We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Half Moon Inn

The Half Moon Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Half Moon Inn
Ranked #14 of 16 Diss B&B and Inns
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal-plenty of vegetables cooked perfectly with our Sunday lunch today. Staff most pleasant and helpful especially as we 3 arrived to an almost full house and without booking and were warmly welcomed. Well done Debbie for an excellent hostelry!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eloise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    4
    9
    4
See reviews for
9
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely Warm Friendly staff, Fabulous Food,Large generous portions of good ole traditional pub grub.
Stayed in one of there chalets style rooms, lovely and warm, nice and cosy. No wifi in rooms but managed to get good internet access in pub whilst enjoying large glass of wine,by a lovely log fire.
Would highly recommend, looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We only stayed one night in the Half Moon we were recommended to go there because of the food, which is good if you like massive portions of typical pub food so I guess no complaints there.But at breakfast they had run out of eggs....... BUT it is the rooms that let them down badly we were in the outbuildings which are converted from a barn and it was FREEZING in April! I don't know how they could have passed building regs as I don't think they have any insulation whatsoever. Bit like sleeping in your shed.The room felt damp and unwelcoming, the decor is shabby and the shower door had broken glass in one panel. Needless to say I shan't be visiting again BUT if you are looking for a hearty meal with no airs and graces do give it a go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salvagebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Diss hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Having read the previous review we were a bit concerned as to what to expect but all I can say is that we had a wonderful time. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble but they also kept out of the way so that you could really relax. The rooms were clean and exactly what you would expect from a country pub with adjacent chalets. It's probably not for business trips but hotels in nearby diss and norwich would be more suited for this. The food was good and huge portions which is great after a long days walking in the countryside. No phone signal in the room was a blessing for us, we only had to walk out into the car park to get enough signal for a phone call! Overall we had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone who wants a rural get away! The resturant was full on both wednesday and thursday nights so I think that speaks for itself- if you want a 3 course meal a tip would be to share the starter and desert (the waitress suggested we do this on our second night).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnyd2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was our second visit to th half moon, all the tables were full and the waitresses were very attentive. The food portions are rather large but still of good quality, so go hungry.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gembuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liveaboards
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

We were in one of the outside 'chalets' which was freezing cold when we arrived - though the friendly and helpful owner/manager put an electric heater in immediately we mentioned it. But this was really a grubby, tatty old room...not really fit for letting out in 2011. None of the mobile networks we had would work and there was no landline in the rooms so we were incommunicado to the phone. Same story with Internet -- no WiFi, or Ethernet/ADSL and neither 3 nor Orange dongles saw a network present at all. It really is 'getting away from it all' -- literally -- which might be nice for a holiday(?) but we usually need phone and Internet for our affairs and these days even get a connection crossing the Bay of Biscay on Brittany Ferries, so there is no real excuse.

The food is a hard call. It wasn't for us because the portions were so large -- sounds ungrateful but for us it was like eating from a trough of food, not a plate. However, the restaurant was packed full with locals who were clearly enjoying it all and the prices were very good considering quality and quantity(!). Again, staff really friendly in the restaurant, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast (cooked) was not very good -- fried breakfast was over-cooked. We were able to park near to the chalet door. The shower worked perfectly but the door fell off opening/closing (a maintenance issue, beyond useful life). The TV was like something out of the early 1970s with fuzzy terrestrial four channels only.

Very over-priced, for the room, for that very rural location, we thought. It wasn't for us and we won't go back but if you don't need phone, Internet, TV, like retro-rooms in poor condition then, this, in the summer, might be for you especially if you can eat at one meal as much as most normal people would eat in over a day.

Remember, the restaurant WAS full so they must be satisfying their local market.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diss hotels
6.3 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#7 of 16 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Dickleburgh Crown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Strenneth
Strenneth
#1 of 1 in Fersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hazel Barn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Half Moon Inn

Property: The Half Moon Inn
Address: Half Moon The Street | Rushall, Diss IP21 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Diss
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Diss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Half Moon Inn Diss, UK - Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing