We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing meal at The Half Moon Pub, Rushall”
Review of The Half Moon Inn

The Half Moon Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diss
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Half Moon Inn
Ranked #13 of 15 Diss B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My partner and I recently went to the Half Moon for dinner, hoping for a quiet romantic meal where we could have a good chat over some good food and wine.

However, the place was packed, and the table layout was appalling - all far too close together. We were put in an awful lobby space with no character and were silent the whole meal due to people sitting so closely to us. No privacy!

Also far too close to the kitchen - we could hear the staff shouting orders to one another and rushing past our table.

Food was OK - nothing special. Disappointed with the lack of good vegetarian meals - no salads!!

It was such a shame...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eferg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for The Half Moon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

The menu is pub grub from the 1960's. Plates full of chips and salad with the meat or whatever hard to find under the pile. No refined dining here and the choice on the menu is quite extensive but very little home cooked. Lots of frozen food deep fried or microwaved.
Have been twice recently and disappointed both times. The owner did not make any attempt to greet us or enquire if we had enjoyed our meals despite not being very busy. One of the staff was positively rude when serving our coffee so we will not be going back again. The menu and attitude needs to come in to the 21st century!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our family booked my and I in for Anniversary dinner, asking for a small table for two preferibly in a corner, yes all booked was the reply.
We made our visit, only to be told there was only one table availible for us, This was a table in a small room within the receptionarea, where we had no privacy, 1 yard away we had to listern to staff of three talking about everyones issues and also talking about customers.
The place was far from clean and the staff were unhelpful.
The food was pre-perpared and heated in the micro oven .
I would advise anyone considering this place to think again, am sure there are much better places in the area.

Room Tip: Do not dress in best clothes, if you decide to take a chance.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 503EnglishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed at The Half Moon twice and as the price went, the chalet accommodation was nothing fancy, but clean, with the option of clean towels every day.

The food was amazing and having breakfast and dinner there, lunch was not a meal I had at all during my stays! A great choice but huge portions. Perhaps a little less and then customers would be encouraged to have a starter and/or a pudding. Brilliant home made pate, steaks cooked perfectly to order, and the most wonderful puddings - I can recommend the crumbles.

For a pub, it is quite quiet too and once closed the place is nigh on silent. Enough in the country but close enough to main roads to all the major places of interest.

I am so glad it is still going strong.

Anyway, better late than never.

PS: I have selected the earliest date but my stays were way before that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal-plenty of vegetables cooked perfectly with our Sunday lunch today. Staff most pleasant and helpful especially as we 3 arrived to an almost full house and without booking and were warmly welcomed. Well done Debbie for an excellent hostelry!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Eloise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely Warm Friendly staff, Fabulous Food,Large generous portions of good ole traditional pub grub.
Stayed in one of there chalets style rooms, lovely and warm, nice and cosy. No wifi in rooms but managed to get good internet access in pub whilst enjoying large glass of wine,by a lovely log fire.
Would highly recommend, looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisy958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We only stayed one night in the Half Moon we were recommended to go there because of the food, which is good if you like massive portions of typical pub food so I guess no complaints there.But at breakfast they had run out of eggs....... BUT it is the rooms that let them down badly we were in the outbuildings which are converted from a barn and it was FREEZING in April! I don't know how they could have passed building regs as I don't think they have any insulation whatsoever. Bit like sleeping in your shed.The room felt damp and unwelcoming, the decor is shabby and the shower door had broken glass in one panel. Needless to say I shan't be visiting again BUT if you are looking for a hearty meal with no airs and graces do give it a go.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salvagebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diss hotels
4.2 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
232 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#9 of 15 in Diss
97 reviews
4.5 mi away
Strenneth
Strenneth
#1 of 1 in Fersfield
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grove Flock Farm Bed and Breakfast
8.0 mi away
The Dickleburgh Crown
6.3 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Half Moon Inn

Address: Half Moon The Street | Rushall, Diss IP21 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Diss
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Diss
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Half Moon Inn Diss, UK - Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing