggage. The food is very nice and reasonably priced - it's not at the really cheap price of some pub chains but it's not down to their level of quality either. Breakfast is cooked to order and is much better than having to use a luke-warm buffet that's sat in grease for the last hour.
If you're used to staying in big chain hotels, don't expect 24/7 room service, the bar to be open until the early hours of the morning or a 20z steak (of unknown origin) for next to nothing in price. If you want a small, family run place to stay or eat in a relaxed atmosphere, we can thoroughly recommend this hotel.
(TIP: If you rely on your sat nav to get you there, make sure it isn't trying to approach down a lane from the south. That takes you to an impassable and dangerous ford. Go along the A148 and you'll find the Mill signposted down a side road.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fakenham
0.0 mi away
Wensum Lodge Hotel
Wensum Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fakenham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.0 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sculthorpe Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sculthorpe Mill Hotel

Property: Sculthorpe Mill Hotel
Address: Lynn Road | Sculthorpe, Fakenham NR21 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fakenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fakenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sculthorpe Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sculthorpe Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sculthorpe Mill Hotel Fakenham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing