We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We have stayed in this hotel before whilst visiting relatives and on both occasions we had a very nice time - we love the building and surroundings and the tranquility and the service really is superb. Staff very friendly and considerate, especially the restaurant staff. And I suppose it's great to know that the swimming pool is there even if we didn't get a chance to use it.

We opted for a larger room this time, having our one year old son with us and found the room beautifully comfortable, even if the bed was a little smaller than my 6'3" tall husband would have liked. Saying that, the flagrant advertisements for the porn channel in what was a 'family room' I thought was in pretty bad taste - are they working to commission or something?

And, as much as I like this place it really pains me to say that the food was pretty awful - certainly for the price and the standard of hotel. We went for a room service breakfast (at £4 per person tray charge) and the bacon was inedible - cooked to perdition, tomatoes straight from a tin and the only thing fresh about the "fresh fruit salad" was that it also was fresh straight from a tin, or make that several tins of grapefruit, peaches and oranges. How very disappointing. Certainly no better than the Travel Inn down the road and I speak from experience.

The Conservatory restaurant has a pleasant enough ambience but the food really was not up to it. Duck salad starter consisted of cold, over-cooked duck. For the main course I ordered what I hoped would be a delicious oriental fish dish with noodles and the fish was definitely not fresh (I left most of it) and the sauce tasted like something from a jar of Uncle Ben's. If you must have fish, my advice to you is - ask if it's fresh. I did not complain as the waiting staff were so sweet - I regret it now especially when we picked up our enormous bill on checking out.

So all I can say is, beautiful hotel, lovely staff, but if they sort the awful food out and you really have yourself a great hotel - head and shoulders above anything else in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,262)
There are newer reviews for Redworth Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,236 - 3,242 of 3,263 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Upper Haugh, Yorkshire
13
Reviewed August 29, 2005

Bit disappointed to be honest with the hotel in general, I would say that it was definately in need of a refurbishment, the carpets were threadbare in places.

The room was ok but not spacious, bathroom definately showed signs of wear and tear, we had problems getting a warm never mind hot shower!

On the plus side the staff in the restaurant were great and the food in 1664 retaurant was very good, conservatory restaurant was also nice.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2005

We stayed for only one night as a stopover from Scotland. The surrounding area is not very nice but the hotel itself is pleasant enough. The rooms were functional and fairly well appointed. We enjoyed our evening meal and the restaurant was really buzzing and full. Special mention must be made to the chocolate torte. If you stay here and like railways you must visit Shildon museum; we thought it was a special place steeped in history and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Liverpool, England
19
Reviewed August 1, 2005

we stayed at the Redworth for a romantic break because it was described as a rural retreat, and a Jacobean Mansion. It is neither!
It is about 5 minutes away from an awful New Town, and only the front of the hotel and the reception are the original hall, the rest is a modern bland building with approx. 100 rooms!
The pool & "spa" are the same as any hotel chain which all the locals use on a memership basis, so its not axactly exclusive; we had to put up with yobbos dive-bombing in the pool, not to mention rock music in the restaurant during our romantic dinner..ha!
We paid over £200 for 1 night...yes 1 night. The room was an upgraded one, which just means larger,but we still only had attic windows looking up to the tree tops.
And the inclusive DBB only allows you £18 toward your dinner,hence the ridiculous amount we paid.
We were supposed to stay 2 nights but left after one, and wont go back.
The only positive point, it was clean and the staff were lovely, but I stay in those kind of places when the company are paying, not when Im on holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

My sister and I stayed here as part of a Beauty Break Package. We had previously stayed here four years and had a great time.

This time was a much different experience. The hotel is undoubtedly a lovely building and the grounds are fantastic. However, our room hadn't been cleaned properley ( nappy in the bin was very unpleasant upon arrival!) and we had 2 tea bags and one biscuit between us on the hospitality tray. This was dealt with by housekeeping dumping a binbag with teabags, sugar and coffee onto the table.

The pool and gym are good and we had some lovely beauty treatments by very friendly, professional staff. Highly recommended.

Dinner was very ordinary and bland, the cocktail bar is laughable (warm white wine) and could do with a lick of paint and tidying up. Most of the staff though are really friendly, especially the Breakfast ladies. Although, breakfast is again very ordinary, standard fayre.

The hotel has a feel of one that is cutting corners to maximise profits but it would take very little to get it back into shape and for it to be a bit special again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PodHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micrac2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank candymansteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
801 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,045 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: $85 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing