We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgia Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Park hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Park hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Diss
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nostalgia Trip”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Came to visit Diss , not been here for 20 years . Had a lovely overnight stay at this hotel. Friendly , helpful staff. Arrived at 12, knowing check in is at 2pm asked if we could leave our bag , was told room was ready. Had a lovely clean double room overlooking an immaculate garden. A friendly gardener told us all about the garden,. Unfortunately the weather was cold and wet on our arrival, and we couldnt work the heating or hot water, but one call to reception and within minutes it was sorted. An ample breakfast was served next morning in a relaxed atmosphere. A good selection. Checked out at 10 am , hotel booked us a cab for our train to station . Will definitely be back in the summer

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stitchylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    56
    25
    7
    10
See reviews for
61
50
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for a friend's birthday weekend. All the staff were amazingly helpful, friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a smile.

Breakfast included fruit juices, cereals and fruit and various cooked options ranging from full English to Eggs Benedict, Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, bacon sandwiches etc. I had the Eggs Benedict and the eggs were poached to perfection. The only minor gripe I would have was that it was served on a foccacia (bit to herby for breakfast perhaps?) and not on a plain muffin. I had the full English the second day, and again eggs fried to perfection, delicious sausages, beans, fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon and fried bread. Big pots of tea were placed on the table with large baskets of toast to share.

The bar in the hotel has a good selection of drinks at competitive prices and bar food was excellent. I had prawn and advocado sandwich which was huge, accompanied with coleslaw, salad and chips/crisps. They also offer a 2 course set menu.

My room had recently been refurbished.(Room 205) had a king size bed, was huge with 3 padded chairs and a double (new) shower.

The windows had venetian blinds and curtains, so rooms were very dark ensuring a good sleep. The bed was really comfortable and bedding was good quality.

It was a warm weekend, and even though I had the windows open and it was facing on to the road, I had a very peaceful sleep.

The hotel can be a little warm when the weather heats up, but no different to any other hotel in the same situation. The rooms do have a electric fan and when I queriesd it with Reception they did say you could have another one on request.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting Diss.

I got a taxi to the station on sunday morning which cost £4, so the short distance from the station isnt a problem.

Room Tip: If you want a king size bed, brand new HUGE shower and comfy chairs choose room 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiraz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

After 130km ride from Cromer this was a well needed stop and the staff were welcoming from the start. I was in room 211 which was more than adequate with a decent shower. Ate in the restaurant which was delicious; a double rack of ribs for price of one on Thursdays! Will definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A very good Sunday Carvery at the Park Hotel Diss, 9 of us ranging in age from 4 to 67 spent around 6 hours, eating drinking and relaxing with the youngsters well catered for, very friendly staff, excellent food, a very pleasant time for all, with the little ones safe in the garden/play area. My first time there (since daughters wedding recption in 1986) , but we will return soon and regularly

Room Tip: Living local, sleeping accomodation was not used
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I recently spent a day here on a business course and right from the outset there were problems.

The decor was tired and dated and stains on the floor, the furniture was old, worn and uncomfortable.

The toilets were old and dirty (the hand driers did not even work properly)

The staff were difficult to find and once located rude & abrupt

We were due to have coffee, tea and biscuits at the mid mornign and afternoon breaks, but all w were served was warm tap water and cold tea. We repeatedly chased for coffee and biscuits and were rudely dismissed as the tea was sufficient.

The business lunch for 9 was in the form of 1 small plate of tuna sandwich quarters and a small bowl of unflavoured crisps to share amongst everyone

There was no projector in the meeting room and to reach the toilets we had to interrupt another meeting room

Not impressed at all and certainly will not be returning

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D, Owner at The Park hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am sorry that your views on the Park Hotel were not what you expected.
I am sorry you felt the decor was tired and dated. We constantly are updating, decorating and adding new furniture to keep it up to date.
When meetings are booked, all food and equipment etc are ordered and provided as necessary.
Toilets are provided in the main reception and close to other meeting rooms, which do not require interruption to other meetings the sandwich platter was ordered when the meeting room was booked. We do provide other buffets at various prices.
Projectors are available upon request, if this was ordered and not provided I apologise this was an oversight on our part.
I do hope that you will try us again, we provide many meeting rooms a week for various companies that do return time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

we stayed in hope cottage next to the hotel visiting family in the area. I don't normally write reviews but our stay was so good I felt compelled too. the staff are a credit to the hotel nothing was too much trouble they were all so welcoming. the breakfast at the hotel was excellent and the lady that served us did custom breakfast for the three kids which they loved. the cottage is brilliant value and is modern with all the little touches but still kept its period features will definitely be back in the future and hope to stay longer next time . a huge thank you from us all x

Room Tip: we stayed in hope cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 61Michelle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, Suffolk
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at The Park for a friend's Birthday Dinner. We were very impressed with everything that the Hotel had to offer from the lovely spacious room (Room 14) to the high quality food and lovely friendly Staff.

Our friends Jono and Lee are both regulars at the Hotel and arranged the booking for us along with twenty or so other friends.

We cannot emphasise strongly enough the quality of the food, we are very keen cooks and struggle to find the same standard when eating out but our meal on Saturday night was faultless. All our party had a beef and pork plated roast with lovely fresh vegetables and generous amounts of roast potatoes and really "proper" home made gravy. I can honestly say that it was the best I have ever had outside our home. Everyone left clean plates a testimony to the quality of food and satisfaction from all the diners. The dessert course and choice of cheeses was also equally as good as was the quality and choice at Breakfast the next morning.

The Bed was also super comfortable, the linen was all of top quality and the room was spotlessly clean.

They do some fantastic deals at the Hotel with a great offer for Valentines, if we were not already booked elsewhere I would be very tempted to return.

Thanks to everyone at The Park Hotel for a thoroughly enjoyable stay and thanks to Jono for introducing us to a home from home, we will be back again soon!

Room Tip: The rooms in the seperate house are lovely we had Room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubbotrelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diss
2.4 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
2.3 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
302 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,411 reviews
8.5 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
87 reviews
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park hotel

Property: The Park hotel
Address: 29 Denmark Street, Diss IP22 4LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Diss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Diss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel offers 19 en suite rooms. Free Wi Fi in the public areas and rooms. Bar, patio, terrace with childs play area, restuarant, and large funtion room. We are open all day everyday for food and drink to redidents and non residents. The hotel is within walking distance to the town centre of Diss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Park hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Hotel Diss
Park Hotel Diss
The Park Hotel Diss, UK - Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing