We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with food.”

The Saracens Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Diss
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pub with food.”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely local pub and they do great food. We went with daughter boyfriend and granddaughter for a meal. We could not fault it. The service is traditional and great. If you want restaurant service leave the saracen alone. It is great pub and great food. Love it. Keep it paul and colin.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shabbychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I went here for dinner on Valentine's evening. I know it is a pub, and they may not have celebrated Valentine's like a restaurant, but we didn't even have a flower on the table. The food was lovely, but unfortunately the service wasn't the best! I hate to write a bad review as they said they were busy in the bar area but we were one of two customers in the restaurant and waited a long time for our plates to be collected and to get/pay the bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eeeeessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Good Value”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a meal at lunchtime with family and the food was excellent. Fantastic value for money and very good service. Only slight downside was being seated in the main bar instead of in the dining room which did lessen the atmosphere slightly. Was also seated next to the door so was draughty and cold at times. Would definitely go back but would prefer better seating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best steak i've had for years.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

10 friends for yet another night of celebrating a dear friends 50th. late booked, no problem, i put you in the restaurant, you can dec it out if you like.
made welcome from the start. drinks ordered, starters and main ordered. quick as you like. all had something different, no two choice meal because of numbers. i had 12oz rump char-grilled. i used to run a steak house and i know my meat. best steak i've had in years. cooked to perfection. full of flavor , Colin our host came and checked all was well and everyone ,at the time and since how great it was . we will be back. wonderful and local. x

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryHolingsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never Less than Excellent”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We've eaten here quite a few times over the past decade or so and have always been delighted with the experience. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive, the ambience of this ancient pub is superb, and the food - albeit somewhat on the expensive side - is plentiful, tasty and from an extensive menu. I can't fault it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saracens Head Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Saracens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing