We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent meal”

Weavers Wine Bar & Eating House
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Diss
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited Weavers recently for a friends 90th birthday and my Grandsons 21st. The meals on both occasions were excellent - couldn't fault anything. Again Weavers well done!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dissonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    42
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Visited Weavers for a romantic dinner on Saturday night and it was a fantastic evening - food, wine, service and atmosphere was just perfect and reasonably priced. So lucky to have this restaurant in Diss. Thoroughly recommend.

ps. if there is just two of you request the booth by the window on the ground floor!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissNorfolk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickleburgh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 times and 4 disappointments”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

In my experience children (well-behaved children) were either unwelcome or, as happened to me the first time, they were refused entry. On my subsequent visits, at the suggestion of friends, thefood was nothing special and the service indifferent.

Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canalboater, Owner at Weavers Wine Bar & Eating House, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
So sorry that you feel this way about Weavers, we certainly do not have a problem with children in the restaurant, in fact we have a 4 year old daughter ourselves and have a children's menu available at all times.

After 25 years of serving meals to the people of Norfolk and Suffolk and beyond we are thankful that most people enjoy their dining experience with us and thus are obviously disappointed that on the times you have visited us we have not met your expectations. We work hard to offer our customers quality meals at value for money prices, served by friendly staff (many of whom have worked for us for a decade or more), we hope that should you come to eat with us again that your fifth meal with us will be a more positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

It had been 12 years since last we visited "Weavers" and I've no idea why that should have been. We had fond memories of visits to this restaurant previously but when booking for dinner with friends it was in the back of our mind...had it changed, had the standards slipped, was the food still as good ?
No need to have worried. The food and menu were of "Fine Dining" standard, cooked to perfection, served in a friendly yet courteous manner in what can only be described as a truly beautiful and tastefully decorated restaurant.
The menu was varied and catered to all those who appreciate the better things in life. The wine list is varried and there's a fine selection of pudding wines to complement the selection of home made desserts. I was also delighted that the cheese board had been carefully constructed offering more than the supermaket standards.
One thing though...Please don't tell too many people about it in case it gets difficult to get a table,
On a serious note. We shall be returning on a regular basis and can not recommend William Bavin and his staff at Weavers highly enough.
I don't think it's somewhere to visit with young children.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ContentedDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our default choice for a quality meal in Diss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We've eaten at Weaver's numerous times over the past few years and are never disappointed. From birthday meals with 10+ friends to intimate meals for two the food and standard of service is always exemplary.

Reasonably priced too and as something of a wine snob I've never been left wanting there either.

Our default choice for good reason.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weavers Wine Bar & Eating House also viewed

 

Been to Weavers Wine Bar & Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing