We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Food, lovely surroundings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Cottage

Spice Cottage
Ranked #23 of 67 Restaurants in Diss
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to SPICE COTTAGE, an authentic Indian & Nepalese restaurant where we offer the finest Indian & Nepalese dishes to savor and enjoy. Whether you are looking for a delicious meal or takeaway we can cater for all your needs.SPICE COTTAGE have been established in Diss since 2008. To those who have are new to the Spice Cottage experience we would like to briefly introduce ourselves; to those who have dined with us we would like to express our gratitude for making us into one of the most successful Indian & Nepalese restaurants in this town .5 star food hygiene ratingThis contemporary modern establishment with provide our dinners a truly 5 star experience. The most beautiful cooking of Indian & Nepalese cuisine and its true tastes are getting popular and growing faster each and every day here in the UK. So we decided to introduce some dishes from almost every part of the sub continent, with a wide variety of dishes in our extensive and exciting menu.The Management of Spice Cottage are dedicated to providing you with the true taste of Indian & Nepalese cuisine with our highly qualified and professional chef who have worked in many top class restaurants over 20 years of experience and urging you to try our authentic food.If there is any dish is not included in menu please let us known our highly qualified experienced chefs are more than happy to help you.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Food, lovely surroundings.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went to try this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised by the interior, had lovely surroundings. Service was very attentive. Food great, could do with being slightly larger portions as didn't feel as full up as I would have liked. All in all a very pleasant restaurant, within the town centre.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beaniebaby2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    38
    12
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The building is very old and has a good oldie touch with open beams etc. It has nice seating areas with good quality table linen. Comfortable chairs and a lounge area with leather sofas. We went on a Monday evening and it was very quiet but I must say the service was very good. Food served about the right time, very polite and well looked after. We enjoyed our meal and probably feel it was reasonably priced for an Indian restaurant ( the menu and prices are on their web site) we would recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julieb005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“How much?”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I can not fault the quality of the food served up here, and the menu is vast. BUT... it is extremely expensive for the tiny portions that are served up.I have been to many Indians around and there are lots of very high quality at a much more reasonable price. and to be honest the waiting staff are a lot to be desired, quite abrupt and wouldn't engage in small talk. The restaurant was empty so it wasn't that they were rushed off their feed. We all agreed we would not be going back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkBlossomBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian in Norfolk & Suffolk”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was best experience about Indian and Nepalese food in spice cottage. I highly recommend spice cottage
Everyone must try this place for true Indian and Nepalese experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 705Jh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Quality Meal - but more expensive than I thought for Diss”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife & I went here after not being able to get seated in Thatchers Needle, we were able to get a table with no issues on a weekday around 18:00.

The service was good, the food was better than I last visited and the atmophere was good considering the age of the building .....

We had a 2 starters , 2 mains and some sides with a couple of drinks and the bill came to just over £50.00.... which i do think was rather high for Diss.

As i have said the aulity of the food was rather good, so that was acceptable for the cost - I have read other reviews which have indicated the food not to be acceptable, so i could understand others being unhappy and low scoring their experience.

My only real niggle on the experience is due to the nature and age of the building, the ventilation or extraction is not great. This means you will be putting your clothes in the washing machine after you have visited as the aroma of the food follow you.

We will visit again before christmas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorrosmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Spice Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing