We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Absolutely Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed March 21, 2006

What an absolutely beautiful hotel. I've visited a few around the group but this one blew me away on the first impression - The hotel is magnificent.

My Only suggestion is maybe background music in the restaurant which will increase the atmosphere to go with your food

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,314 - 3,320 of 3,348 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2006

Some aspects of previous reviews have improved -- eg most of the staff are very friendly and curteous, but the hotel is not 4 star as claimed. I was charged for a towel in the swimming pool reception for the first time ever in my memory in any hotel. I refused to pay saying I would get one from my room, the girl said I couldn't do that so I requested one without charge and she reluctantly gave me one. I had an awful bar meal, the pasta was served in a watery tomato soup and was overcooked. I avoided the restaurants as some colleages had had poor meals in the Conservatory restaurant. Try the local pubs in the nearby village of Heighington , great food, real ales and atmosphere at a fraction of the hotel prices.
All in all the hotel looks tired and needs updating, the carpets in the corridors are frayed and taped together and the rooms need decorating.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Byebyegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hertfordshire
15
Reviewed February 19, 2006

Redworth: Great country location, initially looks impressive but gets a poor rating because they can’t get the basics right.

The room (331) looked ok but had the following issues:
•Rock hard bed made it difficult to get a good nights sleep.
•Watch TV and every 30 mins they try and flog you a porno film £6.95.
Bathroom: half had been refurbished and look great but...
•The walls around the toilet were covered in urine, blood, vomit, s###
•Mould around the bath
•Crusty/mouldy shower head
•Obviously it stank of mould when the shower was in use.

Redworth has two restaurants, a fine dining which apparently has a great local reputation so you’d think the cheaper Conservatory restaurant utilises the same kitchens & chefs. Sadly not the case although the staff were attentive and friendly. The quality is more like a "Harvester Restaurant" which would be ok but the mains were around £15-£20, deserts £6, glass of wine £7. The woman on the next table sent her main course back as undercooked and my chicken was pink inside. The Conservatory décor is tired, the aircon pumps out too much hot air making the place stuffy and uncomfortable. I only ate about 40% of breakfast (they were short staffed!)

On a business trip you want a comfortable bed, clean room and decent food after a long day at work. Until they get the basics right I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2006

We had booked a 4 poster bedroom for our 20th wedding aniverary. While the room was great.I was astounded when they wanted to charge me £10 for the use of an ice bucket and another £4 for 2 glasses.As we wanted to celebrate with a bottle of champagne in our room. It's disgusting when we had already paid £170 for the room. I have stayed in many hotels but never been charged for the use of an ice bucket and glasses. The meal was cold and we gave up after 25 mins waiting for our desert. A total rip off.

Ian Waller

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwaller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2006

Having booked Redworth Hall 3rd December, 2005, for a party of 10 thinking it would be a more 'up market' Christmas Do, I found I had made a terrible mistake: Upon arrival to reception was asked if we would like to change hotel as this one was overbooked! (I decilined, another mistake!) The Leisure Club: Pool - freezing, Jacuzzi - luke warm, general air temp - freezing, so my leasure break was cut short, a quick 20 minutes is all we could take. The room temperature was just as bad and we had to be given additional heaters upon request. Things just went from bad to worse: Ball gown ready, all that was required was a nice hot bath, oh no, this could not get much worse, the water was not even tepid! When I approached the hotel about this I was told "the hotel is busy and everyone wants a shower about this time and I could use the Leisure Club". I was eventually allowed to shower in another room. When I eventually did manage to get ready we were "hurded like cattle" to another bar because there was a wedding in the lounge. Trying hard at this point to get into the Christmas spirit we were seated for our Christmas meal and entertainment. The meal was the usual rubbish (I had to ask for it to be reheated twice!) that is thrown at you at parties like this and this is what I had wanted to avoid (as I am now lumping Redworth in with a lot of other cheap and tacky Christmas parties apart from the fact we paid a lot of good money for this one). There was only two bar staff to serve a function of hundreds so you could not even drown your sorrows! Next morning things were just as bad, still no hot water for a shower! Breakfast was edible if you wanted to wait in a queue 30 deep! The staff must have been pig sick of everyone moaning at them because they seemed to lack any enthusiasm. Not surprising when I spoke to the Manager (Paul Mandeir) at Redworth he was very rude and told me I was "nit picking" and what did I expect! I was offered a £30 per couple refund on a night stay rate of £186 per couple and that was not including money spent at the bar! If you are thinking of partying there next year, my advice is to think again! Don't do it! And that was leaving out all the "nit picking" it was worse but I have not got enough room to tell you it all!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We have stayed in this hotel before whilst visiting relatives and on both occasions we had a very nice time - we love the building and surroundings and the tranquility and the service really is superb. Staff very friendly and considerate, especially the restaurant staff. And I suppose it's great to know that the swimming pool is there even if we didn't get a chance to use it.

We opted for a larger room this time, having our one year old son with us and found the room beautifully comfortable, even if the bed was a little smaller than my 6'3" tall husband would have liked. Saying that, the flagrant advertisements for the porn channel in what was a 'family room' I thought was in pretty bad taste - are they working to commission or something?

And, as much as I like this place it really pains me to say that the food was pretty awful - certainly for the price and the standard of hotel. We went for a room service breakfast (at £4 per person tray charge) and the bacon was inedible - cooked to perdition, tomatoes straight from a tin and the only thing fresh about the "fresh fruit salad" was that it also was fresh straight from a tin, or make that several tins of grapefruit, peaches and oranges. How very disappointing. Certainly no better than the Travel Inn down the road and I speak from experience.

The Conservatory restaurant has a pleasant enough ambience but the food really was not up to it. Duck salad starter consisted of cold, over-cooked duck. For the main course I ordered what I hoped would be a delicious oriental fish dish with noodles and the fish was definitely not fresh (I left most of it) and the sauce tasted like something from a jar of Uncle Ben's. If you must have fish, my advice to you is - ask if it's fresh. I did not complain as the waiting staff were so sweet - I regret it now especially when we picked up our enormous bill on checking out.

So all I can say is, beautiful hotel, lovely staff, but if they sort the awful food out and you really have yourself a great hotel - head and shoulders above anything else in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Upper Haugh, Yorkshire
13
Reviewed August 29, 2005

Bit disappointed to be honest with the hotel in general, I would say that it was definately in need of a refurbishment, the carpets were threadbare in places.

The room was ok but not spacious, bathroom definately showed signs of wear and tear, we had problems getting a warm never mind hot shower!

On the plus side the staff in the restaurant were great and the food in 1664 retaurant was very good, conservatory restaurant was also nice.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
814 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,055 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
912 reviews
12.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: $80 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing