We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really liked the food”

The Crown at Burston
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Diss
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really liked the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited the pub on spec on a Wednesday on our holiday. Really well looked after by the barman and the food from the specials board was very good. The pub is quiet so we sat in the bar. It is also a local but that did not detract from our enjoyment.

Liked it so much we went back on Saturday. A few more diners so we sat in the restaurant. The food again was really nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ApepperAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    55
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

There was a specials board serving a variety of food as well as an a la carte menu. There was plenty of choice to suit many different tastes. Overall food was good but a bit on the pricey side for a pub. The portion sizes of the desserts looked very good although we did not have room will make sure I leave room for one the next time I visit. Staff were friendly although service was a bit hit & miss.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scratbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, good atmosphere - well worth a detour to visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

What can I say - this is honestly the best country pub I have been to in a long time! A good range of ales on tap and reasonably priced, home-cooked food makes it a winner in my eyes.

The pub interior is rustic, welcoming and very comfortable - tiled floors, big fireplace, lots of wood etc. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive and the menu is varied and caters for all tastes. If you like desserts, definitely leave room for pudding too!

It's not the cheapest pub to eat at, by any means, but you get what you pay for and we've eaten out there a few times now with each meal being an absolute delight.

The pub also has a good, enclosed beer garden with lighting - perfect for warm evenings. Give it a go - you won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good pub atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Visited for a wedding held in the garden so may not be that representative of normal occassions.
Found the staff helpful, (nothing was too much trouble), the food excellent and the general atmosphere relaxed and friendly.
Will try to visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor atmosphere nice food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went on a Thursday recently, obviously a bad night to go as it was a local buskers night and there seemed to be a party on. Food was ok, very expensive for a village pub, and the service not great at all. To top things off the pubs atmosphere was noisy and slightly intimidating, which got worse as the night went on. I don't think I will be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown at Burston also viewed

 

Been to The Crown at Burston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing