We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage near The Broads”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Acle, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kung-fu_P...
Cambridge, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage near The Broads”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Stables. On arrival, we received a warm welcome by Ceri and a generous welcome basket. We were delighted with presentation of the property, everywhere looked clean and in great condition. The central sitting room had a lovely airy feel with its high ceiling and mezzanine level above. Our daughter was happily entertained with the large garden that includes a slide and swings. We enjoyed the outside table and chairs for alfresco dinners.

The cottage was cosy with lovely furnishings and the highest spec entertainment equipment I ever seen in holiday accommodation with a good grange of CDs, DVDs and also books. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything we needed; even games and buckets and spades were on hand for a day at the beach - you can tell that Ceri and John do their utmost to help their guests enjoy their stay.

It's location is perfectly placed to explore The Broads or have a day at the beach. Ceri was very helpful in suggesting places of interest and recommended pubs and resturants.

We'll be sure to recommend the property to friends and family.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2017
Thank you so much for such a lovely and detailed review. It's so important to us that you enjoy your stay in the Stables and I'm so pleased that you did. I hope we will see you again soon.
Best regards
Ceri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alun D
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A delightful stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed seven days at The Stables which we found to be an ideal property for its location and cleanliness.

Ceri was a deight to deal with due to her genuine friendliness and understanding especially when I told her we'd ruined her kettle. We did replace it so that must have helped!

We would recommend The Stables if you are looking for peace and quiet and for a property which is within easy reach of the coast but also provides a good location to explore inland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Hi Alun
Thank you for a lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will see you both again.
Kind regards
Ceri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie Y
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic stay!!!

My partner and I stayed at The Stables for a couple of nights for a special get away and absolutely loved it.!! We were made to feel very welcome by the owners. We were given all the information about the stables and the local area on arrival along with a welcome basket :)!

Reading the previous review it's rather hard to believe these people stayed at the same place!

The Stables are very well equipped, comfortable, clean and nicely furnished.
We had a lovely stay and will 100% be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
Thank you for you lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your short break in the Stables. Sometimes just a few days away is all you need to feel refreshed. Although you were here in June, not July! Time flies when you're having fun! Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Ceri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay at The Stables.
It is such a lovely cottage and a haven of tranquility. Just what we needed to unwind and relax. We were also lucky this time to have fabulous sunny weather and enjoy the gorgeous garden at the end of the day.
The Stables is spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortable.
We will be returning again next summer and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely retreat to anyone who'd love to explore the wonderful surroundings and great shopping in Norwich.
Ceri the owner is always full of great suggestions so you will be well advised and looked after.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Ceri and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
North Shields
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Holiday week in Norfolk”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival at The Stables we were greeted by the owner Ceri and as we were slightly earlier after a 5 hour car journey we were invited to sit in the garden with a coffee while she "finished off"
We were shown round the Stables as if it were a show home. On first impressions it looked okay.
However ......
It is smaller than it seems in the pictures description of it.
The sitting room and small bedrooms are done out in a mushroom colour, which makes it gloomy.
In the sitting room are 3 large nearly floor to ceiling windows ..... all frosted glass so no light coming in from them making it feel dark and oppressive. Also in the sitting room are the usual tv with dvd player and games console, chair and settee of which is very low. There is also the dining table and chairs.
The bedrooms are small with one wardrobe in the single room to accommodate up to 3/4 guests clothes. There is also a small cupboard in the bathroom which we were told is for clothes also.
The small second bedroom is just that with a double bed and small set of drawers .... not much room to move.
The kitchen is a small square well equipped but with barely any bench space, and another dark room.
We found a few issues with the property ...... including a urine stained and dirty toilet seat and a odour of urine in the sitting room more so when the room was warm ...... we raised these issues with the owner Ceri, and we were beaten down with the bottom line being she blamed our clean, toilet trained and obedient dogs for the smell. Our dogs have wool hair and do not have the "doggy smell" and the stains on the toilet were described as "bleach stains" ..... there are only natural products to be used in the property!?
The area is rural and surrounding areas lovely. Norfolk is an ideal place to holiday however .... The Stables is not as advertised and I would not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time at the Stables. I was surprised when, on the evening before you left you told me you had not been happy. I had spoken to you several times during the week and you certainly gave me the impression every thing was fine.
On Tuesday you said it would be nice to have some lounge chairs in the garden as well as the table and chairs. The next day I went out and purchased two lounge chairs for you to use.
On Friday, following rain the previous day, you were out and I found one of your husbands shirts had fallen on the ground. I washed and ironed it and brought it back to you. When you asked to have a word, I thought you were going to say thank you.
If you had told me of your concerns at the time I would have done anything I could to put things right. There is nothing I can do regarding the size of the rooms and the cottage is for three people not four.
The translucent film on the glass is for your privacy and allows the maximum light.
You said there had been an odour of urine in the sitting room, I could smell nothing and you agreed at the time neither could you. All the floors in the Stables are hard glazed tiles and they were cleaned thoroughly before you arrived. But on day six with two dogs, any dirty marks / odours would not be unusual after this amount of time.
Regarding the toilet seat. As we do not have mains drainage we have to be careful with the products we use for cleaning. Bleach cannot be used as a matter of course, but I do use it to wipe around the external areas of the toilet, this does cause a slight discolouration. Following your departure this has been replaced.
In three years of letting our cottage, everyone, without exception has been happy, as our reviews indicate. This just goes to show, however hard you try, you can't please all of the people all of the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_wolfie92...
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had the best stay here for the week with our 13 year old daughter. Such a lovely welcome on arrival, beautiful cottage, a lovely garden and we were perfectly located to explore the area. Such a lovely week; we could easily have stayed for much longer. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran S
1 review
“Excellent Easter 2017 break”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Best place that we have stayed at in Norfolk.Very secure large garden to let the grandsons play football & mini bike rides on patio.No stairs for them to fall down in the house.Very peaceful location.Excellent bike riding area. Ceri & John were very welcoming & friendly.
This is definitely top of our list when we visit this area again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing