We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Cosy & Very Welcome”

Bay Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fakenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Fakenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warm, Cosy & Very Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Come rain or shine...or, in this case, snow...a warm welcome again from Sarah and Paul as we arrived in blizzard conditions and near darkness after a long road trip to Fakenham, soon to be rejuvinated by the all round bonhomie and charm they and their home have on tap, 24/7.

Beautiful room and surrounds, the usual generous supply of lavender shortbread, comfortable beds, lots of hot water and breakfasts that could last the day-plus, on this occasion, a quite wonderful supper as we chose to eat in.

Its the perfect North Norfolk base and a lovely home to share and feel part of. Delicious on all counts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldHarnser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
45
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having obtained tickets for the Thursford Show we then looked for somewhere to stay and chose Bay Tree Cottage.

We could not have made a better choice. Sarah and Paul made us feel so welcome. Everywhere was lovely and clean and our room was spacious and the ensuite facilities excellent.
The breakfast was superb. A great choice to start with and then English or Continental.

It was easy to find in a quiet road and our room was at the back of the house overlooking the garden. It was a terrible night weatherwise but when we arrived the room was lovely and warm and cosy.

There is nothing you could possibly find fault with and next time we visit the show we will certainly stay at Bay Tree Cottage.

Room Tip: Room was very quiet as it was at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Richard and Valerie
Sarah and Paul are very congenial Hosts. A very warm welcome is assured and the accommadation is very clean and comfortable with Tea/Coffee available. This B & B offers excellent Full English Breakfast (Sarah even found some Black Pudding!) as well as cereals/toast etc. Ideal for visiting The Thursford Christmas Spectacular/Collection and will be excellent for touring the area in more pleasant weather. We thoroughly recommend this property, Our stay was only for one night but we would certainly visit Sarah & Paul again. Thank You

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANBURY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

A very warm welcome awaits you at this excellent B&B. Comfortable clean spacious twin
bedded room, with great on-suite facilities.
Our host Sarah served us the Full English breakfast with a starting choice of cereals, fresh fruit, coffee/tea, toast & preserves. In a charming room overlooking their back garden.
Off street parking. Fairly close to Fakenham Town Centre. We would highly endorse previous
reports, and hope to stay again when in the North Norfolk Area

Room Tip: No choice all A!+
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for Saturday night B&B. Bay Tree Cottage is very convenient for the town centre and easy to park outside. The welcome was very friendly; Sarah and Paul are attentive hosts but are careful to give you space and privacy. The room and whole house is immaculate and very tastefully decorated. Every facility was provided; lemon shortbread biscuits were a nice touch. The shower was great, the beds comfortable and the cooked breakfast, which started with fresh fruit salad, was delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had a lovely time at Sahra & Paul's B&B. Lovely food and a very warm welcome, would encourage anyone who visits Norfolk to stay here. Bedrooms spotless and very wecolming. Breakfast had absolutely everything you could want. A very comfortable and enjoyable experience..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smax51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Warm and friendly hosts; lovely home and room; sumptuous breakfasts, Bay Tree Cottage has it all-and more. It really did feel like coming home, especially after two long days spent in the field (family celebrations near-by!) when all we wanted to do was switch off and escape, which is exactly what we were able to do...

Sarah and Paul are engaging, friendly, considerate hosts whose company and conversation we will miss. Their home is so atmospheric and full of calming energy, everything 'fits' and falls into place. The breakfasts are amazing whilst the shortbread...well, make sure you try some! A perfect escape which doesn't merely 'tick boxes' but redefines them. Thankyou!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldHarnser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fakenham
0.5 mi away
Wensum Lodge Hotel
Wensum Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fakenham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sculthorpe Mill Hotel
Sculthorpe Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fakenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
4.3 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melody House Bed & Breakfast
Melody House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Great Ryburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Elmham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 2 in Great Ryburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bay Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 17 Sculthorpe Road, Fakenham NR21 9HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fakenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fakenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Tree Cottage is the family home of Paul and Sarah Hughes, in the old market town of Fakenham, north Norfolk. We provide friendly and comfortable accommodation (non smoking) which we believe combines high quality with great value for money. All guests are welcomed with home made biscuits and flowers in their rooms. We have been here eight years and we get regular repeat business. We aim to make your stay a very pleasant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Tree Cottage Bed And Breakfast Fakenham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing